We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of Glenesk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenesk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edzell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Glenesk this week for a two night break while walking in the area.We had a four poster room with a huge comfortable bed overlooking the front of the hotel,modern bathroom with bath,shower etc.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay,and could recommend it.The hotel has been refurbished,and all done very tastefully,retaining some features and changing others.We used the swimming pool and hot tub both days,an added bonus after walking in the hills!
When I phoned to book the very helpful receptionist suggested we could have a two course dinner for £15,and that was excellent value.We had dinner both nights in a beautiful dining room overlooking the garden.The food was delicious and well presented.
The staff in the hotel were all welcoming and helpful,especially in the bar and restaurant,where they knew who we were without asking-a sign of people who really know what they are doing.
We hope to return to Glenesk for a short break again,as it's a lovely hotel in a lovely area!
The next time we may try a room at the back of the hotel,as the only downside was the early morning sun streaming in the large windows,but then that wouldn't matter if it was dull!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back may be quieter,but I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Mary, Thank you for choosing the Glenesk hotel as your accommodation while visiting the area and giving us such good feedback. It is always appreciated when our guests comment on our renovations giving us confidence that we are going right direction by bringing modern comfort with original Victorian features and traditionality of the property remaining. We are so glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed the food and found our dinner, bed and breakfast package a good value. As the highlight, receiving praise regarding our team is something that we value immensely as every member of our staff is genuinely happy to make a customer feel special. The new season in the magnificent Angus Glens is approaching and we hope to see you both again very shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Me and my daughter decided to spend a few days in Scotland ,and decided on the glenesk hotel.
Upon our arrival we were welcomed by the friendliest staff ever.
They couldn't be more helpful and even helped with planning our stay showing us excellent places to visit.
The rooms were superb spotless and well equipped.
In the evening we had our meals in the hotel resteraunt and the food was exquisite,with plenty of choice and everything was cooked fresh.
One morning me and my daughter slept in past the deadline for the breakfast ,but no job is too small for this place,as they got the chef to stay behind and cook us a fresh breakfast.
Well done glenesk I will definatley be coming back to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Antony, It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your daughter staying with us. We are always glad to help with itinerary and give advice on where to go and what to do in the area. Perfectly located for enormous amount of activities and places to visit there are hundreds things to do all year round. Thank you for appreciating the special attention that we always give to every guest. We would be extremely happy to see you back and for any season we can plan a perfect break including activities and attractions of the area and of course our very good value packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Came here for a relaxing break with a friend & it was just that! The staff are all really friendly, great pool/sauna/Jacuzzi area & great games room. Our room was really good value and very spacious & clean. Only thing is though the food was a little expensive, but was well served & could not fault it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissE186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. For the new season we plan to expand our menu with more choice and price range, we definitely can promise the freshest produce as all we use to cook our meals is grown and caught as locally as it is physically possible. Come again for another enjoyable stay, we are always happy to welcome our customers back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked 2 rooms for an overnight stay at the Glenesk. My partner and I had a four poster room and his mother had an executive double with a fabulous roll-top bath. We were visiting Edzell as my partner's father was in hospital undergoing an operation. We arrived early at the Glenesk as we had been around Edzell for quite some time and wanted to check-in as soon as possible. We were welcomed by two polite ladies at reception and we explained our situation. They were very helpful and asked the chambermaid if she could possibly clean the rooms we had booked next, in order for them to be ready ASAP for us. This was most helpful. Our room was lovely over looking the town hall and the grounds, the bathroom was brand new and light. We had dinner at the Glenesk which was delicious, the gentleman who served us was very attentive and provided us with an excellent service. The gentleman behind the bar was equally as polite and helpful to us. Breakfast was really nice with a great selection of fruits, cereals, coffees and we enjoyed the lovely smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The only negative about this hotel was the shower pressure, however as you can see from previous reviews, this is an issue that is being dealt with at present. We enjoyed our stay and so did my partner's mother who has now retired from a career in the hotel business.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shica2k9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Guest, All our staff are pleased to receive your lovely comments and we want to thank you for taking the time to publish your review. Every guest is very special to us and we are very glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your time here. We hope that the operation was a success and we would be delighted to welcome you all back simply for a relaxing break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Working in the oil and gas industry I have stayed in a few hotels in the area and this is by far the nicest. Myself and two colleagues stayed here in May and were struck by the attentive and friendly staff who made the whole time a pleasant one. The building retains many original features with the added facilities of a gym, sauna, pool and hot tub.
The place is immaculate, the food is second to none, the staff are amazing as they know how to make you feel at home and nothing is ever a problem, if you find yourself in need of accommodation in the Montrose area I strongly recommend trying The Glenesk Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Guest, We are so proud to receive good comments from an experienced business traveller such as yourself. Our reputation within oil and gas related companies is very important to us. We look forward to accommodate visitors of Aberdeen Oil Week in September 2015 and hope we do not disappoint ensuring a warm welcome and best attention to every guest’s need. We would like to thank you for your review and welcome you back with your colleagues or just for a relaxing stay with family or friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a well run hotel, the staff are very helpful and welcoming, the rooms are clean, modern and spacious, there is some decorating going on but the only reason you would know is because you see the occasional painter moving around.
The food is fresh , hot and served up speedily, I really cant fault this place, I will return when in the area again.
Well done guys!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Guest, It is a great pleasure to read such good comments especially from an experienced traveller and very active member of trip advisor community. From every member of our staff we would like to thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great place to stay after a long days drive. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. I stayed after a busy day working in the area. Breakfast was excellent and nothing appears to be too much trouble for the busy staff. They are a credit to the hotel. Will stsy again when in the area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Chris, Thank you from all our staff for rating us so high. We always do our best to make sure that customers are looked after very well, we know how important this can be for a business traveller to feel refreshed for the next busy day ahead of them, so when you are again in the area it will be our pleasure to accommodate you and provide you with the best service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edzell
5.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
248 reviews
21.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
24.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
287 reviews
21.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
137 reviews
17.2 mi away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenesk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenesk Hotel

Address: High Street, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TF, Scotland (Formerly The Glenesk Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edzell
Price Range: £88 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenesk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes and think of a hotel that is set in some of Scotland's most spectacular countryside. A hotel that offers traditional four star luxury and that vital ingredient of owner attention. Picture a hotel that is only a short wedge away from a championship golf course, and is within a short drive of such courses as Carnoustie and St. Andrews. Visualise a hotel that offers shooting, fishing, hill walking breaks and golf packages to suit all standards and tastes. Imagine a hotel which boasts fine cuisine, from traditional Scottish breakfasts to a la carte dinners all expertly prepared by our award winning chef. Now, turn these pictures into reality by visiting the Glenesk Hotel in picturesque Edzell. A village famed for its success in Britain in Bloom and is a superb holiday base with a Historic Scottish Castle, folk museum and many tourist attractions. Our well equipped leisure club offers guests free use of the swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, steam room, fitness suite and snooker room. Combine this with the wide range of locally available outdoor pursuits and you'll realise why Glenesk Hotel is the perfect place to get away to it all. Catering for parties between 1 and 200, Glenesk Hotel prides itself on an outstanding reputation and is classed second to none on event and conference management. Whether you come for an overnight stay, a weekend or a two week holiday, you'll always be assured of a warm welcome and will soon see why guests who visit the hotel come back again and again. Numerous distilleries, to name just a few, Fettercairn and Glencadam offer tours to our guests. 4 star Visit Scotland Glenesk Hotel is ideal for shooting, fishing and hill walking breaks in spectacular countryside just 45 minutes drive from Aberdeen or Dundee airports. For convenience of our guests we offer transfer service to and from many destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenesk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenesk Hotel Edzell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing