We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A COUNTRY RETREAT A SHORT DISTANCE FROM THE SEA”
Review of Locanda Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda Rossa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A COUNTRY RETREAT A SHORT DISTANCE FROM THE SEA”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Set in beautiful countryside and a short distance from the sea, the hotel offers excellent food and a top notch service. It has a very well designed garden and landscaping in which one can totally relax, as well as a swimming pool large enough to swim and exercise. All in all a superb place where to spend a few days relaxing and being pampered either with friends or on a romantic hideaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matteo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    38
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
107
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Friends of friends recommended Locanda Rossa. We stayed there in August for 10 days and loved every second. Minutes from Capalbio and also the sea, set in vast olive groves in the heart of Etruscan Tuscany, we never wanted to leave. The hotel was a hospital transformed by brilliant architects and three inspired female lawyers (who own and run it) into a sanctuary of relaxation. The food is fresh and inspired for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And the staff helped thoroughly with every need. The pool shimmers and invites like a miracle, with views and more views of the rolling Maremma hills. When can I return?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMartaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed at Locanda for four nights in July. The setting was lovely, and we especially enjoyed the pool. Our room was nice, but what we enjoyed most were the public areas at the Locanda. The terrace outside of the dining room is covered (so in the shade) and has couches and chairs, a perfect place to have breakfast while looking out at Tuscany filling up on the delicious croissants and honey that they serve for breakfast. We used the Hamam at the Loncanda, and strongly recommend that anyone take the time to do so. It was a superb amenity, and it is booked for private use, which makes it even more relaxing. I would strongly recommend Locanda Rossa for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejcmhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowayton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful "hotel" which was more like a generous B & B. The setting was idyllic, the decor was crisp and chic, and the staff was sweet, helpful...and oh, so patient with our inept ability to speak Italian!
We weren't sure we could fill 4 days in Capalbio, but the time flew by - beaches, golf, sulpher baths, delicious food, wine....and more win,e proved we could.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruneck
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The surroundings are tipically from the Maremma. This means you are not in a landscape like Chianti, here landscape is dominated by extendet fields end som olive trees. The seaside is not far away, about ten minutes by car. There is a long beach whit two or three bars/restaurants.
Locanda rossa has a main Buiding whit classical Rooms, but also Villas to rent. We have rented one of the bigger ones whre you have a completehouse whit kitchen and garden. Two of the sleeping rooms area at the first floor, whit beautyful view, the third is in the basement. Villas have no service, you have topay for it separatly.

The breakfast buffeft is not huge, but the cakes and the jam is homemade.
We tried the Dinner at the arrival, then we went out all the evenings. The best fish restaurant is "LaSelva", if you like Beach Restaurants try the "rosso & vino" near CAPALBIO SCALO.

Room Tip: if you choose to stai in Villa get the breakfast t
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpensommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

When we arrived (I and my girlfriend) we've saw an amazing place, totally sorrounded from the nature through the hills of Capalbio. An unique place, with a professional staff: a holiday based on serenity, quality, good

the swimming pool is framed in a valley of olives trees and english grass. We've passed the dusk on the border of the swimming pool for see the sun go behind the hills.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edoardolimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Benedetto Del Tronto, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Located in the heart of Tuscany's countryside, in a calm, romantic and suggestive landscape, Locanda Rossa will certainly meet and exceed your expectations.
The extremely professional and friendly staff will always make you feel at home, regardless of where you come from. You will be sleeping in luxurious rooms spread around a vast and beautiful park, and you will never run out of things to do during the days: from the relax of the SPA to the pleasant tasting of traditional local food, your time could not be spent in a more enjoyable manner.
I strongly recommend Locanda Rossa as a perfect place to escape the chaos of everyday's life and spend some time in one of the most evocative and beautiful areas of Italy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariosbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capalbio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
2.7 mi away
Resort Capalbio
Resort Capalbio
#3 of 7 in Capalbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
3.7 mi away
I Briganti di Capalbio
I Briganti di Capalbio
#4 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Tris
Hotel Residence Tris
#5 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Rossa

Property: Locanda Rossa
Address: Strada Capalbio n 11B, 58011, Capalbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Capalbio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Locanda Rossa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Locanda Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing