We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of, I know it's low season but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amara Mountain Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

For what you get it is expensive. No fridge for a cool drink, no TV, no aircon & no fan either..I went for a walk but no where to go....other than dogs running out barking at each other & me! Asked about dining & was told we needed to order "right now" & they would arrange to have it for us at 7pm. We did & the food was quite good but expensive. Breakfast was very good & we were the only diners so def low season!

Room Tip: Upstairs, spacious but no facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lollygobbleblissbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Well overpriced compared to all the other lodging we booked in Myanmar. At $120/night expectations may have been high. No fridges in the room which was disappointing and no A/C meant the windows had to remain open all night with packs of barking dogs maintaining a chorus all night and some clock tower chiming every half hour. There seemed to be no supervisor for the staff and service was sporadic. Friend and I were first shown to a romantic one bed room with towels posed as swans with their necks shaped liked a heart. We had requested two beds so were shown to another room in which the phone wasn't functioning and the water was evidently shut off. No one ever checked on us. Water pressure and temperature in the shower was sporadic at best. It is a charming setting but amenities were lacking. They told us the Internet cost $5 per day and the on site restaurant was ridiculously overpriced. All-in-all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I have only positive things to say about Amara.

I actually met the owner and hotel manager, two very friendly and knowledgeable German guys, while walking down the beach looking for surf spots (don't bother except possibly in Sept). We walked and talked and afterwards I sat and shared a few beers with my host and had a wide ranging and informative discussion about everything from the socio-political implications of authoritarianism to the specifics of how he came to own a piece of land is such a beautiful spot. And it is a beautiful spot.

Strictly speaking, and as others have said, this is not exactly a 100% Myanmar experience. It's a slice of European luxury with strong accents of Myanmar (not least the very kind and helpful staff). The place is flawlessly tasteful; luxury without excess. The only exception to this rule was when I heard them playing dance music around the pool as if this was some cheap Ibiza party hotel. It's not, and they shouldn't.

The food was really exceptional. This is the ONLY genuine fine dining in the region. The chef has my full respect, and I'm a food snob.

All in all, if you're looking for real peace and quiet in tasteful and luxurious environs, Amara Resort is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfing_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

this hotel was a pleasant surprise. We stayed at this place for one night but it is very charming. English style cottage in the middle of Myanmar was very nice! We did not expect that. The staff is nice too. We spent half of the day in the beautiful garden surrounded by flowers. The restaurant is ok but nothing special except they grow their own vegetable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed one night in this very pleasant hotel, which was esentially an old English house with some out buildings for some of the accommodation, the rest being in the house. The setting of the hotel was lovely but you couldn't go out from there without transport. We had an outbuilding room which was a good size and had an amazingly big and deep bath, which was great for relaxing in after a days trekking! We ate in the restaurant which was very good along with the service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksKeentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Lovely rooms and difficult to book as always full. Rooms located in two 'houses' and are very nice, 4 poster bed with mossie net. No AC but Kalaw is refreshingly cool after Mandalay or Bagan. Didn't eat dinner here as you have to order an 1hr beforehand - but breakfast was good.
Drinks on the lawn nice and some wildlife about.

Room Tip: makes little difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Two nights here. Least favoured by us of the five hotels in which we have stayed in Mandalay.
Charming buildings and gardens. Restaurant setting Ok. Very quiet in off season. For all cooked in butter which is somewhat anachronistic in 2013; wherever you are. Second night food was cooked in oil after we requested it; ditto eggs for breakfast.
Major demerit was the inflexibility of the management. My wife and I were on a meals included package throughout Myanmar. My wife is a Pure Vegetarian and every other hotel and restaurant had let us go off the a la carte (paying the extra if necessary) and avoid the dreaded 'Asian set meal'. Most hotels made extra profit at this as we only eat two courses and usually came in below what the hotel would bill the tour company. Here, however, they would not do this despite the best efforts of our, more than capable, tour guide. A nasty taste indeed.
Nota bene. No fridge in the bedrooms at this hotel. The drinks from the 'pop up' bar on the lawn in the afternoons were slightly cool at best!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.4 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kalaw
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.2 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
0.9 mi away
Thitaw Lay House B&B
Thitaw Lay House B&B
#1 of 14 in Kalaw
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw 06021, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range: £122 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amara Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. Step back in time when staying at the Amara Mountain Resort. A former British guest house, now an exclusive hotel with just eleven rooms with an open fireplace. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. Enjoy yet another aspect of Myanmar when visiting Kalaw! How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! (John Muir) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing