We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent place to stay while exploring the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakbank

Large Kitchen / Dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Kitchen / Dining room
Lounge with gas fire and dual aspect windows Oakbank, Edzell
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Large Kitchen / Dining room
Lounge with gas fire and dual aspect windows
Oakbank, Edzell
Master bedroom with en-suite
Two identical twin bedrooms
Kitchen with all modern appliances
En-suite shower room with double sinks
Family Bathroom with underfloor heating
Hall
S[acious Dining room
Famous Angus Glens
Edzell Golf Club, 27 holes and driving range
Glen Lethnot, a walkers delight
North Esk River perfect for trout fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edzell, Brechin, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ian M
Nethy Bridge
1 review
“An excellent place to stay while exploring the local area.”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The three bedroomed spacious apartment is very comfortable and well appointed. It is a bright, sunny place to be with an extremely well appointed kitchen which is open plan with the dining room. There was great attention to detail in every room. It is in a handy position for all shops and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan kitchen and dining room.
Liked least: The off street parking was not always available but parking on the road was no problem.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2013
It is wonderful to hear you appreciated the layout of our apartment. When designing the space the aim is to make it as 'user friendly' as possible, but in the end it is our guests who are the best judge to whether the concept of our holiday accommodation actually works. So thank you for confirming that we are on the right tracks and we hope to welcome you back to Edzell in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macallan1...
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The type of holiday rental you won't want to leave.....”
Reviewed 20 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Don't be put off by this apartment's location above small shops. As soon as you enter the front door the property is much larger than you might think and you're never aware of the shops once inside. A modern renovation of an older property, this has been done carefully and with style. All the rooms are of good proportions and well presented. The kitchen and open plan dining room are very spacious and the kitchen, as with every room, is very well equipped, with more than enough crockery, cutlery and glasses etc. The bathrooms are stylish and spotlessly clean. Edzell is a small, friendly village and, within a few minutes walk, there are all the shops you might need, including an excellent bakery and a top notch butcher. This is the type of holiday rental that you'll not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Even in the middle of a village, the property was quiet and peaceful.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2012
Thank you for highlighting the delights of Edzell as a village. It is so rare these days to have a small village of 700 inhabitants with every possible amenity within walking distance. Hotels, golf course, tea-rooms, restaurants, garages, post-office, doctor, school, chemist, baker, butcher, hairdressers, bowling green, church; Edzell has it all and is still at the foot of the lovely Angus Glens!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bright and comfortable with lots of added perks”
Reviewed 19 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Oakbank this year, after a New Year gathering with friends. This time we came for 3 nights to join a wedding party Drumtochty castle and go walking. Oakbank is immaculate, modern, very good value and equipped to the hilt (we're thinking of staying again for a "Scottish food tasting" weekend - the kitchen would be perfect for cooking up a feast). From the complementary treat of local groceries through to the dishwasher, comfy beds and a varied DVDs and games collection, we felt taken care of.
The code entry system is convenient for late arrival times and avoids having to faff with keys.
And the local woods are brimming with chanterelle mushrooms...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large bright kitchen
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2012
We are absolutely delighted that you have already booked your third visit for later in 2012! Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsAgr
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Comfortable, spacious and clean”
Reviewed 25 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

I felt right at home at this truely lovely 2 story rental. Ideally located on the main street of the village, it is within walking distance to the Cafe, post office, hotels, and shops. A short driving distance away and your at the foot hills of the glens. Highly recommend the Oakbank if your looking for a warm, friendly, country atmosphere.
Nelson - Sacramento, CA

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2011
We are delighted that you appreciated the central village location and made full use of all the amenities within walking distance. There aren't many villages around any more that are so small, so friendly and have so many facilities on offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morag77
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 13 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We were immediately attracted to Oakbank when we saw the video on the website, but were prepared for some disappointment as is so often the case. However, it was everything it promised to be and more – clean, comfortable, spacious...tastefully decorated and furnished – in fact, great attention to detail all round, including the very thoughtful basket of local provisions waiting for us when we arrived.
The Edzell area is lovely and Oakbank is a wonderful haven to come back to after a busy day exploring. We will definitely visit again.
Very highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at "Oakbank - Comfort in the Glens" and that our video was perceived to be an accurate representation of our holiday rental property and the beautiful surrounding area. We aim to make our guests as comfortable as possible and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Edzell in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$129
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing