We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEST Bothy for many reasons!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edzell, Brechin, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SazAndGaz
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“BEST Bothy for many reasons!”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Rural location, cozy, fully equipped (you don't need anything apart from clothes and groceries & OS Maps and outdoor gear if you are wanting to venture out).
1). Comfy bed
2). Lovely log burner
3). Great shower and bath (if you're small, like me, you can have a little swim in the deep end!)
4). Outstanding host (Anna) and also game keepers are very helpful/knowledgable.
5). If you want fresh Hen eggs just ask (personally, i'd offer a donation towards feed but that's just me. Anna (from what I've learnt of her wouldn't take it, but no harm in offering)
6). VERY clean
7). Plenty of books and a great file for info (everything you need to know).
8). VERY romantic (well, it is for us, it was our second stay here and we got engaged here a few minutes after midnight on NYE/D) by the ancient monument to the left of the Bothy if you are stood inside the door. Like a mini Stone Henge! VERY special place for us.
9). ANY problems then speak to Anna (although we haven't experienced any problems).
10). No phone signal inside the Bothy (a good thing for us as away off comms is good for the soul/mind), however, you can get comms by the Green Cow (it's a plastic painted one and is to the right of the Bothy as you stand at the door (inside the door and look right).
11). Lovely local walks (along the River Glen - wear appropriate footwear/clothing) refer to file in Bothy, very informative.
12). First time we stayed we had milk, eggs, bread (i think) and tea coffee, sugar, salt, pepper, cooking oil, washing up liquid and handwash & toilet roll to keep you going until you pop to Spar (Edzell - 5 miles away ish) or Brechin (Co-Op) to get your own supplies.
13). You will NOT be disappointed
14). Supply of logs and kindling at rear. But to get a fire lit straight away there is a supply (plenty for 5-6 fires all day/night with vent shut) of logs inside (seasoned) for use straight away & kindling and newspaper.
15). There is so much to list i could go on but i won't. Only negative is that we don't own this property as a 2nd home!

I can guarantee you, if you want a break away from busy life, a romantic break, or lots of things to do/see then this is the place to stay! You will NOT be disappointed, not one bit, It is beautiful, Bothy, Scenery, Area, friendly people, home from home. If you can't cope going a few hours without comms (like minimum 3G) then all you have to do is drive just out of Edzell and your phone/tablet will start 'pinging' and you'd wish you didn't leave The Bothy as it is lovely to escape and be away from the everyday rat race/hamster wheel and be in an area where you can do as much or as little as you like. I went for the second option (apart from saying yes and having an amazing time!)

ENJOY!

Thanks Anna, see you again soon :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnslove2t...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love 'our' romantic rental second home!”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed here for a week (28/12/16 to 4/1/17), also stayed the year before. We love The Bothy and it will always be a special place for us. We got engaged here a few minutes after Big Ben hit 00:00hrs. My fiance propsed by the 'Mini Stone Henge' (the ancient monument to the left of the Bothy as you look out of the door), my fiance set everything up (lights, champagne, a bag with my ring in) & I had no clue. He decided that at 23:35hrs that the car needed some water putting in it! Hmmm ok, yes, thats normal on NYE at that time! So as i stuck my head round the door he was pouring water in the car (which it didn't need but he kept pouring until i got bored and went back inside in the warm). Anyway, after we had the countdown and welcomed in the New Year a few minutes later he said, "Right get your boots (hiking) on and coat and hat and head torch!" I thought and said, "Are you serious? No, you're going to throw me in the River or something!" However, i did. Not a good look, skinny jeans, stripey socks and hiking boots! As we walked out the door the monument was lit up, i said, "Honey that wasn't like that earlier, what's happened?!" Anyway, being a Commandos (wife to be) i thought, "Ok, i will do it, i probably ate too much and need a bit of exercise!" Thats when we got to the monument and he got down on one knee and asked me if i would marry him and of course, with NO hesitation I said a big fat "YES!" So we had a toast, i screamed in excitment and happiness (sorry to the majority of Scotland who probably heard me). Then it was back into The Bothy in front of the cozy wood burner and quite a fair bit of fizz got drank and i now need botox from smiling so much!
The hosts at The Bothy are lovely, if you need anything just ask and they are so helpful, same as the game keepers. They also dont intrude at all. It is a gorgeous, very well equipped, very clean, cozy, romantic, peaceful, stunning scenery and relaxing wee Bothy.
Also, you can get fresh eggs from the hens (just ask), you can't get a phone signal in the Bothy but a short walk to the green cow (not a real cow) its to the right of the Bothy, you'll get a signal there (unsure about all networks though). There is some lovely walks (dress appropriatley) - read the info file, really helpful if you aren't used to the outdoors but the weather can change in seconds and it would be awful to have an accident whilst out walking and potentially no phone signal! The file is also very informative for things to do and basically is an interesting read too.
Will we go back? 110%. Would we recommend it? Highly. It's a VERY special place to us and we will be back again soon.
Thank you for another lovely stay!
Sarah (soon to be Mrs) and Gary Brown x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissfully Secluded”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Bothy is set in beautiful surroundings and if you're looking to get away from it all then this is the place to go. The glen itself is remote and the bothy is blissfully secluded although easy enough to find. Great little log burner in the main room to keep the place warm although the heating as well as the kitchen & bathroom are very modern. Plenty of good walks to go on and even though there was a lot of snow this weekend we had no issues getting out and about. Only thing that may be a blessing or a curse is the lack of internet access through either wifi or your phone.

As long as you bring plenty of supplies with you, this is the perfect place to escape either on your own or as a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: Lack of internet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Bothy. It sounds like you had quite the peaceful relaxing break, with the property acting as a warm cosy retreat from the snow, especially after taking advantage of those local walks - wonderful! We certainly hope you make a return visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing