We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
80
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews play barn barney and camilla flear farm tennis courts hot tub swimming pool steam room climbing frame fantastic facility amazing play high chair honesty shop single lane dvd collection pitch and putt short drive great pool
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

I've just returned from a sunny week at Flear. This was our second visit, with our now 3.5 year old and this time we invited the grandparents. We tried some new beaches and restaurants this year (all mentioned in the cottage's welcome book). We stayed in the stalls. It was great as we stayed at the top of the cottage with the preschooler. There was a shower room. The grandparents had the bottom floor and bathroom. We were so lucky with the gorgeous sunny weather. The best thing for me was the peace and quiet. I'll miss the sounds of the birds in the morning and animals. Barney and Camilla are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. And they have put so much hard work into Flear. We've all come back happy and relaxed from out wonderful holiday.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank ClaireBearKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We love it so much, we’ve come back twice (we never come to the same place again usually!) and will be planning our third trip soon! The owners are amazing and so welcoming and kind. Myself, husband and our 2 year old had so much fun here and there’s so much to do, you don’t even need to leave if you don’t want to. The pool and outdoor hot tub are amazing - even in the snow! The play barn is a brilliant idea, huge and full of toys and things to do and the cottages are cosy and warm. My son loves taking Aby the pony the carrots and thinks Mr Alpaca (Alister) is hilarious to watch. There are numerous walks right from the front door, including a stream to paddle in. The park is also a great addition. It really is an amazing family break and we can’t wait to come back again! Thank you so much for your kindness whilst we were stuck in the snow here! Although, if you’re going to be stuck anywhere, this is the place to be!
See you soon, George, Chris and Charlie

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gen1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFawcettFamily, Owner at Flear Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your warm review George Chris and Charlie! It was a pleasure to have your family with us last week. Flear is loved by those who know it. This is a special thing and we nurture that. We'd love to see you again anytime you can get away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely time! All their facilities are nice and well kept except the sauna which was a tad dirty - found a toenail once which was very off putting and some marks over the walls!! Although the shower/changing room/swimming pool and Jacuzzi were well maintained. The playbarn is large and has lots to do in there!
Went and explored the area which was beautiful. The country lanes were nice to look at.
The cottage itself was amazing and has a rustic look which i loved! Although would of liked more bags/diswasher tablets but had child friendly cutlery and plates which was nice . My 1 year also loved the cottage as the windows were his height and low. He had an amazing time. Would deffo recommend everyone was friendly and was very peaceful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank aklima285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFawcettFamily, Owner at Flear Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi Aklima,

Thank you for your kind words. We're sorry you found a nail in the Steam Room (we don't have a sauna!), who knows how it got there, we can't prevent this - the important point is that it wouldn't have been there for long, and it's unlikely to occur in the first place. The walls of the Steam Room have rust coloured mineral deposits INSIDE the tiles, these are not marks!! The Steam Room is very clean and inspected every day by us personally. The choice of tile is to in keeping with the old slate quarry and so we deliberately chose tiles with that feature. The Steam Room is a great facility and so easy to use. Of course it's worth pointing out here that it like all our other facilities here is entirely free to use at any time and shared by comparatively few guests. This gives our estate a gentle feeling of care and exclusivity and we will keep it that way. We place trust in our families here, and our kindness and generosity are returned to us by our guests many times over. It's one the things that makes Flear so special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We enjoyed a fantastic 5 night break at Flear farm in February 2018. As a family of 4, with two under 4s we stayed in "The Quarry," which had recently been refurbished with a brand new kitchen that was well equipped, and provided everything we thought we would need (and a bit more) for a self-catering break, and with cot sides for beds, high chairs and children's cutlery and plates etc which all added to the convenience. We were just a stone's throw from the play barn (with the playhouse and trampoline particularly loved by our two girls), and only a few more steps from the excellent, warm indoor swimming pool which provided a fantastic opportunity to improve our daughter's confidence in the swimming pool. The grounds are beautiful, and we took advantage of the outdoor play area, and borrowed some tennis rackets to have a game on the courts. The weather was chilly (and occasionally wet), as would be expected in the UK in February, but it didn't stop us from making a couple of day trips to local beaches including Bantham and Thurlestone, which are around 15-20 minutes away. The site is accessed via narrow country lanes, but these were never busy, and we didn't find them to be a problem. We'll definitely be back in the future!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Bethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

I found Flear cottages following the instructions given thank you. It is like arriving into a little piece of heaven. Staying in th to yest cottage for 2 with my 10 year old daughter we found the cottage warm and cozy. With pretty much all you require. A wooden spoon and pair of scissors would be great addition. Oh and a blind on the main door window would make me feel a little less exposed or maybe a curtain across the porch area, though I know this might be tricky.

The Play barn was lovely....particularly good for the younger children although the trampoline was a good addition and the climbing frame kept my 10 year old busy before moving on to the lovely pool. As there were mostly families with young children it meant that the pool was very quiet and we generally had it to ourselves at around 5pm. I had the luxury of a back massage with visiting therapist whose reputation was excellent and I can totally validate that. As one therapist commenting on another, I can say she was very good. Flear are lucky to have her.

My husband popped down from Stroud to visit us for one night with our dog and Flear were very accommodating with this. We had a very good 'pub grub' supper that evening at the Fortescue Arms in the village.
Our dog loved walking along the river which was very full due to two days very heavy rain. Though luckily it was alternate with lovely sunny days. Thanks so much for our stay. Im sure we will be back again in the future. When we hope to have more opportunity to play outside more and see the pony and Alpaca looking a little happier in better weather. Thanks again.

Room Tip: All rooms/cottages are very quiet with excellent beds and blinds.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank shereedrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFawcettFamily, Owner at Flear Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Hi Sheree,

It was a pleasure to have your family with us this half term, and we're glad you had a wonderful time. Pretty much all our bookings are families with young children and it does make the spaces like the Playbarn and the swimming pool really calm environments. The secret here at Flear is that our facilities are very generous for such a small number of people which means that even when we're full - like during your stay - as often as not you'll have the pool to yourselves. Abbie and Alastair didn't think much of their temporary move to the valley paddock did they? They're sociable animals (Abbie particularly) and like to be in their paddock in the centre of things. But it has meant the the pony paddock had the chance to grow back a bit which they now love of course! We're sorry you didn't find the wooden spoon and scissors. We haven't (until now!) felt the need for a blind on the front door because the elevation of the cottage means that you can't see in unless you're actually at the door, but it might be useful as a piece of mind thing, we'll "look into it" as it were...

Best wishes,

Barney, Camilla and the boys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews