We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's about the teak.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Khong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Chiang Khong B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's about the teak.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We liked it. Great character, not all that modern, but wifi & decent bathrooms. The teak balcony overlooking the Mekong was what it was all about. We liked it & stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncanWilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

we found this place in internet. that was awful. my one year old baby got three fleas bite in face and finger when we had a afternoon nap. all fleas we catch on the bed and full of blood.
then we talk to the lady who is take care this place(she is not a owner), she agreed us paid 100THB and leave at once. she charge 500thb for one room and 5thb for mosquito incense. there is no another guest in this awful house.
actually we met her next day, we haven't seen cleaning for the house. one thai tourist group check in and stay there.
we hope everyone must be careful !! this is not a joke.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanzi8026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Myself and my daughter stayed here for a couple of nights in August - we both wished we could have stayed here longer. The house has so much character i didn't want to leave - there are hammocks, free internet, drinks whenever you want them and the rooms were perfect. I feel that this guesthouse has been undersold by Lonely planet - the beauty of the building itself more than compensates for what LP describe as the 'dark rooms'. Character is always high on my list when it comes to accomodation and this place was the most beatiful we found during our one month stay in Thailand. The owner is lovely, too and we will certainly be going back there next year. Can't reccomend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186361Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Built out of teak, with a very friendly owner this is a good basic place to stay. No a/c however there are fans everywhere and opening up the windows overlooking the river will give you some great breezes. The bar is on a honour system, and there is plenty of choice in food if you choose to eat in. The rooms were a bit rough and ready, however the beds were soft.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

Rambling, teak,deeply laid back riverside guest house on four floors about 500 metres from the Laos landing. Rooms at 200bht to 400bht, some with showers but scoop lavatories. Owner very relaxed lady who owns another GH across the road and a resto. Honour system for drinks. Lighting very dim and sporadic; urgent rewiring needed. Sheets clean but small black insects observed. Service friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank pantagruelParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Khong hotels
0.0 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
0.0 mi away
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
#5 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rai Saeng Arun
Rai Saeng Arun
#1 of 12 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fortune River View Chiang Khong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort

Property: Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort
Address: Saiklan Road, Chiang Khong, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Khong
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 story teak wooden house at the Mekhong River, From the terrace there are magnificent views over Huay Xai, Laos, mountains and the Mekhong River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort Chiang Khong, Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing