We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guanabo is lucky to have this restaurant!”
Review of Maeda

Maeda
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Guanabo
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are traditional and international food restaurant. It is opened since 27 october 1995. We offer to costumers the most fresh dishes of sea you have ever seen. Actually in this place, we rent rooms too. The price for each room with bathroom is 25 c.u.c. The clients have the possibility to breakfast and dinner included.
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were so happy when we found this lovely place. It wasn't easy to find but with the help of some locals we arrived! From the moment we arrived we knew we had found something special - the owner is very proud of his restaurant. It shows in the decor, food and service. We will certainly return next year.

Date of visit: March 2014
1  Thank Duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have eaten there for a number of years and always look forward to return visits. This year was no exception. The exterior of the restaurant is a magical tropical garden with hanging floral vines, coco palms and every kind of tropical plant you can imagine. The food is excellent, letting you choose from chicken, beef, pork, lamb, and all seafood...very professional, good service and worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2014
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Usually being independent travellers it was a shock to the system to find ourselves at an all-inclusive hotel so we decided to plan our escape. We walked from the hotel to Guanabo partially along the road and then along the beach (after wading across a shallow creek) in all about 2.5 miles.

Having done my research before going to Cuba I knew there was a recommended Paladar called Al Maeda at the intersection of Av 476 and Calle Quebec . It was easy to find as all roads have a pyramid shape stone at the corner with the street numbers on so, having found Av 476, it was straight up the hill until the paladar was visible at the intersection.

We stepped into the beautiful, small, cool, vine shaded garden about noon to be greeted in very good English by Jose (who speaks about 4 languages). We ordered pasta with a glass of red and white wine and all was delicious. In our chat with Jose we learnt that Al Maeda had recently gained a licence to rent out rooms too (a casa particulare). Our escape was complete!

The owner, called Miguel or Maeda (who spoke very good English plus other languages) showed us around a ground floor suite which had a bedroom, an adjoining room with shower, toilet and basin and a further cool tiled room with a TV. The deal was 30CUC a night and this included breakfast and 20% off any meals. Although the room was enclosed at the back of the house we were told that we had free run of the garden where clients dined. We immediately paid for 2 nights, took a taxi back to our hotel (5 CUC) and got enough chattels for the next couple of days.

The 2 evening meals we ate there were well presented and flavourful, particularly the fish special.

The first night the house dog in the yard kept us awake but when we mentioned this in the morning the dog was removed the following night. The breakfast was delicious with juice, coffee (with hot milk for me) eggs, veg croquettes, toast or warm rolls and butter, meat and a slice of sweet pie. We met Miguel’s family – his wife designed the garden and made all the mosaics – and were able to improve our knowledge of the real, rather than tourist, Cuba.

[We did walk back along the beach each day to enjoy the free water sports at the Hotel and sit on our balcony].

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Fantastic food - the steak and paella are both very good dishes indeed as is the seafood plate. The terrace is so pretty and peaceful as you sit under a canopy of flowers with a water feature trickling away. The waiter/owner of the palader speaks very good english and is very proud of it and rightfully so - it is on Avenida Quebec which is a few streets back from the main strip in Guanabo so don't be afraid to much off around the neighbourhood to find it, it's a little tricky but the locals are nice and happily pointed us in the right direction.

Date of visit: February 2013
3  Thank Jools1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This restaurant is a a true find. We first came accross it while researching our trip to Cuba in April 2011. We decided to rent a casa particular in Guanabo, at Nancy Pujol. My husband is a map maniac and explored everything possible in the town, which is not an easy task since information is not easily available. He came accross Quebec Street (We are from Quebec) and we found that there was a restaurant (paladar) there. We promised each other we would definetly have to visit this street and if we liked the area, we would drop in at Maeda to eat.
What a find...tucked into a lazy residential street is this little oasis called Maeda. It's a bit of a walk from the main street in Guanabo and there are no signs to indicate the way. Map in hand we arrived at Quebec Street and were taken aback at this oasis of green amongst the heat of Cuba. Knock at the door and you are greeted into an inner garden, invited to choose a table. Detail of decor abound, from mosaic to fountain to vine, to rusty-green metal work. And the surprising thing of this visual gourmet is that it all looks like it just happened without any sort of plan. Fine jazz playing in the background intertwined with the trickling of the fountain. We are in Cuba, pinch me.
We were so impressed and imbued by the atmosphere and so much into our little space that we were actually surprised when a waitress discretly came to our table and offered us a menu. Ok, I guess we should eat.
We ate fish of course. I have seen the fisherman dive for their catch near our casa. How can one go wrong? It was delicious, with a salad, rice, a bottle of wine, and atmosphere. I was surprised at the bill $18.00 for two. We returned a second time and were just as amazed.

Date of visit: April 2011
2  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maeda also viewed

Guanabo, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Guanabo, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Guanabo, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Guanabo, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Guanabo, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Maeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing