We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place on the hillside to relax after Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petriolo Spa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magical place on the hillside to relax after Rome”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This looked interesting online, but it was so much more in person! Beautiful rooms, breathtaking views, relaxing world class amenities, delicious food, and exceptional service! This is in our top 5 resorts that we have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Get a hillside view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    225
    74
    36
    26
See reviews for
106
524
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed here in mid Oct 2010 for four nights. Beautiful setting, great amenities and fantastic service. Not much around the resort so you will need a car to make day trips where there are several great places within an hour. Highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gord S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After an amazing two week tour of Rome, Tuscany, Umbria and the coastline, Petriolo was the perfect place to relax. The staff is courteous, professional and welcoming. We did not speak much Italian, but that was not even a slight issue during our stay. The food and service were truly five star. The experience in their pools and spa, along with the personalized treatment would be very difficult to beat. The perfect place for any couple to unwind and relax. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Junior Suite if it is in your budget, although even the standard room will be the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I had 6 nights at this hotel in August 2011.
We were there for our wedding anniversary, and were so pleased to have chosen such a peaceful and luxurious note. Our junior suite was beautifully decorated, spacious and cool. it was extremely light and airy, and enjoyed a very private balcony overlooking the nearby hillside.

Some rooms on the other side were near the busy E72, so be careful which you book.
Car parking was easy in the large carpark outside the hotel, and although the location t first seemed remote, Siena was only 30 mins away, and Montalcino 20 mins.

Both restaurants were good, although dinner by the pool wasn't too alluring after spending a day there. the main restaurant had a terrace outside, and it was delightful to dine as the sunset over the hills. Lighting on the terrace could, however, be improved.
The restaurant staff were most helpful and engaging, and made our anniversary meal most special.
spa facilities were really good, with indoor pools, sauna and thermal pool. Outside the thermal and cool pool were spacious and well provided with sun beds.

All in all a brilliant place both to chill and to use as a base for seeing Southern Tuscany - although we did less travelling than planned because the restful ambiance slowed us down so much!!

Room Tip: check you are on the back away from the fast traffic on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel was perfect as a get away from the hustle and bustle of city life yet situated close enough to Siena that it isn't too much of a chore to drive into the city for dinner.

We had a junior suite which was very comfortable and very good value. Bathroom was luxury with a separate bath tub and shower.

Swimming pool area was heavenly with a stunning view over the valley. Lost of loungers and parasols to protect from the heat of the sun. The lunches we had by the pool were very good as was the breakfast which was quite healthy (no big greasy America Breakfasts here).

Spa area was great with many different pools, jets, jacuzzi's, steam room and sauna.

The only downside was the wifi which was just awful. The signal would come and go and when you did have a signal it was very very slow. There is an internet terminal downstairs however this wasn't much faster.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

It was an outstanding & unforgettable experience!

Unfortunately it was just one night & day, but those precious moments will be stay in my mind forever!

What is that place? A paradise on the earth?? I got speechless when I got there!

Breakfast service is food-of-the-gods! Everything is so perfect, so beautiful, so freshening - I will definitely be back!

Thank you Marianna, Maria & Ata Hotels!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILDASANTOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at Petriolo Spa Resort for 2 nights on our trip to Italy. The resort is located off the main super strada and is easy to find.
The staff is pleasant, but "sterile".
Our room was a junior suite. It was definitely worth the extra cost. Those rooms are located on the opposite side of the pools. The views were outstanding, the room large and very comfortable as well as quiet. The room is equipped with 2 types of bathrobes. One to wear on the property and one for the room as well as spa slippers. A very nice touch.
The resort is beautiful and is known for its amazing thermal pools. The pool area is spectacular. The lounge chairs and beds are great and really give that spa feel. The view from the outdoor pool area is truly breathtaking!
Included in our room fee was breakfast. There is everything available.
We actually ate dinner at the restaurant on the upper terrace both nights and had a nice meal both nights.
After traveling and touring for more than a week, we truly enjoyed this wonderful relaxing experience in Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Partyplanner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Civitella Paganico
3.7 mi away
Antico Casale L'Impostino
Antico Casale L'Impostino
#2 of 6 in Civitella Paganico
112 reviews
10.2 mi away
Albergo La Pace
Albergo La Pace
#3 of 6 in Civitella Paganico
54 reviews
12.7 mi away
Castel Porrona Relais & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Casetta Francini
Casetta Francini
#4 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
16 reviews
7.6 mi away
Albergo Rifugio da Giulia
Albergo Rifugio da Giulia
#1 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
73 reviews
25.0 mi away
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
#14 of 28 in Montepulciano
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petriolo Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petriolo Spa Resort

Property: Petriolo Spa Resort
Address: | Localita Bagni di Petriolo, 58040, Civitella Paganico, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Civitella Paganico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Civitella Paganico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Petriolo Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petriolo is located in the heart of Tuscany, surrounded by fascinating wild scenery as well as artistic and cultural itineraries of great interest. Immersed in the unspoiled beauty of the typical Mediterranean bush, the resort is only a twenty-minute drive from Siena, and 80 km from Florence, the capital of Tuscany. At Petriolo Spa Resort, well-being comes from nature itself, and predominantly from the hot sulfurous water which has been springing from the earth for thousands of years at 43° C, composed of elements capable of positively stimulating the entire organism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petriolo Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petriolo Hotel Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Resort Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Spa Resort Italy/Tuscany - Civitella Paganico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing