We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenesk Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Montrose)
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Links Hotel(Montrose)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Arms Hotel(Kirriemuir)
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burnett Arms Hotel(Banchory)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banchory Lodge(Banchory)
US$169
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tor-na-Coille(Banchory)(Great Value!)
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Clova Hotel(Milton of Clova)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
458
121
21
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
121
21
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseswimming poolleisure facilitieshot tubfour poster bedexecutive roomfirst classdining roomsteam roomfantastic hotelwell stocked baran overnight staycountry house hotelwater pressureopen firedinner menusmall gym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We've used the Glenesk as a base for our annual golf outing for about 8 years or so. It always 'fitted the bill' - the location alone is second to none for local golf. However, it has to be emphasised that over the last few years ( under new ownership/management) there has been significant investment & improvement across all the facilities - and the 'step change' since last year was very noticeable. Now I've stayed in many very good hotels but been made to feel like a number; the friendly service ( nothing seems to be a problem!) is on a par with the quality with which the service is accompanied. No hesitation in recommending this venue!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Morag, We were very happy to welcome you back once again for your golfing trip, and are glad that the changes made to the hotel did not disappoint! A lot of work has gone on since and we are now finishing the final phases of this, and always feel rejuvenated when a guest comments on how wonderful the place is looking! Here at The Glenesk Hotel we are determined that no guest will become a number, and are pleased to read that service and quality are highly thought of by yourself. Thank you once again and we are looking forward to seeing you in forthcoming season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here recently with 9 other guys for a golfing weekend. The hotel was an excellent base and provided very comfortable & clean en suite accommodation. The hotel seems to have undergone refurbishment, all rooms & public areas were very fresh & tastefully decorated. There is also a swimming pool with jacuzzi & a small fitness gym.

The breakfast & dinner menu's were extensive & the food served was of a very good standard. I thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short stay.Full marks to Dillon & his staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

The Edzell golf club is literally on the doorstep & is superb. Brechin & Forfar golf clubs are in easy
reach & are also recommended.

Room Tip: My twin room (no.2) was small but adequate for a 2 night stay. I understand larger rooms are available on request
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandydunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Sandy, Thank you for staying with us, we were pleased to cater for you and your golfing group during the weekend, and we are delighted that everyone enjoyed their stay and our facilities. We hope that golfing packages we offer in the season 2015 will also be attractive for your group. Thank you for recommending our hotel for golfing breaks, we simply surrounded by best courses in Scotland, so you can try a few and even visit Open at St Andrews and Carnoustie, all within easy reach and, of course, we can guarantee special deals with adjoining Edzell Club. We look forward to welcoming you and your party back in the hotel this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on 30.06.2014. Travelled with my brother in law and nephew for a game of golf at the local course. Was very impressed that that the staff had remembered my brother in law from the same time last year, when they welcomed him back by name. This is my first time at the Glenesk and I was made very welcome. We had dinner, bed & breakfast at the hotel and the food was lovely. Just before we went in for dinner, we asked the hotel manager Mark, if there was any chance of getting the Big Fight on the TV between Froch & Groves. Well within 30 minutes and to the delight of everybody in the restaurant, it was on. Mark had contacted the owner, who had contact Sky without hesitation, and made it so. Needless to say there was a good crowd of guys that just stayed in the hotel all night, and like me, spent all their money here. So from me & the family, many thanks to the owner, Mark and Staff for having a great stay. You will definitely see us again next,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackie7440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest, Firstly, can I say that it was our pleasure to have your brother back and you staying for the first time. Here at the Glenesk Hotel we strive to provide quality service, and aiding you in getting the Big Fight was just another way of saying thank you for staying. Mark’s attention to the guests’ requirements is noticed and appreciated by everyone staying or working here, and yet again he came up with the goods - we only hope the Big Fight was up to scratch as well (I am assured that it was!). Thank you very much for your review, and we hope to see you both again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel very clean. Great breakfast and excellent dinner menu. Private entrance from hotel to golf course. Very friendly staff and I would stay here again.

If your playing golf at Edzell I would recommend an iron off the first tee for safety, then a pitch to the green for a chance of a birdie.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the golf course.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Tommy, Thank you for your review (and golf tip - I will be sure to pass on your advice to future guests!). We are pleased to read that everything was up to scratch during your stay, and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this hotel for a special treat and were pleased that it could accommodate our ancient Jack Russell.

Our superior room was large with a decent sofa. The bed was both enormous and comfortable. The curtains were not very efficient at keeping out light which meant that we awoke quite early. We ate out for dinner but had an excellent breakfast.

The staff were very friendly. We met the “new” owners/managers who are clearly spending a great deal of time, money and effort into upgrading what was by all accounts a rather tired hotel. It is a lovely old building with all the benefits and disadvantages that brings. For instance there is no lift and fire regulations require some rather unfortunate doors to break up a lovely old staircase. Our bathroom had a separate shower but the water pressure was very low. I understand that this is a known problem that is due to be rectified. An amazing range of toiletries were left out including a neat little shaving kit.

This hotel is clearly popular for weddings. After an awful experience in another wedding venue I am not sure I would want to stay here if there was a wedding on.

The village is beautiful and there are wonderful walks in the nearby Angus Glens. If coming south from Aberdeen don’t follow the Satnav. It is very close to the main Aberdeen Dundee road but we must have gone at least ten miles down an unnecessary B road.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Dear Niall, it is always appreciated when guests who are in the trade themselves find time to travel and share their experience, thank you for your words and understanding the age of the property and all that comes with it. We are glad you enjoyed the area and service we provide. Even after refurbishment we keep the hotel pet friendly and it would be our pleasure to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews