We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Mother's Day Lunch”
Review of The Tuck Inn

The Tuck Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Restaurants in Edzell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edzell, Angus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super Mother's Day Lunch”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a lovely lunch today in the Tuck Inn. We had very tasty roast beef with yorkshire pudding, boiled and roast tatties and a selection of beautifully cooked fresh veg and tender baked ham with peaches, tatties and veg. Freshly cooked to perfection. Fresh fruit salad and home made meringue to follow with coffee and mints to finish. Reasonably priced and generous helpings make this a favourite place to eat. Can highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boysgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila M, Owner at The Tuck Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Does as it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After going to try a local restaurant and not being able to get a table we were very hungry and decided to try here on a very wet and cold day. Although the restaurant was empty the atmosphere was welcoming and the food was very good value for money. Came away full and happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have lunch here three or four times a year, and the Tuck Inn never disappoints. It serves good, well-cooked food in generous portions, The restaurant is quite small and creates a cosy atmosphere. Staff are invariably cheerful and pleasant. There is always a specials board, but don't overlook the main menu with its good reliable dishes such as haddock, steak pie and the like. Others have mentioned that you get "real" tea, made from tea leaves. This adds a lovely touch to any meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank socratesDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovley food”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We eat at the tuck inn quite s lot u should try the breakfast such a superd platefull real yummy .also the ice cream is to die for.love it.and the home bakes to.super.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Tuck Inn, Edzell”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a nice meal in the Tuck Inn a few weeks ago with friends, we upgraded our meal to a High Tea and it was very nice, the place is a bit old fashioned but the food is good and the pancakes with the high tea are enormous. Yes we will return at a later date and will remember this time they do not have a licence but you can BYOB.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cammyp06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Tuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing