We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Allington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flear Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family holiday!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just come back from 7 days at the Linhay cottage and wanted to thank Barney and Camilla (and Roo) for their very warm welcome. All of us, including our children who are 2 and 1 and Buddy the dog, absolutely loved the whole set up: the comfortable cottage, the amazing play barn and swimming pool, the beautiful river and the woods.

We think it's an idea place for families with children and we will be back!

Marina and Julian

Room Tip: Linhay had a very spacious opened-plan ground floor with under floor heating, which meant that our 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaBrighton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Flear Farm, staying in the Orchard Lodge, a self-contained two storey barn conversion with 3 bedrooms. Our party consisted of 2 adult couples and two children (ages 7 and 9).

The whole stay was outstanding. The Lodge was immaculate and by far the most beautiful and luxurious self-catering apartment/cottage/lodge we've ever stayed in. Fully kitted out kitchen, living area, large TV, cable channels, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms (one with Jacuzzi), utility room with clothes washing appliances, outdoor deck with BBQ, plenty of cutlery and crockery, and ample supplies thrown in to help us settle in with none of the mean holding back you get sometimes elsewhere (e.g. ever had the 2 dishwasher tablets and then you have to buy your own?) - there was even a cake there to welcome us.

The site can be a bit tricky (it really is in the middle of nowhere, but once you get there the valley it's nested in is beautiful) to find but the instructions emailed to us were great, and it's on Google Maps anyway. Access is through some very narrow single lane hedgegrow type tracks (1-2 miles of that from either direction that you can enter) so I'd beware of very large cars - that said some of the other residents were there with Range Rovers and Audi Q7s so clearly not that bad. The 'estate' itself is beautiful, nestled in a valley, with a river running through it, lake, horse paddock, and the owner encouraged us to go and freely explore. In the end we did not do this due to the wet weather and muddy trails, but I imagine it will be superb in summer.

The farm complex is a very pretty cluster of restored traditional cottages, plus a large PlayBarn where our children spent a few hours on a rainy day, and a brilliant indoor heated pool with full facilities (changing room, shower, sauna, seating area, hot tub). The pool itself more than fully justified the choice of resort to stay at - it was that good, and we used it every evening. There are also outdoor play areas, tennis courts, mini-golf ... and plenty of spots where to park.

There is no mobile phone reception but you do get a landline phone in your lodge if you absolutely need to. Wifi is available throughout the site. It's fairly low-bandwidth, and a bit patchy throughout the farm, but when I had a signal I found it reliable.

The very pleasant and cheerful owner Barney came to welcome us on arrival, and was extremely helpful and prompt with a couple of minor matters. He gave us a tour of the facilities and was there to see us off on departure day.

The location is a great base for the various beaches and seaside resorts available within 20-30 mins driving to the West, East and South. We spent half a day at Burgh Island and it was beautiful.

We have already decided that we will go back in sunnier weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mspiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My Husband and I arrived home from Flear Farm yesterday following a nine day stay there with our two young children (6 and 2 years old)
From start to finish, the whole experience was idyllic. The cottage we stayed in was thoroughly charming, cosy and super-comfortable. Everything we could possibly need was there. This was one of the smaller cottages, yet it was plenty big enough for us. Beds were comfy, big lovely fluffy towels were provided, a roaring wood burner which was gorgeous! Flowers and a cake had also been thoughtfully provided.
The farm itself is set in the lush and rolling valleys of the South Hams area of Devon. A short drive away from some beautiful beaches. It's a real haven for wildlife. We saw owls, bats and foxes during our stay. As well as making friends with the farms very friendly ponies.
The swimming pool was unbelievable. Heated to a fabulous 30 degrees and just a few seconds dash from our cottage, we used it daily, along with the sauna and the hot tub. Our son had a couple of one to one swimming lessons whilst we were there, which were very reasonably priced and did wonders for his confidence. The playbarn was absolutely brilliant. Perfect for us as we had a few rainy days - it was a haven. A huge heated barn, complete with a trampoline, a huge climbing frame, wooden play house, scooters, space hoppers - every active child's Mecca. For older kids there was ping pong, table football and a pool table. Also plenty of comfy sofas where parents could relax and keep an eye on youngsters. Next to the play barn was a picnic and barbecue area which sadly we didn't get to use as it was just too chilly! Finally I cannot end my review without mentioning Barney and Camilla - our hosts. They were superb! So friendly and welcoming. They made completely sure we had everything we needed in a lovely unobtrusive way. We were generously given extra wood for our fire, loaned buckets and spades for the beach and told to help ourselves to DVDs etc. I was told that this is only their second year at the farm. You wouldn't know! It's as though they've been doing it for years!
We were gutted to be coming home. (Our daughter had to be carried crying from the Play barn so we could leave!) Definitely the loveliest UK holiday we've ever had!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaddy71Sep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a three day stay at Flear Farm in October with 10 teenagers to celebrate our daughter's 15th birthday. We loved the place. We occupied the Stables and Stalls and although I was a bit anxious initially about us not being in one big cottage, this was the perfect situation. The cottages are opposite each other and all the madness was kept to the 'girl's' space whilst we existed in a calm, clean space. The girls thoroughly enjoyed all the facilities - swimming pool, hot tub, sauna. We walked in the rain along the stream, picked apples from the orchard for our desert of apple crumble for our Friday night meal.

We found lots to do off the farm and enjoyed the beaches close by and had a huge birthday meal in the East Allington village pub. Great place but I've forgotten the name.

Thank you Barney and Camilla for our very warm welcome and for the nice touches such as our starter pack of kitchen and household products. Also waiting up for us on our first night. A fantastic time was had by all and I do think my daughter and her friends have started a trend for birthday trips to your part of the world, so expect to see us again!

In fact one girl tweeted at the end of last year that the trip was "the highlight of her year" and this was retweeted and favourited by the 10 girls who were on the trip.Thank you very much Barney and Camilla.
Have a great year.
Maxine & William

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We went in early January for a short post Xmas break and were truly impressed with everything at Flear Farm.

We were lucky enough to receive a free upgrade on our property as our first choice wasnt ready.

We had emailed a few times prior to arriving and had received prompt and friendly responses. Upon arrival we were greeted by Barney who was really friendly and showed us around the grounds and facilities.

Himself and Camilla are very welcoming hosts and they really come across as genuine and happy to welcome you.

Barney explained everything clearly and had some suggestions on what to do locally. After we arrived we were left to our own accord but we new that if there was anything we needed we could contact them and help would be at hand. When on such a holiday it must be hard to find the balance of great service and being over bearing but they definately nailed it!

The cottage itself was beautiful (it really was hard to leave) spacious and well kept.
The grounds were beautiful with a lovely steam running through it and a lovely wood.

The facilities are spot on with a great pool, sauna and outside jaccuzi (even great in the rain!).

Its in a fantastic part of Devon with some spectacular beaches and beautiful towns within a short drive.

All in all I really cant fault anything about Flear Farm and cannot reccomend it highly enough.

Superb!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFawcettFamily, Owner at Flear Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Our warmest thanks for your kind review. It is really important to us that families who stay with us have a truly relaxing and enjoyable break especially with young ones in tow. Having holiday cottages is usually a lifestyle choice of sorts (as it is for us) and so it really is personally rewarding to give our guests a wonderful holiday. Thanks again and we would loo forward to welcoming your family back to stay with us again. B&C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent five perfect fun-filled days at Flear Farm. We were made to feel very welcome by the new owners, who were incredibly helpful and friendly and helped make our stay one to remember for all the right reasons.

The cottages are set in a stunningly beautiful, tranquil valley and the cottage we stayed in was lovely, with its own private garden. We have an eighteen month old daughter, for whom the (surprisingly large) play-barn and indoor swimming pool were perfect. The pool area is well finished and the pool is warm and large enough to exercise in.

The nearby beaches are lovely.

We will definitely be returning next year, which will be a first, as we have never gone back to the same place twice for a holiday before.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepetitchamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winkleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We spent a fantastic 5 days here with our 2yr old and 2 month old. Lovely clean accommodation, fantastic play barn full of things to occupy our 2yr old, great swimming pool which was very quiet, and we felt really welcome by the owners. The only down fall was that it was a little bit remote and had to travel down several small lanes to get there, but wasn't really a big problem, once we found our way in and out! Would definable recommend for families with young children.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Jones_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Allington
6.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
5.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
7.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
23.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flear Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flear Farm Cottages

Property: Flear Farm Cottages
Address: East Allington TQ9 7RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > East Allington
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in East Allington
Hotel Class:4 star — Flear Farm Cottages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flear Farm nestles amidst the rolling hills of the South Hams. It comprises a nest of charming cottages, huddled in a valley where a small river flows towards the Kingsbridge estuary.It is an ideal holiday location if you want to leave behind the strains of city living and relax in a peaceful rural setting. You can wander along pretty streams, explore our rambling woods and trek over undulating hills.Flear Farm is beautifully situated, perfectly mixing the peace & seclusion of the estate, close to lively market towns, and virtually surrounded by nearby beaches South, East and West, with Dartmoor National Park to the North. The pretty town of Kingsbridge, with its cafés, restaurants and quirky shops is only a 10-minute drive.Flear offers an ideal environment for families who make use of the special facilities provided for children, babies and toddlers, including the well-equipped indoor and outdoor play areas. It would equally appeal to nature lovers who appreciate the beauty of Devon’s countryside and coastline.Our eleven individually furnished properties along with Flear House are available year-round for short breaks and weekly stays. All properties have top-quality flatscreens, FreeSat TV, WIFI and include cots, highchairs and stair-gates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flear Farm Cottages East Allington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing