We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming pub lunch in pretty village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Durant Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Durant Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashprington
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Welcoming pub lunch in pretty village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We've been coming to the Durant Arms on and off for the past 15 years - always a good stopping off point for lunch from the nearby Sharpham Vineyard. Today was our first visit under the new management of Alan and Lesley and we enjoyed it immensely. We were pleased to find the pub is now dog friendly and we could all sit inside - generally the atmosphere seems a lot more relaxed and friendly than before.

The dripping chips were excellent, as was the bubble and squeak with eggs. Best lunch out for some time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WearytravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    22
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
46
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My other half has a rule before you eat anywhere check out the loos. In this case I didnt check out the gents,oh dear, not only are they outside which in itself is not too much pf a problem ,but due to faulty plumbing, stunk, badly. However this time I was very glad I didnt as the food was very good and resonably priced for the area less than £100 for three 3 course meals and drinks (a fair few). Potted Mackerel was very much a hit, I had a rump steak which was good,the other half a chicken curry which she thought of as "The best pub curry ever" she also had the Chocolate nemisis. Recommended to all choc lovers!

The important bit: Yes we would eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abacusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

4 from Cornworthy ate here last night. All we can say was it was an excellent meal, good wine & all very reasonably priced. We choose the lamb curry, lasagne & duck comfit, but all the menu was tempting. We will all return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely country pub. Good dining. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice. Room clean and comfortable. The staff, particularly the lady who served breakfast, the barman in the evening and the owners were friendly and efficient. I will not hesitate to book accommodation here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great place to stay and beautiful village. Staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was very good and the service extremely warm and friendly especially the lady who served our breakfast. We stayed here whilst attending a wedding in the village. Pot luck choice but could'nt have been happier. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: They all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Durant Arms reopened following refurbishment on 8 March 2014 and deserves recommending for food, atmosphere and quality. Original flagstone floors have been restored. Log fires, one with a woodburner, entice neighbours, visitors, walkers, bikers and stretched out collies. Vintage jukebox in neighbouring room adds character and fun. New owners, Alan, Lesley and Chef Simon have firmly established themselves in under than a month. This is a business that deserves to fly. Excellent hosts. Excellent local produce, beers and ales. Looking forward to next visit. Might be wise to book a table.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sj y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

On our way back down to Cornwall after spending Christmas with relatives in the north of England, my wife and I decided to have a short break somewhere near to Totnes. I found the Durant Arms by an online search and booked three nights between Christmas and New Year.
Unknown to us at the time of booking was that the current owners had only been in residence for two weeks, and it was a matter of luck that I rang the hotel to book a table for evening dinner on the day of arrival. Lesley was quite surprised to hear from me as there seemed to be no communication between the online booker (eviivo) and the hotel. Fortunately, there was a room available, albeit not the one that I thought I had booked.
Upon arrival, we were welcomed into the hotel by Lesley, who explained that the previous owner had left them with little instruction as to how best use the booking system, which seemed to be reliant on emails to and from the online booker.
As I said, Lesley and Alan, and their son Simon (the chef), had only moved in on Friday 13th December, and were still finding their way around.
The room was O.K., but needs a lot of TLC to bring it up to any real standard; Alan had not yet mastered the central heating while we were there, and the bathroom needs completely renovating.
As the hotel is around three miles from Totnes, down narrow lanes, we ate at the hotel on all three nights. The food was excellent, and the drinks weren’t at all exorbitant. Obviously, with eating and drinking there on all three nights, our bar/restaurant bill came to more or less the same as our room bill!
Breakfast was not the most adventurous I have ever sampled, but it’s early days.
Alan and Lesley are a lovely couple (even if they are from Yorkshire!), but they have a tremendous amount of work on their hands to bring the accommodation up to standard.
We wish them all the luck in the world, and we would love to return at some point in the future to see the improvements that I’m sure they will make. It’s a lovely part of the country and must be absolutely amazing in summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashprington
2.6 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
8.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
12.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durant Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durant Arms

Property: The Durant Arms
Address: Ashprington | Totnes, Devon, Ashprington TQ9 7UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ashprington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashprington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Durant Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durant Arms is a family-run Free House serving real ales and great home-cooked food with four en-suite guest bedrooms. With real fires on chilly days a warm welcome awaits. Open Tuesday to Sunday. Lunch: 12pm to 2.30Pm Evening Meals: 6.15Pm to 9pm. Sunday Lunch 12 noon until 3.30Pm. Kitchen closed Sunday night and all day Monday after breakfast service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Durant Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durant Arms Ashprington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing