We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$128
View deal
Agoda.com
US$98
View deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
108
31
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
31
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice paddies the river excellent thai food riverside bungalows rim hill resort views hike laos flow shuts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Drove 6 hours from Chiang Mai to this lovely resort. Planned poorly and drove the final 2 hours in almost total darkness but my room was ready when I arrived. Was given a "P" bungalow which probably meant the PEAK of the mountain. The 10 minute walk in near darkness from reception to room was as exhilarating as the drive. The path is as unique a setup as I've ever experienced at a resort. A two metre wide platform over fields of crops and rice paddies leads you to the foot of the mount. Did I mention their are no hand rails! Tough to negotiate in darkness or in a state of inebriation. Then, depending on your cabin, one will walk up a minimum of 164 steps ("D" bungalow). My "P" bungalow was over 225 steps up and the "S" (stratospheric?) was even further, The rooms are lovely in a very Northern Thai style. Food is outstanding and the atmosphere tranquil. Switched to the D2 bungalow which had a commanding view of the valley and Laos.

Room tip: D2 is the nicest of the bungalows on the mountain. If accessibility is an issue, ask for one of the B bungalows or rent a hut along the Mehkong River.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronx4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2012

A small and beaitiful boutique resort hotel with a unique style in Chiangkhong, chiangrai,
a good taste of all kind of dishes, mostly Thai foods. The room are separated from each like a small hut in the mist of the peak, before you reach the rooms , have to pass the paddy field, with by the long walking way.All vegetables are organic from the field of the hotel , that you will never dissapoint.The rooms with a terest in the mountain view and bamboo forest, an open air bath room. One thing that may cause you tired to reach the hotel is the long long way from the Chiangrai center.

Room tip: For a good quality of sleep choose the room on the peak, but be fit for a 157 stairs up to the room!
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUTHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Sitting on the Mekong river looking across to Laos this small and very personal resort is a gem, they grow everything themselves and the whole atmosphere and experience is very tranquil and unhurried.

Room tip: Stay in the rooms high up on the hill
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a beautiful hotel located near Chiang Khong, Thailand on the Mekong River. Accommodation consists of spacious, nicely furnished individual bungalows. The service is friendly and helpful. The hotel grows most of the food it serves from rice, to strawberries, to a wide range of vegetables and herbs, all fee of artificial fertilisers. The fruit and vegetable gardens and the hotel grounds in general, with an abundance of trees, shrubs and flowers, are kept in immaculate condition. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and very inexpensive. There is not an extensive wine list but they will happily allow you to take your own bottles with no corkage charge. The location is good for exploring the stunning scenery, hill tribes, nearby towns and villages and the Golden Triangle.

CRF

Room tip: Take your own wine. If you cannot cope with a long walk up steps, the bungalows atop the hill are not for you unless you are travelling with several bearers and a sedan chair; instead choose the ground level bungalows near the river.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRFLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a beautiful set resort, with nice huts with wonderful views(ask for a riverview).
It is quite expensive for what you get, and I was a little upset that they charged 700 Baht for putting a matress in the hut for my daughter, we had bedding for her with us but when they asked if we liked a bed for her I thougt they were being nice.....
The breakfast was set and nice but much to much for us, dinner was also tasty although thinking ahead what you would like in the evening is not always easy.
There are only these wonderful calm surroundings to take in, if you don't have your own transportation you are stuck or in the hand of crazy van-drivers. Here they really drive like God himself is on their shoulder. Everything outside a nice walk or bikeride is more then an hour away over potholed small roads.
Chiang Khong is nice, specially on a marketday, and crossing the border is sort of fun too, just beware that you re-entry visa is only for 14 days, so don't go if you have longer to spend in Thailand!!!
The owner of the resort is nice, with very limited english, but helpful where he can. This is a unique place, and if you bring books or a yogamat you could pend ages here.

Room tip: Have a look around before you decide on a room, if at all possible. We liked our riverview hut, but could hear the conversation of our neighbours. Maybe you like secusion and huts in the ricefields are more private I think.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diethuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews