We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Kalaw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kalaw
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great choice in Kalaw”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a lovely place to stay in Kalaw, about 15 minutes walk into town and set in a peaceful location amongst the trees. The reception building is over 100 years old and the rroms were built fairly recently. They are very spacious and are clad in wood from top to toe! The rooms are fairly simple but there is a fridge and although there are no safes valuables can be left in the safe at reception.

Three rooms are set around a small 'lounge' area with a fireplace, and wicker table and chairs; a nice place to relax with a beer.

The staff at the hotel are a delight, gentle, helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Kalaw is a great base for trekking in the hills and this hotel seems to be one of the best choices in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escinditburbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    78
    57
    15
    5
See reviews for
18
94
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa cruz california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Pine Hill Resort was very quaint and the staff attentive and lovely as described in previous posts. We would especially like to thank our hiking guide who also works as a fantastic cook at this resort. His name is Saw Myo Htay (Htay Htay). He speaks good English and gave us an 8 hour hike to the villages ( we took extra extra long because we needed time to photograph ...and to rest due to the heat). He cared for us and carried our heavy camera, taught us about the local flora and traditional medicine and agriculture. Htay engaged with the villagers on a personal level and then in the morning without expectation came to the market with me and helped me purchase..curry...tea...peanuts...avocados...and informing me of what I was seeing that I did not know. The Kalaw market is a revolving market that does not happen every day...we were lucky to be there on that day and lucky to have met Htay.
The hotel does seem to have single beds(did not see romantic queens and such) but enjoyed very much the warm hot water bottles which I found sweet. I would certainly stay there again especially because of Htay. He makes these banana's for dessert that are on fire.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utahlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
391 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

In February, you need heat in this part of Burma. This "resort" does not have any "resort" ammenities nor does it have any heat in the rooms. Thank god for the hot water bottle for your bed at night! The rooms are pretty basic and it feels like glorified camping.

The staff is terrific and very friendly. If Kalaw is on your itinerary, this place is worth considering but, I'd skip Kalaw and spend a few more days on Inle Lake.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

PHR is probably about the most "upscale" option in Kalaw. We paid about USD 45 inc breakfast. Quaint wooden "colonial" style, set on a hill outside of town. On this subject...hotel is a 15-20 min walk from the centre of the village (and there are no trishaws or taxis in Kalaw), but the walk is pleasant. The main disadvantage to this was when you arrive and leave and need to haul your bags!

We arrived at 3:30am after a long bumpy bus journey from Yangon. No choice but to walk (and find it!) there hauling our bags in the middle of the night, tired and disorientated! This was not nice at all. When we arrived, the hotel was dark and locked and no reception on duty. After banging and banging on the door we finally rousted somebody, who seemed very surprised to see us. I found this a bit surprising as that bus must arrive the same time every night, and we had a pre-paid booking.

All in all, hotel was nice and breakfast was good. Was probably the most expensive choice in town, but was not bad value. We'd still recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

After a bumpy bus ride from Bagan, this place was like Nivanna in Burma. A hillside retreat full of beautiful flowers, fresh mountain air and the most attebtive, beautiful woman that took care of the place. Great veranda for reading a book, and the Colonial all wood dining lodge served up amazing dishes. The room are all wood trimmed and each room has a balcony.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scotty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Pine Hill Resort was by far one of my favourite hotels in Myanmar. It's in a beautiful setting, a bit of a walk from the centre, but a lovely walk. The staff are just the most beautiful attentive staff I've experienced. The breakfast was great, and the little cottages were quite quaint.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BunnyTravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

It's difficult to pass on to others how wonderful this hotel is. The hotel is located atop a hill about 15 minutes on foot from the center of Kalaw. Kalaw itself is a very nice hill town with a special vibe and great food options.
Pine Hill Resort is managed by a group of women about whom we cannot say good enough. From the moment we stepped in, they went beyond their way to make our stay perfect. The rooms are located in wooden bungalows and have renovated bathrooms with all comforts. Extra blankets are available in case they are needed (night temeperatures dropped to just above 0°C during our stay).
At dinner we decided to stay in. The hotel restaurant is located in a nice wooden room with fireplace and offers a series of set menus that allow to sample a bit of everything (chinese, indian, shan, bamar cusines). The quality of food was great as was the price. The restaurant staff was of course wonderful, too.
We strongly recommend staying here when in Kalaw.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.3 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kalaw
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.8 mi away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kalaw
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
360 Kalaw Hotel
360 Kalaw Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kalaw
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw

Property: Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Address: 151 Oo Min Road, Kalaw 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw Hotel Kalaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing