We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if your doing the river cruise on your own stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Khong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“if your doing the river cruise on your own stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

nice hotel before setting off on the river cruise. You'll get a good rest here before enduring the long boat for 14 hours!

Staff were freidnly and great and breakfast nice. I personalty wouldn't eat in the restaurant as expensive and not that nice.

Room Tip: get a river veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeandAmyAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    91
    34
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
94
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was a lovely hotel for the night before our Mekong River Slow Boat cruise. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a nice river view room, which was a surprise. We enjoyed sitting on the small balcony and watching the traffic go by on the Mekong. The room was small compared to others on our trip so far, but adequate for overnight. The bath, too, was tiny, but serviceable with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Since we had a tough travel day, we opted for dinner at the restaurant, which I would classify as ordinary and expensive for what it was. The included breakfast offered made to order omelettes, and fresh fruit and breads. Most of the other choices on the buffet leaned toward the Asian palate, and since we were just starting on Malarone, our appetites were not inspired by those choices. The weather was very chilly in the early morning, and the outdoor terrace dining was not very comfortable, and most of the food couldn't be kept warm enough in the weather. The breakfast staff was attentive, especially helpful with a strange coffee machine. Overall, a bit pricy for the room and the food, but met our needs in a pleasant enough way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. It is so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camera425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a river view room which was fine for our one night stay and was very reasonably priced. Our evening meal was good as was the breakfast, although it is worth mentioning that it was very chilly first thing in the morning because of the time of year. The restaurant has lovely views over the Mekong. There was one draw back in that they were building on the plot of land next door and it was very noisy as they were pile driving. They did however stop work at about 6pm. The hotel arranged our transport to the newly opened immigration office and bridge over to Laos. It is worth allowing extra time for this as it now takes about 15 minutes to get there and gets busy very quickly.

Room Tip: We liked the room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Arriving in Chiang Khong for the barge crossing into Laos around lunchtime meant I had not intended to stop on the eastern side of the Mekong. However, 40 BMW 1200 GSA's lined up out front of this venue caught my attention. An accommodation venue is good for many reasons, not the least of which is the company you meet.

I was very surprised at the quality of this relatively new property. Cottages set in manicured gardens, most with a balcony and view of the muddy Mekong. The rooms are of comfortable size and the appointments are of a high quality. Very comfortable bed, sat TV, well stocked modern bathroom.

The dining room is also very comfortable and spacious. A broad selection on an international menu, although there were around 50 dining. Nevertheless, the food was of a high standard.

Next time in Chiang Khong I will check with Teak Garden first before looking at the other options.

Room Tip: Some bungalows have a better view than others. Check first. You may spend much of your evening sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
362 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed there for one night before we crossed into Laos. The rooms are small, but clean. The staff was friendly. It is right on the river and some rooms have a balcony on the river. It is not necessary to book these rooms, however, as you can sit on the restaurant patio as long as you like and get the same experience. It is right in town, but, there is nothing to see except a couple of temples. Our complaint is with the food. We ordered dinner from the menu and the chicken was inedible, all fat and gristle. The breakfast was a good buffet, with a good selection, but everything was cold, even the eggs. The serving dishes are all cold.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here one night only because this was ideally suited to pick up our Mekong River cruise in the morning. We found it to be a surprisingly pleasant hotel, comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the Mekong River. The room was comfortable, breakfast was unexpectedly good, and the balcony was a perfect place to while a way some time. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but found a terrific, all-you-can eat BBQ restaurant across the road.

We took a pleasant walk along the river before dinner but really didn't explore the town any further.

Room Tip: River view with balcony is worth getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel perfectly located on the edge of the town centre, on the bank of the Mekong and right opposite a large town in Laos. This was particularly noisy and busy due to the Chinese New Year, resulting in some spectacular firework displays. It is a good place to start your Mekong river cruise from and has pleasant staff.

The good -
The staff are helpful and the location and gardens are spectacular. The beds are very hard but are clean and the sheets fit. The shower room was very good. Very nice balcony overlooking the river on the river view rooms. Kettle in the room. Very good free wifi.

The bad -
There is nothing really bad, but the food was disappointing. Breakfast on our first day was self service in the restaurant area, unfortunately it had been cooked when the place opened at 6am and was poor. In contrast, when we left for our river cruise,very early the next morning, it was cooked to order and was much better but with a pretty poor choice. We did have an evening meal and this was poor. Friends we met later highly recommended the simple restaurant opposite the hotel entrance.

We did like this place and would definitely return on a future trip.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laid-Back-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Khong
0.1 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
#5 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
0.6 mi away
Riverside Houay Xai
Riverside Houay Xai
#3 of 7 in Huay Xai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chiangkhong Green River
Chiangkhong Green River
#4 of 15 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront

Property: Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
Address: 666 Saiklang Rd, Moo 8 | Wieng Subdistrict, Chiang Khong 57140 , Thailand (Formerly ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Khong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the relaxing province of Chiang Rai, Ibis Styles Chiangkhong Riverfront Hotel location along the Mekong River, which is adjacent to the main road of Chiang Khong. The hotel is a Fusion between Lanna and Modern style. Hotel also has a wonderful and relaxing garden of hundred years old golden teak trees. Ibis Styles Chiangkhong Riverfront is right on the border between Thailand and Laos, and it is a convenient gateway to Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing