We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different to other hotels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amara Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amara Mountain Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Different to other hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We only stayed one night after a long drive from Heho. The journey to Kalow made the journey worthwhile. If trekking I would imagine this hotel would be a good base. The room, in an old colonial house was big with a four poster bed. The bathroom was well appointed. However there was no TV or refrigerator in the room. There is also no air conditioning but this is not a problem as it gets quite cold at night, in fact a thin duvet was needed. This was the only hotel in our tour of Myanmar that charged to use Wi-Fi, $5, it also gave a very bad exchange rate from dollars to kyats. The hotel only has a few rooms but did not seem busy, this meant that eating in the restaurant was a bit 'soulless' but as the hotel is a long way from the centre of town it was really the only option. Breakfast was not buffet style but was reasonable with some choice included.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    106
    41
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
163
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This was a great change from the normal .A real retreat, superb staff ,superb room ,superb food.the only reason it does not get 5star is I like a drink in the evening and apart from restaurant there is no place to get a drink and no mini bar in room but apart from that i could not fault it

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy stafford R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I am very conflicted about our stay at Amara. We were there one night.

Pros:
- absolutely beautiful rooms and grounds
- incredible food at their restaurant (and great ambience)
- wonderful service

Cons:
- we felt nickel and dimed for everything. they grossly overcharged us when booking a trek to inle. We paid way too much per day (compared to every other traveler we met who was doing the EXACT SAME thing) and they even included a bunch of add-ons that were also ridiculously overpriced (delivering our bags at the end of the trek, the boat on inle to our hotel). they also charged $5 for internet that did not work.
- they forgot to charge us for everything so they even called our guide during our trek asking for more money. it was hard to argue over the phone and we felt stuck.
- it was difficult to do anything in kalaw not through amara because they werent that close to the town, which made their prices feel a bit predatory.

overall, we had a good stay but left with a pretty bad taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

As others have mentioned, a lovely place and gardens and a nice breakfast and setting. This place is isolated from town, too far to walk, and hilly to ride if you stump up for the expensive bike hire. The real issue is the LOUD BARKING PACKS of DOGS virtually all night which ruins a peaceful nights sleep. What a shame something can't be done about it. With no fridge, no soundproofing between rooms and inconsiderate house guests talking loud, it spoilt our stay somewhat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zep66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

While the grounds, rooms and setting of the hotel were lovely, the absent staff and $120 a night price tag made my friend and I feel we had gotten a raw deal.

Compared to other hotels we stayed at outside Yangon, the quality of the rooms and service did not match up. We did not have an air conditioner, TV, or fridges in the room. It cooled down when we slept with the windows open but there were barking dogs outside. Our shower cycled between hot and cold water and drips and a downpour.

Chintzy red curtains cover the windows and the bed linens seem primarily made of polyester. The purple pillows did not match the overall design. All white would be much better.

Staff were extremely polite and competent but no one seemed to step up to ensure we were having a nice stay. We had to tell the kitchen we would have dinner in advance so they would open for us. Although the food was quite tasty and in a lovely setting, we ate equally tasty meals down the hill in Kalaw.

The hotel is truly lovely, however, and I imagine quite bustling with staff and guests in the high season. But I will not recommend it to friends unless they pay less than $75.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

For what you get it is expensive. No fridge for a cool drink, no TV, no aircon & no fan either..I went for a walk but no where to go....other than dogs running out barking at each other & me! Asked about dining & was told we needed to order "right now" & they would arrange to have it for us at 7pm. We did & the food was quite good but expensive. Breakfast was very good & we were the only diners so def low season!

Room Tip: Upstairs, spacious but no facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollygobbleblissbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Well overpriced compared to all the other lodging we booked in Myanmar. At $120/night expectations may have been high. No fridges in the room which was disappointing and no A/C meant the windows had to remain open all night with packs of barking dogs maintaining a chorus all night and some clock tower chiming every half hour. There seemed to be no supervisor for the staff and service was sporadic. Friend and I were first shown to a romantic one bed room with towels posed as swans with their necks shaped liked a heart. We had requested two beds so were shown to another room in which the phone wasn't functioning and the water was evidently shut off. No one ever checked on us. Water pressure and temperature in the shower was sporadic at best. It is a charming setting but amenities were lacking. They told us the Internet cost $5 per day and the on site restaurant was ridiculously overpriced. All-in-all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.5 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.4 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kalaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
0.5 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
1.0 mi away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Property: Amara Mountain Resort
Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amara Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing