We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely night at the Glenesk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenesk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenesk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edzell
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely night at the Glenesk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked 2 rooms for an overnight stay at the Glenesk. My partner and I had a four poster room and his mother had an executive double with a fabulous roll-top bath. We were visiting Edzell as my partner's father was in hospital undergoing an operation. We arrived early at the Glenesk as we had been around Edzell for quite some time and wanted to check-in as soon as possible. We were welcomed by two polite ladies at reception and we explained our situation. They were very helpful and asked the chambermaid if she could possibly clean the rooms we had booked next, in order for them to be ready ASAP for us. This was most helpful. Our room was lovely over looking the town hall and the grounds, the bathroom was brand new and light. We had dinner at the Glenesk which was delicious, the gentleman who served us was very attentive and provided us with an excellent service. The gentleman behind the bar was equally as polite and helpful to us. Breakfast was really nice with a great selection of fruits, cereals, coffees and we enjoyed the lovely smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The only negative about this hotel was the shower pressure, however as you can see from previous reviews, this is an issue that is being dealt with at present. We enjoyed our stay and so did my partner's mother who has now retired from a career in the hotel business.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shica2k9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Dear Guest, All our staff are pleased to receive your lovely comments and we want to thank you for taking the time to publish your review. Every guest is very special to us and we are very glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your time here. We hope that the operation was a success and we would be delighted to welcome you all back simply for a relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    111
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
224
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Working in the oil and gas industry I have stayed in a few hotels in the area and this is by far the nicest. Myself and two colleagues stayed here in May and were struck by the attentive and friendly staff who made the whole time a pleasant one. The building retains many original features with the added facilities of a gym, sauna, pool and hot tub.
The place is immaculate, the food is second to none, the staff are amazing as they know how to make you feel at home and nothing is ever a problem, if you find yourself in need of accommodation in the Montrose area I strongly recommend trying The Glenesk Hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Dear Guest, We are so proud to receive good comments from an experienced business traveller such as yourself. Our reputation within oil and gas related companies is very important to us. We look forward to accommodate visitors of Aberdeen Oil Week in September 2015 and hope we do not disappoint ensuring a warm welcome and best attention to every guest’s need. We would like to thank you for your review and welcome you back with your colleagues or just for a relaxing stay with family or friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a well run hotel, the staff are very helpful and welcoming, the rooms are clean, modern and spacious, there is some decorating going on but the only reason you would know is because you see the occasional painter moving around.
The food is fresh , hot and served up speedily, I really cant fault this place, I will return when in the area again.
Well done guys!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Dear Guest, It is a great pleasure to read such good comments especially from an experienced traveller and very active member of trip advisor community. From every member of our staff we would like to thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillingstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay after a long days drive. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. I stayed after a busy day working in the area. Breakfast was excellent and nothing appears to be too much trouble for the busy staff. They are a credit to the hotel. Will stsy again when in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Dear Chris, Thank you from all our staff for rating us so high. We always do our best to make sure that customers are looked after very well, we know how important this can be for a business traveller to feel refreshed for the next busy day ahead of them, so when you are again in the area it will be our pleasure to accommodate you and provide you with the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel early on in the year on a business trip. When I planned to come back up to this area on business there was no doubt I would stop here again. Once again, the service was excellent, the food very good, the room extremely comfortable. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay whether on business or leisure as it is ideally located for Aberdeen.
Next time in the area, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Dear Mike, We are extremely happy when our customers become regular guests after a first visit and absolutely delighted when they return time after time and are not disappointed. As you rightly noticed from Aberdeen it is just 30 minutes nice strait drive and you can receive service, attention and atmosphere that you can never get in a conveyor of a big city. Thank you for you review, we really look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

me and my husband had a 4 night stay just wanted time away from work the hotel is lovely the staff are great the duty manager knows her job and does it well and she is really nice the food was fantastic great stay we will return the pool was good although jacuzzi wasn't on the first night it was up and running next night the grounds are lovely staff couldn't do enough for us

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindameik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Dear Linda, Thank you for your kind review, we are always pleased to receive praise especially relating to our staff. On the day of your arrival as every Sunday night after 6 pm our Jacuzzi was undergoing its weekly maintenance to ensure best water quality but we hope you enjoyed our swimming pool, sauna and gym that were all open in normal regime. We are delighted that you choose the Glenesk and look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The reception and waiting staff couldn't be more friendly at the Glenesk, and compensated for much of the other disappointments. We were advised that breakfast finished at 10.00 hrs on Saturdays; yet, when I arrived (with other guests) at 09.55 (having had a weekend lie-in) we were told the chef had decided breakfast was finished!
This is not a spot for those who like powerful showers in the morning - when the hot water eventually arrives on the top floor, the drizzle that emerges from the shower head barely washes off the shampoo.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gar-Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I really do not know if you are weird, sad, or just downright disrespectful! You were invited here as part of a sad but joyous occasion for the remembrance of who can only be described as a lovely chap listening to everyone. He and his daughter had a long standing connection to the Hotel, so for you to rate it how you have is a kick in the teeth to them. Sometimes it is back to basics with the word "manners", however sometimes one cannot put there was simply is not there. This is one of those situations were one would have been better keeping the opinions to themselves for the sake of others at this sensitive time.

I only found out this morning that it was you requesting a cheese platter at 10.30 pm when the Chefs were gone you were asking Cally "go on, its only cheese, can you go in the fridge and get me some it cannot be that hard". Our fridges are locked once the chefs leave, and no, it is not as simple as you think, the pickle is in one fridge, the crackers are locked away etc, this is called a system with rules.

So after careful review of CCTV in the restaurant and reception we have saved the 49 second clip, should any future guest want to see!

At 9.58.33 am you arrived in the dining room and adressed to a 15 year old junior waitress the strange question of “can I get breakfast” she said to you she would go find out. When she came back with the answer of “OF COURSE” you had gone. You marched to the reception showing your phone (the time) to Hayley, duty manager who was on the telephone at the time. She went into the breakfast room to find out what happened and she actually come out into the car park to look for you. To be passed by your partner ??????? who was eating in the dining room???? running after you.

There is NOT one guest has been refused breakfast in the last 2 and half years here.

With regards to water pressure you are quite correct we are trying to rectify this problem and within the next couple of months this issue will be closed. I and the Glenesk can only truly apologise for the lack of water pressure in your comments but nothing else.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edzell
24.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
5.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
9.7 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
21.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
21.3 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenesk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenesk Hotel

Property: Glenesk Hotel
Address: High Street, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TF, Scotland (Formerly The Glenesk Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edzell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenesk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes and think of a hotel that is set in some of Scotland's most spectacular countryside. A hotel that offers traditional four star luxury and that vital ingredient of owner attention. Picture a hotel that is only a short wedge away from a championship golf course, and is within a short drive of such courses as Carnoustie and St. Andrews. Visualise a hotel that offers shooting, fishing, hill walking breaks and golf packages to suit all standards and tastes. Imagine a hotel which boasts fine cuisine, from traditional Scottish breakfasts to a la carte dinners all expertly prepared by our award winning chef. Now, turn these pictures into reality by visiting the Glenesk Hotel in picturesque Edzell. A village famed for its success in Britain in Bloom and is a superb holiday base with a Historic Scottish Castle, folk museum and many tourist attractions. Our well equipped leisure club offers guests free use of the swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, steam room, fitness suite and snooker room. Combine this with the wide range of locally available outdoor pursuits and you'll realise why Glenesk Hotel is the perfect place to get away to it all. Catering for parties between 1 and 200, Glenesk Hotel prides itself on an outstanding reputation and is classed second to none on event and conference management. Whether you come for an overnight stay, a weekend or a two week holiday, you'll always be assured of a warm welcome and will soon see why guests who visit the hotel come back again and again. Numerous distilleries, to name just a few, Fettercairn and Glencadam offer tours to our guests. 4 star Visit Scotland Glenesk Hotel is ideal for shooting, fishing and hill walking breaks in spectacular countryside just 45 minutes drive from Aberdeen or Dundee airports. For convenience of our guests we offer transfer service to and from many destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenesk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenesk Hotel Edzell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing