We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to explore the Devon South Hams”
Review of The Durant Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Durant Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashprington
Certificate of Excellence
UK tourist
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to explore the Devon South Hams”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This review is not based on just one trip to The Durant Arms but several trips over the last two years, I think that is a fairer way to judge an establishment.
The Durant Arms is in the centre of Ashprington, a tiny village close to Totnes. It is run by a husband and wife team who are so friendly and welcoming to all visitors. Nothing is too much trouble to make your visit comfortable and relaxing. The accommodation is truly excellent, It is comprised of just 8 rooms, all beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The owners attention to detail is very evident wherever you go in the Durant.
There is a small bar and an excellent comfortable dining area where you can enjoy excellent meals made with a lot of locally sourced ingredients.
This is one place I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    25
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
51
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

My partner and I stopped at the Durrant Arms for a rare lunch without the children in tow. What a surprise - we expected the quiet, cosy country pub atmosphere, which this place certainly delivers on, but the rest exceeded our expectations.

The welcome was friendly and professional, all the staff were great. Many pubs employ a cook, who produces competent but average dishes. Not the Durrant Arms - we could tell immediately that there was a professional in charge, it was all delicious and faultless. The menu was fairly classic but not boring, with a reasonable choice of specials. My partner had liver and bacon, whilst I had the fish option, which was lemon sole, then for dessert, we had trifle and creme brulee. The choice of drinks was also good, with decent wines on offer at a reasonable price and a range of higher end spirits and soft drinks, some sourced locally.

There are regular themed nights which sound as though they are good value so one of those is next on our list. The pub is close to some lovely walking trails too so we will be recommending it to friends that are child free as a perfect rest stop.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I came here for dinner after an atrocious meal at the nearby Watermans Arms and the experience could not have been more different. Durant's offered excellent service, quality food and at a price that was only marginally more than the Watermans Arms.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank albLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

What can i say, six times in less than a year and each time we have a longer stay.
The Durant Arms is like going home, the whole experience leaves me wanting more, so much to do come rain or shine, the surrounding areas are perfect for a quiet break, the hustle and bustle of the small towns and villages are enchanting.
The Durant Arms is in a wonderful location and Mr. & Mrs Ellis are the perfect hosts nothing i can write in this review could describe the experience of staying in Ashprington.
Go and see for yourself and tell them Linda sent you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawranceHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
266 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2007

I stayed there one night on a business trip. It is the perfect hideaway for a nice few days with the partner. The moors and beaches nearby, great food, reasonable prices, walking trails. What more can I say. On my business trips I will do my best to have to stay here when I am in the South West! I plan to take my wife here as well, as soon as I have a chance!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank John071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashprington
2.2 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
6.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
4.7 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Durant Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durant Arms

Property: The Durant Arms
Address: Ashprington | Totnes, Devon, Ashprington TQ9 7UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ashprington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashprington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Durant Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durant Arms is a family-run Free House serving real ales and great home-cooked food with four en-suite guest bedrooms. With real fires on chilly days a warm welcome awaits. Open Tuesday to Sunday. Lunch: 12pm to 2.30Pm Evening Meals: 6.15Pm to 9pm. Sunday Lunch 12 noon until 3.30Pm. Kitchen closed Sunday night and all day Monday after breakfast service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Durant Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durant Arms Ashprington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing