We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
85
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews play barn barney and camilla flear farm tennis courts orchard lodge hot tub swimming pool honesty shop cutlery and plates new owners high chair climbing frame fantastic facility amazing play single lane dvd collection pitch and putt
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Absolutely lovely place. Completely geared for children. Really big pool. Play barn well equipped. Perhaps a few more soft mats for the todlers. Not a moan just an idea. Cannot recommend this farm enough. Large outdoor play area. Also go for a walk through woods and find stream and play poo sticks. Enjoy we certainly did

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 119patr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnaby F, Owner at Flear Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thanks Pat,

It was a pleasure to have your family with us. Nice idea on the mats ;-) Have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed in The Dairy cottage at Flear farm for 5 nights in June. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are thinking of returning next year.
The cottage was perfect for two adults and our 2.5 year old son. He slept comfortably in the cot provided.
The kitchen and living area were great, with the kitchen having all the utensils you need for cooking. There is also a vacuum cleaner, mop, dishwasher and cleaning spray to use. The bathroom was very clean and there were enough towels for our stay. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. Although it did get quite hot in the room at night. However, Barney is going to look into purchasing a fan.
It was a lovely surprise to arrive to some freshly made scones and Tiptree jam upon arrival. It was slightly confusing whether we needed to check in anywhere or whether we could just go into the cottage, as the key was in the door. There was nobody around when we arrived. However, a few minutes later, Bridget turned up to welcome us. She was very friendly and helpful. We met the owners a day before we were due to leave and we found Barney and Camilla very nice and welcoming.
The pool is the perfect size and you can even book swimming lessons for your little ones. It was great knowing that after a busy day sightseeing, we could have a relaxing dip in the pool any time we liked. It is always open. You can book treatments in the treatment room next to the pool. There is also a hot tub outside which you can enjoy into the evening.
The play barn is excellent and filled with an array of toys for younger children. Older children can enjoy the trampoline, pool table and slide etc. The outside play area is also really good. There is an honesty shop on the farm, which sells jam, juice, swim nappies to name but a few.
The farm is only a short drive away from some beautiful beaches. We visited Hope Cove, Bantham beach and Salcombe. The roads are very narrow and you do have to reverse quite a bit. However, once you get onto the main roads, it's not so bad. We also went to Woodlands park which is great for young children. I would highly recommend visiting Lydford gorge, which is a lovely waterfall trail.
You don't get a phone signal at the cottage but we didn't have any issues with this, as we used the wifi to communicate with the outside world.
My son was delighted with the animals on the farm. The Alpaca were just opposite our cottage and the two ponies were very friendly. The peacock is a character, showing off to the hens and climbing onto the pool veranda.
The farm just has everything you need for a break with children. It was such a gem of a find!
Flear farm is a very relaxing with beautiful surroundings. It was perfect for our stay in Devon and it has to be the best place we have been to in the UK. I would thoroughly recommend these cottages and look forward to staying again soon. Thank you so much for a lovely holiday. Sarah, Lee and Thomas xxx

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sarahpB9276DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnaby F, Owner at Flear Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Sarah, Lee and Thomas, it was a pleasure to have your family with us, and we'd love to see you again whenever you can get away. We put a huge amount into the estate and facilities here - our aim is to give families the kind of holiday we would want with our children, so thank you for you warm words. Barney, Camilla and Bridget x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the 1843 cottage, it was really lovely, the beds were comfy, the bathroom was great with good sized bath and heated towel rail, the kitchen had everything we needed. The delicious cream tea waiting for us on arrival was greatly appreciated. The play barn was brilliant for our 3 year old, the swimming pool was fantastic, we were very lucky to have it to ourselves most visits. The grounds were beautiful with a stream for paddling, bluebell woods and very friendly ponies, as well as tennis courts, and pitch and putt. The honesty shop, dvd collection and borrowable beach gear all made our stay so much easier. The farm is nestled in the beautiful south hams countryside down some very narrow lanes, it all made it feel even more magical. There were so many amazing places to visit nearby we had lots of adventures, but it was also great just to relax on the farm. We had such a great time we’re already dreaming of our next visit.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cd76London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

The first time I have stayed here, I have live abroad and a good ole trip to Blighty to see my family and friends as we stayed here. My children loved it, exploring the surrounding and taking the coastal walks. Myself and my husband couldn't have been happier, the staff are super friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I will deffinatly be returning .... Thank you so much for making our stay enjoyable

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

I've just returned from a sunny week at Flear. This was our second visit, with our now 3.5 year old and this time we invited the grandparents. We tried some new beaches and restaurants this year (all mentioned in the cottage's welcome book). We stayed in the stalls. It was great as we stayed at the top of the cottage with the preschooler. There was a shower room. The grandparents had the bottom floor and bathroom. We were so lucky with the gorgeous sunny weather. The best thing for me was the peace and quiet. I'll miss the sounds of the birds in the morning and animals. Barney and Camilla are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. And they have put so much hard work into Flear. We've all come back happy and relaxed from out wonderful holiday.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ClaireBearKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews