We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I really would recommend this venue. The Glasshouse restaurant was lovely, food great and excellent wine (booking is essential). A great lunch, followed by a lovely afternoon of pampering (fantastic massage) and then pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.
Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable bed and spotless bathroom. Decor in bathroom a little dated, but this sort of added to the charm. Room wasn't large, but had everything you needed for a comfortable nights stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickwoods, Owner at Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you providing such a complimentary review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of looking after you in the near future.

Kind Regards Lee Goossens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wickwoods for Emily and Adams Wedding Saturday 12th July - a magical day, a magical venue.
They provided the afternoon 3 course hot meal reception for 90 and an evening reception for over 140. From the drinks reception on arrival through to the Sunday morning breakfast, the service was perfect - timely delivery, courteous and helpful.
We took on all the hotel rooms which were all clean, tidy and well maintained.
The highlight of the venue is the food and the gardens - such a great backdrop for the photos and plenty of garden furniture for all.
Special thanks to Wendy for all the organising and Brittney for delivering the afternoon reception so well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickwoods, Owner at Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for providing a review, we felt privileged to have been selected as the venue to host Emily and Adam’s wedding. The entire team are delighted your felt the day went well and I will make sure I thank both Wendy and Britney for the effort they particularly made.

Kind Regards Lee Goossens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Being members of this club for number of years, my partner and I visited a recently build Glass House restaurant last Friday and we weren't disappointed. The atmosphere and experience were lovely in many ways. We both chose food from a set menu and we were presented with very delicious looking and tasting meals. The portions were generous but still elegant looking and no compromise was made on good quality ingredients. Staff was very attentive and polite providing high quality service. It was also a great vale for money with overall bill being under £50 including 4 drinks. We attend the club regularly as members, but definitely will visit the restaurant more often.

Room Tip: Come early on a warm evening and have some drinks on stylish patio with a very unique patio heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickwoods, Owner at Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are delighted you are enjoying The Glass House and really appreciated you having shared this positive experience via Trip advisor. We will continue to work hard to develop our service standards and should we ever happen to fall short of your expectations please do let us know. Incidentally The Glass House does have its own review page should you wish to share future reviews on that aspect of Wickwoods. Thank you for your valued support and custom.

Lee Goossens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had never been to wickwoods before and before we got engaged I knew I wanted to have my reception there.

We looked at venues jan 2013 and straight away knew wickwoods was the place for us. Gemma was amazing and really
Accommodating everything we wanted we could have and she couldn't have done more for us

We got married on the 24th may 2014 and everything went to Plan the staff were amazing and everytime I was walking around they were asking can they so anything for Made me feel like a princess

The food was lovely and the rooms And grounds are beautiful a perfect setting for those pictures even on a muddy day.

The rooms are lovely and the fact there is security there makes you feel very secure

I would recommend wickwoods to any one looking to get married in the future amazing

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickwoods, Owner at Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for providing a review on your experience, we always feel very privileged to be chosen to host a wedding and take our responsibility to ensure we provide the bridal party you with the best possible experience. As an additional thank you we would like to invite you back for a complimentary meal on your anniversary in 2016.

Lee Goossens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked our post-wedding celebration at Wickwoods last Spring, and it was held on 23rd May 2014. Every step of the way we received outstanding service. Wendy and Vanessa answered all of the questions in my very long emails quickly and were happy to help every time. We met with Gemma for our first visit, who was lovely and very helpful. Vanessa was brilliant at our second visit, giving us all the information we needed and suggestions on how to make our evening special. We went away knowing exactly what would happen, and timeframes for our wedding planning. We met with Wendy twice shortly before the event, and what a lovely lady she is. Nothing was too much trouble. Wendy was always on the end of the phone or email sorting all of the final details. Communication at Wickwoods is superb!

What I must say is how flexible and understanding everyone was. We had a budget and this was always considered, we were even given suggestions of how to get the best value for money. We were able to have our own Pick n Mix stand, our own DJ and have an area for a photo booth. Some venues that we looked at had very fixed (and high) prices, and Wickwoods was a breath of fresh air. We went about £6 over budget, which isn't bad!

The quality of everything at Wickwoods is incredible. Every area of the venue is beautifully decorated and warm, modern and elegant. We had three areas for our reception, the gorgeous main room with fixed dancefloor and large mirrors, the stunning glass house with chandeliers, and the amazing terrace and grounds. We stayed in the Bridal suite, which was a spacious, light, clean room, with double doors onto the private balcony (with view of the gorgeous grounds and tennis courts!) The bed was comfy and the dressing gowns provided were a lovely touch.

Throughout our stay at Wickwoods we were greeted with a smile and excellent service,the ladies on reception were very helpful and smiley, as were all of the bar, restaurant and event staff. The timings of the evening were flexible to us, so even though we received a detailed plan prior to the event we were able to push the first dance to a later time. The buffet was delicious and plentiful, and the cake was served quickly and beautifully.

For anyone looking for a wedding venue, spa break or a lovely health club to join, this is a wonderful place to visit. Thank you so much to everyone at Wickwoods for making our stay so special and being so kind and considerate in everything you did. It was lovely to meet the owner the next morning, who made sure we were happy with everything and told us it was an honour to host our celebration.

Fab, what more can I say!?

Room Tip: The bridal suite is worth the extra cost - the balcony is lovely and the room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJosieWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickwoods, Owner at Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for provide such a complimentary review, it was our privilege to have been chose to celebrate your wedding and I know the entire team will be delighted that you felt the event was such a success. As a thank you we would like to invite you back for a meal for two in the glass house to celebrate your anniversary.

Lee Goossens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A mid week stay found us at Wickwoods Country Club,from start to finish it was a total pleasure. Our room overlooked the garden, spotlessly clean and generously sized.
As a past member I couldn't believe the transformation of this little gem!! Congratulations Lee you have excelled with your mission to conquer your project.
I now am looking to re join after this fabulous experience. Thank you to all. Jane and Marc,Dubai

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank J i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickwoods, Owner at Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Jane thank you so much for having provided this review, it was lovely to see you again and I’m delighted you are considering re-joining. We have tried hard to maintain the unique and special quality that lies at the heart of Wickwoods. As thank you for providing such a lovely review if you do decide re-join I would like to offer you and Marc a chance to dine in The Glass House with our compliments.

Best regards Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

As a member of Wickwoods for over 25 years it's my pleasure to write a review. I feel extremely fortunate to spend several days a week enjoying my leisure time with so many friends. The facilities the club now has to offer are exceptional, a top spec gym, stunning spa, pool and the tennis courts are set in glorious gardens. This past weekend I stayed overnight in one of their beautiful rooms after attending the 'Faulty Towers Experience' dinner, we laughed all night long. The food was fantastic and as always, the staff couldn't do enough to make it a great evening. I had a lovely breakfast on the terrace with the sun streaming, I felt like I was on holiday. So back to the gym tomorrow then!! Evie Cullip

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens are my favourites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eviecullip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickwoods, Owner at Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Evie thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review with regarding your experience of the club, your ongoing support is greatly appreciated by the entire team and hope we continue to meet with your expectations. If we ever happen to fall short please do let me know. Best Regards Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albourne
14.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.8 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,655 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
22.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
24.2 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa

Address: Shaves Wood Lane, Albourne BN6 9DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Albourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albourne
Hotel Class:3 star — Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa is set amongst 22 acres of glorious landscaped gardens and woodland within the South Downs National Park. Our bedrooms are individually designed with their own character. Facilities are en-suite and include TV, tea & coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers and trouser press. All bedrooms have a double bed - available for single or double occupancy. Our Premier Room offers a sleigh bed with a balcony overlooking our beautiful gardens. Check In 2.30pm* until 9.30pm Monday- Saturday, 2.30pm*-7.30pm on Sundays. Check Out By 11.00am. Wickwoods is Wickwoods is predominately adult orientated club and hotel. We also offer a fully-equipped gym, exercise studio and 6 flood-lit tennis courts and indoor courts. *Check-in times for December reservations may vary. Please contact the hotel directly to confirm check-in time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wickwoods Country Club Hotel Albourne
Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel And Spa
Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa Albourne, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing