We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I spent here some time with my family because we wanted to relax and to go to the seaside during the day. The hotel was nice but the swimming pool not so big as they said. The staff was pleasant and restaurants nearby are really good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Freddy,
we are happy that you like our hotel and that our staff received you and your family in the best possible way.
Capalbio and its excellent restaurants leave a pleasant reminder!
Greetings
Staff Valle del Buttero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    119
    34
    1
    4
See reviews for
132
165
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our recent stay at Valle del Buttero was very pleasant. We were upgraded from the room we booked to a one-bedroom mini-apartment – most comfortable indeed. Our rooms were immaculately clean and well-equipped. With ample space, a little terrace balcony, a small kitchen area, even multi-language TV channels, it would certainly be an agreeable home base for touring the area. The location is ideal for exploring beautiful mediaeval Capalbio – just a ten minute walk, uphill but manageable – and the sea and many other places of interest are nearby. The hotel complex itself has good facilities, ample parking, a swimming pool and sunning area (of course, not open yet when we were there in April), sitting lounges indoors and outdoors, a small games room, a beautiful pool table in a corner of the lobby. Apparently there is also a small gym, although we did not check it out. In addition, the reception personnel were pleasant and helpful – very welcoming!

Although our itinerary allowed us only one night there, Valle del Buttero seems a lovely location for a longer stay. It is comfortable and relaxing, with many facilities that would allow tourists a place to unwind after a day of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta s, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Kind Mr. and Mrs Gavazzi,
thank you for the beautiful review. It's true, our hotel could be the base to leave for fantastic excursions and in the evenings, when you come back, it offres many relax areas: tha hall, the biliard, the swimming pool, the gym and the beautiful walk through Capalbio's alleys to find its typical restaurants.
We are waiting for you for a longer stay!
Greetings Roberta, Riccardo and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent one night at the Valle del Buttero with friends on our way to Tuscany. The room was clean and pleasant and the staff friendly and helpful. The location was excellent - a five minute walk to the beautiful old section of Capalbio, just the perfect walk after dinner and wine at one of several excellent restaurants. Our only problem with the hotel's breakfast was deciding what to choose from the large selection food displayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byro2000, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Terry,
We would like to thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
We are very pleased that you appreciated the high standard of cleanliness in our rooms, and the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.
Our hotel is situated in the perfect position for you to visit the beautiful historical town centre of Capalbio, were you can find several excellent restaurants.
It is true that we serve plentiful and varied breakfast, that often makes it difficult to choose from!
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel, again.
Best wishes
From all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

great customer service from the first email of enquiry. When we couldn't get from the station to the hotel, they collected us for a very reasonable charge at very short notice; they lent us bikes free of charge so that we could cycle to the Tarot Gardens; worked out the bus times so that we could get back to the train... all with a smile and friendly face!

The public areas are lovely, with a bit of personality about them. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, but did lack that personal detail (a bit of a typical peach coloured room). mosquitos affected our sleep albeit just one persistent one!

Located just outside of the old town, with lots of restaurant options (and there were a couple of others in the newer part of town that looked busy only after we had already eaten), so lots of choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byro2000, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear,
Thank you for the beautiful words.
For us from the Valle Del Buttero it's a pleasure to "cuddle" our guests!
We are very happy, that you had a pleasant stay, and that you appreciated the beautiful village of Capalbio.
hoping to have you again as our kind guests,
Best Wishes
All the staff from Valle del Buttero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel has it all: an ideal location, a few minutes from Capalbio historic city center (a gem); rooms that are spacious,clean and quiet; friendly and efficient staff, always ready to help you. Even in the high quality of the mattresses (all of them, even the one for the single bed in the living room) one could perceive the attention to detail that makes Valle del buttero outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byro2000, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for this beautiful review!
We are very happy that your stay was good. Our staff is friendly and ready to suggest a nice place to visit or resolve any little problem that you could have. We are satisfied that our new mattresses gave you a "peaceful" sleep.
It was nice to have met you and we hope to see you again!
Best Wishes
Staff of Valle del Buttero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I absolutely loved this place and would return in a second if I could! My husband and I traveled with three teenagers and booked a 2 BR apt. When we arrived, our reservation was messed up and our apt. not available until the next night. After we provided proof of our reservation, they did their best to accomodate us right away. As far as Valle del Buttero, it is clean, the pool is wonderful, and the amazing Capalbio is a block away. The breakfast buffet was also a prize-winner which included a variety of fresh hot pastries that were always replenished. There are great restaurants and shops in Capalbio to say nothing of the views!!! Absolutely stunning!! ALSO, the beach is about a 15 minute drive away, as well as a ferry that will take you to see the Costa Concordia off the Isola del Giglio. Especially great place if you are traveling with kids!! Oh, there was also a ping pong table and pool table!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocuslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byro2000, Direttore at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear friends,
we are happy that our hotel is liked all your lovely family!
Our breakfast is very much appreciated, especially by children, and the beautiful town of Capalbio is ideal for a nice walk between shops and restaurants. The sunset seen from the walls is lovely!!

See you soon, we look forward with joy
The team Valle del Buttero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Didn't really meet our expectations, but certainly has potential.

THE GOOD: Exceptionally clean. Exceptional breakfast (best of our 4 week trip). Very pleasant and helpful staff. Useful kitchen, but would be better with a $79 microwave. Great parking. Clean pool and surrounding grounds. Great pool towels and chairs, although a hot tub addition would have make it exceptional.

THE NO SO GOOD: Poor Air Conditioning, wouldn't cool the bedroom so my wife and I slept 4 nights on cots in the main living area next to the AC. Terrible beds, main bed was hard and the cots were lumpy. Terrible water pressure in shower (it seems to be choked by a water saving device in the line, the sink pressure was stellar). I showered in the gym bathroom for great water pressure. POORLY equipped gym, if they'd just spend $100 on some 5, 10 and 15 kg dumbbells it would be adequate.

I'd suggest the hotel raise rates by $5 per night and make some improvements, the have the beginnings of a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byro2000, Direttore at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Sir,
we are very pleased to have found many positives thoughs about our hotel.
Our exceptional cleaning, the breakfast prepared with quality products, the amenities of the pool and garden, as well as the professionalism and courtesy of our staff, are all aspects that we take care meticulously to provide our guests a stay that meets their desire.
Thank you for the excellent advice: from his review we understand the need to think in a more 'international mind, because, luckily the last year our foreign clientele has increased alot, Our regular guests, in general, prefer the mattresses orthopedic, but we have other models and we will gladly replace, if he had been reported. regarding the microwave and dumbbells in the gym, it is the first time that they have been requested, and surely will buy some to keep on hand.
Thanks and best regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capalbio
2.6 mi away
Resort Capalbio
Resort Capalbio
#3 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda Rossa
Locanda Rossa
#2 of 7 in Capalbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.8 mi away
I Briganti di Capalbio
I Briganti di Capalbio
#4 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Tris
Hotel Residence Tris
#2 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero

Property: Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
Address: Via Ignazio Silone 21, 58011, Capalbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Capalbio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel and residence Valle del Buttero is located nearby the historical centre of Capalbio, in Maremma Toscana, just 10 minutes from the sea. Its coasts offer a unique enviroment with sandy beaches designed by the greatest creator of all time...nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing