We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with beautiful views of the Mekong River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Khong
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with beautiful views of the Mekong River”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This hotel was part of our driving package of the Golden Triangle. The hotel is on one of the main streets in Chiang Khong and has ample parking if you are driving.

The reception area is functional and the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel does not have an elevator (at least not that we could find) so you do need to carry your suitcases up or down stairs.

The rooms are small but comfortable and have a balcony that looks over the river and into Laos. It is quite idyllic with small boats. The bathroom is simple and not very well planned nor is it very obvious how to obtain hot water for the shower. The bed is comfortable and the air conditioning works well.

The breakfast is simple but varied with both Western and Asian dishes. We ate in the restaurant in the hotel (also overlooks the river) and had a wonderful meal. The restaurant staff were very friendly and we have a lovely evening.

There is free internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuAlAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    58
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
45
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Good size rooms with excellent river and Lao views. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the typical buffett and was fresh due to the Thai- China tour groups dinning here on their way across the river. The restaurant also overlooks the river/Lao and is relaxing to sit enjoying a few drinks. Food is good but nothing special. Reception ( Janchay) could not be more helpful. Almost worth the 1,000 bht price.

Room Tip: Take a top floor river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somtamandshiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

A very nice clean hotel, with great rooms, all with views and balconies over looking the Maekong River. Our stay however was spoiled by an ill mannered man with glasses at reception. First of all he dismissed our booking, which we made 2 days earlier by telephone. Secondly he just could not be bothered to help us in any way, and reluctantly gave us a room. All the time we were in and out of the hotel, he never once smiled, or said hello, or made any gesture of goodwill. This really did spoil what would have been an excellent stay. However, hopefully this will be noted, and new guests will not encounter what we did. Nice hotel Restaurant overlooking the river with near distant views of Huay Xai Laos. In the evening sat on the balcony supping the hotel beer, and watching the local Thai men practising dragon boat racing made up for all the bad atmosphere during our arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingyocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I have stayed many times at the Namkhong Riverside while visiting friends living in Chiang Khong. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a nice area outside to sit and watch the Mekong roll by. Bathrooms are typical Thai wet rooms, and the television has only one english channel. Staff are friendly and accomodating. The restaurant is average at best, with slow service and a basic buffet breakfast included in the room price. English is spoken at the front desk, but I have yet to find any english speakers serving the restaurant. The hotel is in the center of Chiang Khong, giving easy walking access to small shops and local restaurants. The Namkhong Riverside is a comfortable place to stay when visiting Chiang Khong.

Room Tip: Al rooms have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landslide48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed in Chiang Khong on many motor biking trips. This was the first stay in the Namkhong and a very pleasant one. The view is the same as the 200 bht rooms on either side, but the quality of the furnishings, cleanliness and stylish design make it almost worth the 1,000 bht price. Breakfast is ok with an attempt at eggs & sausages along with the standard Thai breakfast. The restaurant food is aimed at tour groups and overseas visitors. If you like proper Thai food, I'd recommend turning left as you leave the hotel and eating in the first restaurant on the left. A lovely, charming Thai kitchen.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank yachtmasterjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

A good location hotel in Chiangkhong, Chiangrai, located just the riverbank of Mekhong river.The restaurant for foods is o.k. with reasonable prices, and good for fish from the mekhong river dishes in many essort of thai dishes, for example, Tom Yum Pla Bung.

Room Tip: No comment for bed room, because we just visit for the restaurant, but parking availabe for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SUTHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The rooms are basic and clean. Most rooms have splendid views on the river. Also the restaurant looks out towards the Mekong River and Laos on the other side. The restaurant offers Thai & Western dishes. A good hotel & restaurant as base to start your Laos trip the next day. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Only one thing was strange, the rooms has a free water cooker for tea or coffee, but the hotel charges 30 baht to use the coffee or tea bags (should be free). In the evenings they have live music in the restaurant, which plays to loud and only boring (old) Western music.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Khong
0.0 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
0.0 mi away
Fortune River View Chiang Khong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
#5 of 7 in Chiang Khong
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
#203 of 385 in Chiang Mai
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
The River House
The River House
#5 of 12 in Chiang Khong
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namkhong Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namkhong Riverside Hotel

Property: Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Address: 174-176 Moo 8 | Wiang Subdistrict, Chiang Khong 57140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Khong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Namkhong Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel on the Mekong River in a quiet small suitable for relaxation There are total 40 room all with balcony ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Namkhong Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namkhong Riverside Hotel Chiang Khong, Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing