We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Place to enjoy river views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anouxsa Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anouxsa Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 10 Champasak Town B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place to enjoy river views”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Nicely set up guesthouse with four different groupings of rooms all with different price points. There's the simple and small fan rooms for 100,000 kip (70,000 single) that are set back and face the entrance of the guesthouse. There's also a set of slightly bigger rooms with AC and tv's that were 150,000 but with no views of the Mekong. And another row of rooms also for 150,000 that have large verandahs and are facing the river, have AC, but no tv. And finally, there's some 'luxury' rooms that are set right over the Mekong for 200,000 and I'm assuming all the trimmings. Overall, all the rooms we saw were clean and well taken care of. We chose the 150,000 with the views (and AC) which was worthwhile as we enjoyed relaxing on the deck chairs. It seemed like the simple fan rooms were overpriced for what you get. There were a lot of guesthouses down the road that I know are substantially cheaper, but we didn't check them out as we'd heard good things about the Anouxa. Restaurant had good food at reasonable prices (although in town there were again cheaper options). One last thing to mention, the town is probably not as quiet and quaint as when it was last written up in the guidebooks. The main road is paved now and there was a fair bit of traffic passing through (although that might have been exacerbated by traffic being diverted from the main highway) which I think detracted from the slow pace of life here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    17
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
5
32
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Stayed here for three nights last month and went all-out for the corner room -- nice & big, with a private porch overlooking the Mekong. Despite being a little on the grungy side (plus loads of bugs!) we thought it was definitely worth it.

The guesthouse is a ways from the 'center' of town, which was a bit of a bummer, especially since the restaurant seemed uninspiring, so we ended up walking out for dinner every night.

All in all, it's a pleasant place, quiet and calm, with hammocks strung in the trees overlooking the river. The staff was very sweet and accommodating. Having walked through a few of the other places in town, I definitely think this is one of the best options in Champasak. Plus, the spa is right next door!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Nice enough place – maybe we were just unlucky with the noise from across the river. It started about 8pm and went on until 2am. It wasn't so much noise as the vibration of the furniture in the room – it was just impossible to sleep through it. Yes, it was Saturday night and, to be honest, I doubt that anywhere else in Champasak would have been any better – but be warned that you may not feel that rested if you stay overnight in Champasak.
The room was fine and the terrace overlooking the Mekong was mighty fine – the dawn the next day was spectacular, even if we were too tired to fully appreciate it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDaveCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Very lovely setting. Friendly service but with a tendency to mark-up services a fair amount. Not cheap, but probably the best option intown.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Compared to the rest of Laos, the variety of hotels is narrow and not very high standards. WE checked out several hotels, but the Anousxa was the best. Lovely spa next door, and 300m down the road a small italian restaurant, with slective menu, all recipies from Friuli in te middle-ages. Restaurant was ok. A bit overpriced but a good option since the Guesthouse is so far out of town (1km)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaderrjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Loved waking early to watch the sunrise over the Mekong--sublime...
we had one of the Mekong-facing concrete bungalows with veranda, great place to relax in the evenings with an icy Beer Lao. Food was pretty darn good as well. And plenty of cold Beer Lao on hand. I had fun with one of the proprietors catching crickets to feed the ever-hungry catfish in the pond. Hired bikes and rode out to Wat Phu, I really was not expecting such an amazing setting, we stayed for a few hours soaking it up. Very friendly and helpful hosts, arranged a boat for us over to Don Daeng where we did a homestay for a night--took bikes with us and explored, then spent the evening with a warm, amiable host family in the village--highly recommended! There's a brand new, stylish Lao restaurant in town near the circle, great cocktails and excellent food, but cannot recall the name...

  • Liked — great location right on the Mekong, friendly hosts
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CunningMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
188 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Stayed here for a night whilst visiting Wat Phu.
Rooms are overpriced & basic but clean.
Located right beside the Mekong & you get a great view at sunrise.
Food mediocre.

Helpful?
Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champasak Town
0.0 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 3 in Champasak Town
483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
577 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#2 of 3 in Champasak Town
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Khamphouy Guesthouse
Khamphouy Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Champasak Town
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inthira Hotel
Inthira Hotel
#3 of 3 in Champasak Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anouxsa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anouxsa Guesthouse

Property: Anouxsa Guesthouse
Address: Central Vientiane, Champasak Town, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Champasak Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Champasak Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Anouxsa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anouxsa Guesthouse Laos/Champasak Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing