We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Allington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flear Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Flear country cottages, we stayed in Barn Lodge, which was lovely.
Lovely setting in the middle of nowhere the owners have only been there two months, they gave a very warm welcome and were on hand to deal with anything throughout the holiday in a very friendly way, which made the service more personal.
The playbarn was amazing the only problem we had was trying to get our 3 year old out of it. Lovely swimming pool and hot tub. Due to the lovely weather and time spent on the beach we did not get any time to spend in the beautiful grounds.
Can't recommend it highly enough for families. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife and I , our little boy who's nearly 3 and his grandparents from Hong Kong stayed here for 4 days in this lodge. We had a very enjoyable time, young and old all loved it here. The owners Camille & Barney were very welcoming. It was a nice touch to find tea, cakes and flowers as a welcome gift.

Linhay was well furnished and spec'd. There was a cot, high chair, stair gates and some toys for my little boy. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook family meals. You also have your own private drive to park your car.

The play barn was very well stocked with slides, a large play house, table tennis table and other toys which my little toddler loved.

There is a good sized heated swimming pool which I was surprised to find was open 24 hours a day.

Any shortcomings? There is no mobile signal here, so depending on your point of view, it could be seen as a boon to get away from it all! There is Wi-Fi though, but we didn't use it.

Also the narrow and twisting lanes on the approach to the site, but you soon get use to it after a few drives. To get to/from Kingsbridge, I found the drive from East Allington village easier than via the Buckland Hotel.

It's a lovely countryside setting that we would re-visit and recommend as being child friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband, 1 yr old son and I stayed at Flear in early June, when the new owners had only just moved in. Before we went, I was a little apprehensive when I saw that the property had changed hands, but my fears were totally unfounded. Barney and Camilla were extremely welcoming and friendly, and they did everything they could to make sure that our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. The facilities at Flear are great and very child friendly. Our son loved the playbarn, where he played with Barney and Camilla's son Roo, as well as the pool and hot tub (children must be supervised in the hot tub but there's no age limit!). The cottage was kitted out with stair gates, a high chair and cot, and our terrace was safely enclosed. Although our son is very young, Flear would be a good choice for families with children of any ages; as well as the pool there is a tennis court, pitch and putt course and playground, and the play barn has things for kids of various ages (swings, trampoline, baby toys, table football, pool table etc). The cottages themselves are quite remote, but it isn't really very far into Kingsbridge, and Totnes, Salcombe and Bigbury are all within easy day-trip (or half-day-trip) distance. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Flear, and will go again if we can. It is a little on the pricey side, but they do say you do get what you pay for, and in this case, what you pay for is great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just returned from a week in Stable Cottage at Flear Farm Cottages. I can thoroughly recommend this little complex of cottages, which include the use of a heated indoor pool, sauna and hot tub,which every evening we had to ourselves. Along with a very well equipped play barn. Set in the lovely rolling countryside of the South Hams, which we already know very well. The Stables was well equipped from the kitchen to the bathrooms & bedrooms with white bed linen and lovely towels. I knew just a few weeks before arriving at the cottage that Camilla and Barney had taken over Flear Farm Cottages and I was a little concerned but I have to say they were totally unfounded. Both Camilla and Barney were extremely helpful and welcoming. I know they have some plans to improve Flear and I and my family wish them lots of luck in their new venture. We do hope to return to this ideallic place and cannot recommend it high enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerieis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Lovely weekend break with the family in the gorgeous setting of South Hams Flear Country. Once you navigate the narrow, twisting and unnamed roads you pull into the property and it's quite simply idyllic - lovely streams, bluebell fields, meadows - classic picture postcard stuff ( no views of the Hams as nestled in a small valley.) Very warm welcome from the new owners and they genuinely make you feel that nothing's too much effort to make the stay enjoyable. Ignore all the previous Tripadvisor comments!
Positives are; a great base to explore the surrounding area, awesome stargazing, fun-house, swimming pool, snuggy cottages.
Negatives are; some cottages are very close together, the kids need to be "self-starters" to enjoy the best of the venue, tough to find a shop for milk and papers etc, steep paths for elderly folk and just be a touch careful with the pool being deeper than anything you'll be used to as a kid (somewhere like 8 - 10 feet at the deep end).
Overall a great experience and we'd happily go back.

Room Tip: Look at the location map on their website - if the properties look close then they probably are! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBruckshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Chose Flear for our first "baby" holiday principally looking for a quiet, detached property out of town. This was just that.

The facilities are very good, with what seemed like our own private, indoor pool (certainly on the three occasions we used it, we were alone!). Also a very large "play barn" though this is probably more suited for slightly older children with a large trampoline and climbing frame. The owner is going to look into getting some more baby friendly entertainment soon (they've only just taken bought the place and moved in two weeks before our stay!).

Set in it's own considerable grounds, there's a lovely walk through the orchard and the woods, complete with bluebells when we were there.

Barney & Camilla have just bought the place and moved in, and talking with them they have big plans to lavish more personal attention on the place, which will only add to it's charm.

Overall - very baby friendly, we stayed in the Linhay and found it very comfortable and just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatAndJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We're not long back from a long weekend at Flear and I have to say that after reading some of the reviews I was a little doubtful as to what we would find. I'm happy to say that we were pleasantly surprised!

We were staying in the Cartwheel cottage which was clean and well equipped, certainly no signs of threadbear carpets or it falling into disrepair. The indoor pool was lovely and clean and we pretty much had it to ourselves every time we used it which was something of a treat.

We were warmly welcomed to the property by Barney the new owner and whilst there we lost count of the amount of times we saw him out and about doing various chores.

Yes, its true that there are signs that the previous owners had perhaps not lavished the right amount of care to the properties nor were they particlarly welcoming to their guests (the swing in the play barn does need replacing and the notes on the bins saying you could forfeit your deposit if you don't empty them need removing).

However, from what we saw it seems that the new owners already love the estate and are planning on making it their family home. They will be working hard to bring things back up to standard and we would certainly consider staying there again.

The cottages are in a lovely quiet location but you do need a car to get about and plenty of confidence to get yourself down the narrow windy lanes on the way there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevertriedherebefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Allington
6.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
754 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
501 reviews
15.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
549 reviews
5.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
16.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flear Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flear Farm Cottages

Property: Flear Farm Cottages
Address: East Allington TQ9 7RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > East Allington
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in East Allington
Hotel Class:4 star — Flear Farm Cottages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flear Farm nestles amidst the rolling hills of the South Hams. It comprises a nest of charming cottages, huddled in a valley where a small river flows towards the Kingsbridge estuary.It is an ideal holiday location if you want to leave behind the strains of city living and relax in a peaceful rural setting. You can wander along pretty streams, explore our rambling woods and trek over undulating hills.Flear Farm is beautifully situated, perfectly mixing the peace & seclusion of the estate, close to lively market towns, and virtually surrounded by nearby beaches South, East and West, with Dartmoor National Park to the North. The pretty town of Kingsbridge, with its cafés, restaurants and quirky shops is only a 10-minute drive.Flear offers an ideal environment for families who make use of the special facilities provided for children, babies and toddlers, including the well-equipped indoor and outdoor play areas. It would equally appeal to nature lovers who appreciate the beauty of Devon’s countryside and coastline.Our eleven individually furnished properties along with Flear House are available year-round for short breaks and weekly stays. All properties have top-quality flatscreens, FreeSat TV, WIFI and include cots, highchairs and stair-gates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flear Farm Cottages East Allington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing