We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and laid back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petriolo Spa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing and laid back.”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Wonderful service more than made up for a slightly old fashioned look about this hotel. The spa is lovely and I've not slept so well in years. Apparently it's all that heavy spa water. You do need a car though. There is a great restaurant in the hotel but also a few only a couple of kilometres away. All in all I would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    209
    71
    34
    26
See reviews for
96
495
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We decided to go to Tuscany for a few days for a break and found this hotel via Secret Escapes. The deal was good and after picking up the car in Florence we arrived to the hotel late. The sat nav does not recognise the hotels address and took us into a little tuscan village locally, somewhat stressful at 10.30pm on a sunday night in streets which you can't get down in a car but we did call the hotel and got there in the end. Note do not leave the main road as it is on it!! We were a little disappointed to find that room service was not 24 hrs and had shut when we arrived so went to bed hungry. Having said that we did also go to bed in a beautiful room with a huge bathroom and walk in wardrobe. We were advised we would need to see the doc before entering the spa which was a bit concerning however the next morning it was a very relaxed chat about the effects of the thermal spa on the body so nothing to worry about. The spa was great and provided perfect relaxation with plenty of pools and hot springs.
Our other gripe other than the room service was the recommendations of other restaurants in the area. You need to drive and when we asked for a good pizzeria they sent us off to the hills to a place which had shut down. Luckily the doctor had recommended a B & B locally which served dinner and we had the most incredible 10 course Tuscan dinner on the 2nd night so really glad we had found that.
It was a lovely hotel, very clean and beautiful, I would recommend it, just make sure you have a car as you can't walk anywhere from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request one with a view over the hills, not over the car park, also check the air con works as ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here in early May 2013. The Hotel and Spa is in a beautiful setting. The view from the restaurant and balconies is absolutely beautiful. The drawback here is that you MUST rent a car. We are accustomed to that so it was not a big deal. Though we did make a big mistake on the toll road getting out of Florence. But that's another story.

Staying at Petriolo you just can't be too ambitious in terms of sightseeing and numerous dining experiences unless you have a lot of time. We had only a long weekend but fortunately we were in a mood to relax. So one day driving through the Tuscan hill towns was fine and the rest of the time spent relaxing in the pools and getting massaged was good for us.

It is true that there is nowhere to walk to outside the hotel to eat. The place is in the countryside. So if you are looking for an experience where you are not located in a town and scenery is king then this is a great choice. The staff are excellent but then we couldn't tell if the doctor screeing was really to test our health or a way to slighly sell us more spa services. But if you take it in stride and laugh it off no, problem.

The food was good and the wait staff was very attentive. The head waiter even cleaned my silver wedding ring after it tarnished in the mineral hot springs. We recommend this place highly as long as you are not intent on seeing ALL the sights of Tuscany in a short time. Just relax and take it for what it is....A SPA!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley not the road. And when we stayed you could not turn the AC below 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Petriolo Spa looked so good on paper - a geo thermal spa tucked away in the Tuscan hills, perfect to get away on a mini honeymoon. We stayed there for 3 nights in April, we flew into Pisa and drove the 2 hour journey down which was fine - pretty easy to navigate. The actual hotel is lovely - very grand and super clean and the rooms were large and spacious. The spa facilities are great with all the different pools and they provide you with gowns and fresh towels and the staff are very attentive. Before using the spa though you have to meet with the Dr which we thought could be quite interesting - however it was lucky we were both had no health issues to discuss as he could hardly speak a word of English (I am not saying he should but maybe don't make this compulsory)

The main issue with this hotel is that it is on a main road in the middle of nowhere which does not give you any options to walk to a local shop or any alternative restaurants so unless you want to drive 20 minutes into Siena you have to dine on site. When we were staying there were only 2 restaurants available - both formal, a bit pretentious and over priced (although we couldn't fault the food). One evening we thought we'd have a drink in the bar before dinner....12 euro for a gin and tonic!!! In my opinion this hotel needs a less formal pizzeria or snack bar where guests can relax more and have a dinner without breaking the bank. The spa treatments were also extortionate.

I would recommend this place if you like relaxing in geo thermal spa's but that has to be the main purpose of your visit, don't use it as a base to explore the local area - my advice would be to stay in Florence or Siena and drive down for a day spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kezza632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
201 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I chose Petriolo Spa because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor and the beautiful pictures on the website. I must admit that it was somewhat a disappointment. The hotel sits on a main road so we could hear the cars from the external pools, which is a shame because the scenery from the terrace, dining room and pools is gorgeous. This is a fine place, but definitely not a 5*. While our standard room was clean, spacious and comfortable, it was missing the refined touches of a 5* establishment e.g. old bathrobes with no consideration of the guests' sizes; old and cheap picture frames of random scenery that don't at all fit the lovely surrounding Tuscan countryside; dated furniture in the common areas, etc. The place, architecture, decoration and location made us feel like it was an old converted rehabilitation home or hospital.

In the end, what appeared like a good deal at the time of reservation turned out to be a poor to average value, especially because it costs an extra 80 euros (for 2 people) to use the facilities after the 11am checkout time. All other resorts we stayed at in Tuscany have let us enjoy the facilities after checkout without any extra charge, and on top of that, they provided a spacious and much more private or personal changing room (versus a gym-like locker at Petriolo Spa and Resort). The changing room has at least a couple dozens of lockers and only one shower, one hair-dryer and one toilet, and no counter space, no amenities (typical 5* would have fresh towels, Q-tips, disposable combs/brushes, lotions, etc). It's always the little things that make a difference. Last but not least, I wasn't aware that the Petriolo thermal waters are very sulfurous and as a result, I had trouble getting used to the strong smell of sulfur around the pools and in the common areas. This being said, not everyone seemed to be bothered by the smell as much as I did.

On a positive note, we appreciated the free water, ice teas and granola bars that were in the mini-bar. Service was courteous and the salad and snack bar by the pool was lovely. We appreciated getting a quiet room that looked over some grassy area with a children's playground. The four interior pools are very nice, although a bit cramped. We have enjoyed our stay a lot more at other thermal bath resorts in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The service isn't great. That's a pity, given the structure (although below expectations) and the location. To give you an idea: a) we had troubles going for dinner the night we arrived, as they were pretending the restaurant was full; b) the swimming pool and spa do not open before 9am. Would you like to swim before having breakfast? You basically cannot. The staff is overall kind, but not flexible and food is OK. As said, you would expect much more from such a place.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aldo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetrioloManagement, Direttore generale at Petriolo Spa Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your recent stay at Petriolo Spa Resort. We are very sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with our services.

We would like to use this occasion to point out that the wellness area at Petriolo Spa Resort includes 4 indoor pools and 2 outdoor pools, as well as a sauna, a Turkish bath and emotional showers.

The pools are fed by natural thermal water or springs, and each one has a different temperature. Given said specific characteristics, we make sure that before using our pools all of our Guests complete a preliminary medical interview, and always make sure that a doctor and a lifeguard are present during pool hours.

We look forward to having you as our Guest again in the future.

Alessandro Ercolani
General Manager
Petriolo Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for a week with my wife in Sept 2012 (decided it's time to join up and offer reviews as I always use this site!).

We drove from Pisa which took a couple of hours, not sure how well this place is serviced (apparently a train station not too far) but the drive was fun down the windy roads along the coast.

The hotel itself was great, nice size room, clean, and staff were always friendly and helpful (putting the football on in reception made me very happy!).

The spa was fantastic, several different pools inside and 2 outside. We had a few treatments and again, no issues here.

Food wise, the restaurant is simply brilliant. We ate here most nights, mainly as the location is in the middle of nowhere. The food was top notch and with my wife being a vegetarian, the kitchen were happy to mock something up for her which is always a sign of positivity for me (pleasing your customers should be the top priority!). Also a good wine list.

Big thanks to Ciro who managed the restaurant and looked after our every need for breakfast and dinner.

Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Civitella Paganico
15.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Antico Casale L'Impostino
Antico Casale L'Impostino
#2 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
102 reviews
13.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
625 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort
9.7 mi away
Albergo Rifugio da Giulia
Albergo Rifugio da Giulia
#1 of 6 in Civitella Paganico
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petriolo Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petriolo Spa Resort

Property: Petriolo Spa Resort
Address: | Localita Bagni di Petriolo, 58045, Civitella Paganico, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Civitella Paganico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Civitella Paganico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Petriolo Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petriolo is located in the heart of Tuscany, surrounded by fascinating wild scenery as well as artistic and cultural itineraries of great interest. Immersed in the unspoiled beauty of the typical Mediterranean bush, the resort is only a twenty-minute drive from Siena, and 80 km from Florence, the capital of Tuscany. At Petriolo Spa Resort, well-being comes from nature itself, and predominantly from the hot sulfurous water which has been springing from the earth for thousands of years at 43° C, composed of elements capable of positively stimulating the entire organism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petriolo Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petriolo Hotel Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Resort Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Spa Resort Italy/Tuscany - Civitella Paganico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing