We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful - best place I've stayed in...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Khong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Chiang Khong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Myself and my daughter stayed here for a couple of nights in August - we both wished we could have stayed here longer. The house has so much character i didn't want to leave - there are hammocks, free internet, drinks whenever you want them and the rooms were perfect. I feel that this guesthouse has been undersold by Lonely planet - the beauty of the building itself more than compensates for what LP describe as the 'dark rooms'. Character is always high on my list when it comes to accomodation and this place was the most beatiful we found during our one month stay in Thailand. The owner is lovely, too and we will certainly be going back there next year. Can't reccomend highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186361Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

Built out of teak, with a very friendly owner this is a good basic place to stay. No a/c however there are fans everywhere and opening up the windows overlooking the river will give you some great breezes. The bar is on a honour system, and there is plenty of choice in food if you choose to eat in. The rooms were a bit rough and ready, however the beds were soft.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Rambling, teak,deeply laid back riverside guest house on four floors about 500 metres from the Laos landing. Rooms at 200bht to 400bht, some with showers but scoop lavatories. Owner very relaxed lady who owns another GH across the road and a resto. Honour system for drinks. Lighting very dim and sporadic; urgent rewiring needed. Sheets clean but small black insects observed. Service friendly.

2  Thank pantagruelParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 上層階がより遠方(ラオス側の市街地まで)を見渡す事が出来る。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaBirukova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Khong hotels
0 mi away
Chiangkhong Palace
Chiangkhong Palace
#7 of 7 in Chiang Khong
1 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
0 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fortune River View Chiang Khong
0 mi away
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chiang Khong
104 reviews
0 mi away
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
#4 of 7 in Chiang Khong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort

Address: Saiklan Road, Chiang Khong, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Khong
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 story teak wooden house at the Mekhong River, From the terrace there are magnificent views over Huay Xai, Laos, mountains and the Mekhong River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruan Thai Sophapan Resort Chiang Khong, Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing