We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility base”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Folie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Folie Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Champasak Town
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Tranquility base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here during three days with our Cambodia-Laos group tour.
Very remote location, only accessible by raft, supplied by the hotel, no problem at all.
It takes about 10-15 minutes to cross the Mekong river on a comfortable wicker chair on a motorized raft.
Hotel consist of a major building and on each side, left and right, I think 12 cabins.
Each cabin had two rooms and separate bathroom for each. Also a nice balcony with Mekong view.
Well equipped, very clean and cosy...all wooden structure, also the bathroom. Good shower and all necessary amenities were present, even a hair dryer.
Good and clean swimming pool on the premises with free chairs and towel service.
Service was great !!! My wife sandal was broken and the management have send it to one of the small villages for repair...without any cost ! Off course we have given a donation for this service !
Breakfast was rather slow and little bit chaotic the first day but diner and breakfast the second day was good. Nice selection of wines against affordable prices.
Service from front desk and management was superb !
As said...very remote location.
There are several villages and temples and schools on this island, you can visit them by hotel bike.
Rented two bikes for one hour...without any charge.
Excellent place for, (a very !!!), relaxing holiday break. It was a pleasure to stay here !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    85
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
36
167
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

well certainly is a very nice place. like a country club. splendid sunset view.
on arrivel we wished to change our standard room to river front view. the difference was
huge.
in the room no privacy, as you can actually hear people next door. the couple beside us stayed for three nights and in the morning we were excusing each other for making noice.
but there is nothing to do really, the bathroom door make terrible noice, the water tub...
stuff lovely.

Room Tip: the only possibility really is to have the whole house,no people next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londres
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Lovely location, just under an hour from Pakse (don't bother staying in Pakse, it's a ghost town without anything going for it). Once at the pier, (and arranged in advance with the hotel), one of the hotel boat picked us up. Hotel restaurant/ chill out area/ reception is nice. Rooms and bathrooms are cute and very clean, which is the main thing. Swimming pool area is nice as well, although could benefit from a little 'screen' (plants?) on the path side to make it a bit more private. Having a pool is a must when the heat goes up (and it does!).
You can also rent bikes (free) to go around the island, which are typical rice paddies and a few tiny villages, lots of kids shouting 'sabadees' to you with a large smile.
Now, no shops. No restaurants, no rice or noodle places to eat from. Therefore you have to eat and drink at the hotel.
Did manage to find a 'shop' (turn right when leaving the hotel and bike it in 5/10mn - can't miss it) to get a couple of beers at 10k a pop. Big Lao beers at the hotel are a rip off at $4, ie 4 times the price.
Food: ok. Fresh and fried spring rolls were to die for. Try the sample Don Deng platter. But generally, it is very expensive and the list is small so after 2/3 days, it can get boring. Breakfast was ok too: you choose 4 (!) options out of 8 or so. But there is a caveat. If something is not available, you just don't get it (stated one the menu), but the staff doesn't tell you that, so you end up with ordering an English breakfast with a missing sausage (re-(!)) and a 1inch rasher of bacon. :) Replacing the missing item with something else would be nice (extra bacon inch?!).
We also made the mistake to order a bottle of red wine (after 2 months in SEA, this is allowed). It was well past its best but when we saw the face of the manager while saying that, we just couldn't insist, just fell sorry for him... With hindsight and $40, shd have sent it back, really.
Room: as a previous comment pointed out : it is impossible to ignore what people in the room next door do. I pass on the details....

The main saviour for this little hotel, apart from the location was the staff. From Alom, the manager who couldn't help enough, to the girls at the restaurant with the biggest smiles and giggles. It was just lovely.

Still think a few issues need to be addressed as this is not a cheap place to stay. First one being insulating the rooms, as it did get embarrassing at some point....

Room Tip: Try to see if there s a room where the next door room is empty to avoid the embarrassing noises comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed it a lot. The bungalows are nice, the staff too, breakfast, the view, the bicycles, Vat Phou, the pool.... and not to forget the people living on this island. We had the feeling that almost everyone was greeting us when we were passing by on the bike. Three nights we would recommend, so to have one day for relaxing at the pool and having time for a walk or bike-ride on the island, and the other day to go to Vat Phou. Less would be a shame as there are not many places lie this with such a beautiful scenery and amazing sunset! PS: The bungalows are made of wood and look like a semidetached house, means you hear everything from next door. Just would likek to add this for the honeymooners...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

First up I wished we had got here earlier than we did, as it would have been great to be able to spend some time looking around, especially since the guide was picking us up early the next morning!
The experience was lovely. From the boat ride across the Mekong River, the unique tractor ride up to the lodge and the welcome (& drink) from the staff & Axel the manager. We were quickly checked in and taken to our room. The rooms might seem basic to some, but we thought it was great. Everything you would need on a relaxing holiday, and no I don’t want a tv in the room or worried about that there is no Wi-Fi in the room. (But there is Wi-Fi in the dining area) We are there to enjoy the lodge and its surroundings. We had additional bedding for our teenage daughter in the room and the room was still comfortable. The rooms have a balcony, great to sit on and watch the sun set over the Mekong River, or watch hubby go to the water’s edge to have a dip in the Mekong! There is air-con in the rooms, not that we needed it on. Dinner at the restaurant; the setting is lovely, staff beautiful and the food brilliant. Great cocktails! Breakfast is included in our package and again the food was great. We got up early and went for a walk before breakfast, seeing the locals going about their morning and a chat to Axel was a great way to start the day.
I paid cash and had no issues with our check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axelwolkenhauer, General Manager at La Folie Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your positive and balanced review, which all of us at La Folie Lodge have highly appreciated. It is good to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at La Folie so much. You seem to have had a connection to the wonderful things La Folie, this island and Laos has to offer. Customer satisfaction is at the center of all our efforts, with a smile, humor and quality of service, all of us try and make every ones stay a memorable one.
Thank you once more, I do hope you will find an occasion to visit La Folie and Laos again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

But... There is the rest. Were there on New Years Eve : fine prix fixed dinner (without the drinks included) but nothing exceptional ; wifi not working ; loooooonnnng check in procedure ; no hot water in the bathrooms ; bedrooms described as luxury , are in fact simple wooden rooms without many facilities, such as a fridge ; be careful about the noise. We don't ignore anything about the life of possible neighbors.

Finally, big problem when we checked out : impossible to go through with the credit card, and we used the three different our party had. Taking into account the amount of the bill (indeed the restaurant is one of the most expensive of Laos, if not the most), it was impossible to pay by cash. We lost 45 minutes thee with the staff suddenly suspicious and asking inappropriate questions about addresses, phone numbers, and so on.... When the responsibility was clearly on their side and in spite of the fact they are charging you an extra 3% if you pay with your ViSa.

When the manager finally showed up, we were given the only excuse that "this is Laos ! " which I found inappropriate considering the pricing policy of the Hotel which is definitely not " local" .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarysbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axelwolkenhauer, General Manager at La Folie Lodge, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your”constructive” and enthusiastic comments about your one night stay at La Folie Lodge.
Looking at your previous revues on Tripadvisor you don’t seem to be very happy and pricing at most of the places you stayed in Vietnam and Myanmar.
Our wifi works on the G3 network and judging by the time the female members of you family spend on the internet in the lounge and restaurant it was working fine. We had no complaints from any of the other guests staying with us at the time.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the check-out problem with VISA card. This breakdown affected only VISA and not MASTER cards in the entire country on the morning of the 1st of January, by the evening the service was back to normal. I can assure you our staff was in no way suspicious, they were just following procedures for manual payments with credit cards, as you did not have sufficient cash, demanded by our bank. Please understand that for this they tried to obtain a code from the central bank in Vientiane by phone but as the entire country trying to do the same simultaneously, this took time.
I also apologize for my comment “Welcome to Laos” it was meant in a humors fashion the usual way we normally handle problems when they come up on a daily basis in Laos, I’m sorry if my attempt failed and offended you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

There is very little not to like about this hotel. It is wonderfully located on the island of Don Daeng, by the side of the Mekong facing the sunset. Rooms are in traditional wooden villas in the beautiful gardens, they are rustic but have everything you need and the beds are comfortable. There is an infinity pool with comfortable loungers and bicycles to explore the island via the well marked tracks. The staff are charming and do all they can to help. Food in the restaurant is excellent with a choice of either European or Lao set menus. The wine list is varied.
The atmosphere is in general peaceful especially during the day. However be aware that this is a hotel which takes a lot of tour groups who can be noisy and intrusive in the evening taking over the lounge area and restaurant. Mostly this is a small price to pay for the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloydChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champasak Town
2.3 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 3 in Champasak Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
17.1 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
16.1 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
17.0 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
1.2 mi away
Inthira Hotel
Inthira Hotel
#3 of 3 in Champasak Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Folie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Folie Lodge

Property: La Folie Lodge
Address: Done Daeng, Champasak Town BP 668, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Champasak Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Champasak Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Folie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 8 km from World Heritage Wat Phou, La Folie Lodge offers accommodation overlooking the Mekong River. Boasting an outdoor pool, the hotel features free Wi-Fi and free round-trip shuttle boat services to Don Daeng Island. Pakse Airport is a 45 km ride from the hotel. The Four Thousand Islands are 100 km away. A 70 km drive takes guests to Bolaven Plateau. Each spacious air-conditioned room is equipped with a fan, safe and balcony. Shower facilities are included in an en suite bathroom. To unwind, guests can take a dip in or relax by the pool. A wide range of Western cuisine and Laotian specialities can be sampled at the open air restaurant. Drinks can be enjoyed at the on-site bar or terrace. The whole hotel is set in a lush green garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your La Folie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Folie Hotel Champasak
La Folie Lodge Laos/Champasak Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing