We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely English cottage setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Mountain Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely English cottage setting”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I loved that this place was run by the Pa- O tribal people. The gardens, the food, the environment, everything was excellent. Such nice people!
Dinner and breakfast were delicious! The rooms were lovely and bathrooms were quite spacious.
At night, the fireplace in my room was lit for warmth, which was lovely, because it was quite chilly in the Kalaw hills.

Room Tip: All rooms whew lovely. They made a fire in the bedrooms nightly, which was lovely, because it got q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    109
    41
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
165
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
296 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Charming old colonial house complete with fireplace. Gets chilly at night so fireplace is essential form of heating.
Located up the hill, a short wall from town, but not recommended after dark.
Buffet breakfast and lovely gardens to unwind before/ after a trek to Inle lake.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Only stayed one night at the Amara Mountain Resort. Wonderful Colonial hotel in lovely gardens. Had tea on the lawn. Cool in the evening so had an open fire lit in the bedroom. After a lovely dinner we sat in one of the lounges round the fire chatting with other guests. Rooms excellent. Comfortable bed and tea and coffee making facilities with nice biscuits and fruit dish. The towels on the bed were made into two elephants in centre of a heart shape with flower petals all round. Must have taken ages to do and was sad to take it apart.
Hotel made of lovely warm teak. A bit too far to go out to town in the evening but no need to as everything is there that you need.
Staff gathered in the morning to wave us off.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We arrived on Christmas eve afternoon and were met by the hotel manager (Sithu) who explained that the Resturant would be closed in the evening and the hotel would be staging a christmas eve dinner on one of the lawns and we were promptly invited to join in ($45 each) We hadn't any plans and would need something to do. There were 13 other guest and all had signed up for the festivities. We were shown to a delightful large room in the main colonial building on the ground floor. The room was decorated in a modern, traditional burmese style, dark wood everywhere and rich fabrics. The attached bathroom was large with a kwirky bath. The hotel is ideally suited for hiking, around and to Inle lake if that's your thing. We opted just to have a walk around locally after lunch at the restaurant, then relaxed in the grounds watching the staff arranging the garden for the evening. In the evening it was quite cold and it had started to get damp but fires were light in the garden and all the guests huddled round them. Sithu ensured that those who wanted the complimentary drinks were well supplied and the choice of food was extensive, good quality and cooked extremely well. The entertainment was OK, carols etc. and the festivities wound up about 10 ish as those with children went off to bed. Sithu then brought out a bottle of whiskey for the staff and entertainment and those that were left all gathered around a fire to chat. When we all decided to head off to bed the staff went to the rooms and lit the fires for everybody which made for a very pleasent end to a wonderful evening. We had a great nights sleep, bed was very comfortable and room was warm (the open fire helped). Breakfast was basic but adequate. We were very disappointed to leave this great charismatic hotel but Myanmar has many surprises.
The only downside to the whole experience was the $5 charge for Wifi, but it is optional?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merl1n2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed at this charming small resort for two nights to go trekking in the surrounding hills. The buildings are made of beautiful timber with cottage features such as picture box windows. Each accommodation building has a large communal sitting room with fireplaces, lounge furniture and lovely flower arrangements.These are all set in grounds with lovely cottage gardens and an evolving vegetable garden. A great spot to have a pot of tea English style on the lawn which we saw some guests doing.

Our room was spacious, with nice decor and a wonderful four poster bed swathed in netting which was turned down at night. The bathroom had white fluffy towels (the first we had seen in Myanmar) and boutique style toiletries. Fresh fruit and home baked biscuits was a nice touch each day.

We ate in both nights as the resort is a distance out of town along an unlit road. Orders need to be placed an hour in advance and staff were anxious to get this even before you had settled into your room each day which we found annoying. The food we ordered was delicious but we were still waiting another 20 minutes after turning up at the dining room. The fire had been lit in the dining room because it was cold but it started smoking and got progressively worse so that we ate our dessert outside in the cold. The staff response was to fling the doors open for awhile and let the cold air in, they had no clues about fixing the fire. This happened on both nights.

Breakfast was very ordinary. Its all cooked and served out at seven so its looks cold and unappealing not long after then. The selection is small as to be expected from a resort this size but the quality was not great. The cornflakes were star shaped - wasnt brave to try these.

We would have rated this higher if it hadnt been for the smoke filled dining room and the lack lustre breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Amara is located uphill in a very quiet area of Kalaw. We were here for 2 nights in November and stayed in the original building in a really large and beautiful room on the first floor with a comfortable bed and cosy chairs, nice decor and a huge fireplace. The room was a little dark but very cosy. We didn't need a fire lighting as we were warm enough (but it was offered to us), and there was sufficient tea & coffee for our needs. The bathroom was large but the bathtub (with an overhead shower) was a bit wierd. It had marble steps up to it at one end and was then difficult to get into. It was quite like a sarcophagus really - big and oblong and very high sided and made in dark grey marble tiles! There was a wool rug on the bathroom floor but we rolled it up and placed it on the floor out of the way beneath the window as it was dangerous to stand on - it slipped on the polished floor as soon as you stood on it and we didn't want to injure ourselves with a mishap (considering all the marble with sharp edges). We slept well with no real issues other than getting a little tangled up in the bed net in the dark.
The Amara is set in beautiful gardens and the staff take every care to ensure the flower beds are kept neat and tidy. Check in was a little slow and we had to carry our luggage across from the check-in area as the ground is gravelled so was difficult to wheel the cases. A young man carried them upstairs to our room.
Breakfast was a little disappointing regarding what was available and the breakfast room itself was cold -all the staff had jackets on. However, they were very pleasant young people.
There is a TV lounge in the check in building but it was flying with mosquitos - we shut the door quickly! Wifi was payable per day and there was no problem with signal strength.

Room Tip: Ask for the big upstairs room in the old building (if you wouldn't mind the sarcophagus!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polis, Cyprus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights.

It was very cold here at night and so had to light a fire in our room, the first basket of logs were supplied free of charge but extra logs were chargeable with no other form of heating.

The restaurant was very cold, both in the evening and in the morning. The food was very average.

When we went to pay our bill they were rude about the condition of our US Dollar bills and insulted us by saying that "they don't accept "dirty money"". We complained to the General Manager who tried to patch up the damage.

This could be a really nice hotel. Many staff try really hard but sadly the quality needs improving.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.5 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.4 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kalaw
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kalaw
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
0.2 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
0.0 mi away
360 Kalaw Hotel
360 Kalaw Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kalaw
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Property: Amara Mountain Resort
Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amara Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing