We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay in this hotel in winter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
Beijing
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't stay in this hotel in winter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel is one of the better ones in Kalaw and the rooms are of good size. However there is no heating in the rooms, which means when temperature plummets to near zero at night during winter you will feel the cold, very much. The hotel does provide hot water bottles, but these are not nearly enough to warm the bed. Showering is a bit of agony due to cold. The food and service are ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    76
    57
    15
    5
See reviews for
17
92
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
520 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel is a typical British Hill station charmer. Its a short 5-10 minute walk to the city center. Its a quiet place with a beautiful garden with a good number of orchids. The rooms are large. They have portable heaters for the cold nights and hot water bottles for the bed. Friendly staff. They even managed to find us a trekking guide at short notice. Breakfast is included and its made to order. The eggs and toast were good. I love the hills and this place was just perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Nice place located in rural area. Long walk to town area, but you get to mingle with locals. Staff goes out of the way to make sure your comfortable. Portable heaters for cold nights, plus hot water bottles for bed. Breakfast is individually made for each person. Had dinner in room and was pleased to find it was excellent. Only problem was shower in bathroom. No mixing valve causes water to go from scalding to ice cold with the slightest adjustment. Take care when showering.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
371 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Each large room is 1/2 of a duplex cottage paneled in dark wood. The king sized bed was large but uncomfortably hard, reminding us of the rock hard beds in China. Since this is the same elevation as Denver, it gets cool at night and in the morning in January. Our Burmese guide dressed for snow and we found the low 60s to be pleasant. We used the heavy blankets provided but not the space heater. Rooms had small TVs but we did not use ours. Our bathroom was functional and large but Spartan. There was no Internet available on the property and no safe in the room. Breakfast was eggs to order served at the table with a mountain of toast instead of the usual buffet. The grounds were charming. We were traveling with Overseas Adventure Travel so we do not know what the room cost. some of our party found the place too primitive but we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed one night at Pine Hill Resort; a delightful three stars hotel made up of quirky colonial style bungalows that looked that it might be located in the Welsh Hills! The hotel seemed to be run by determined family of young Shan women who despite protest carried our heavy cases to our room. Pine Hill has a lovely landscaped site on the edge of town in the low hills, the afternoon we arrived it was dull and overcast, but the next morning we awoke to a spectacular blue sky: everything looked simply stunning. Our room which had two single beds with plenty of blankets provided (which are needed as at this altitude it gets slightly chilly at night) was a little basic; however despite this we had our best night's sleep in Burma; the room was very cosy and the beds extremely comfortable. We had one evening meal that was interesting, but perfectly adequate and good value. Similarly with breakfast: don’t expect five stars, but at the same time there was nothing to complain about. The staff were very straightforward in manner but at the same time charming and attentive. We briefly visited Kalaw - which is typically busy; and whilst the colonial hill town heritage is still apparent the main road and traffic mars the atmosphere a little. We left Kalaw the following morning for a memorable trip to Inle Lake, at the same time wishing we could have stayed in this fascinating area a little while longer.

Room Tip: Our room was classed as a "superior" - whatever that means . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandChris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a lovely place with comfortable rooms, a beautiful setting and friendly staff. It is a ten minute walk from town, but all the better for that. The surroundings and gardens are lovely.
The breakfast was great and the staff couldn't be more helpful.
The rooms are log cabin style inside, with comfortable beds, plenty of blankets (it gets cold at night in December / January) and clean and modern bathrooms. The even kindly provide a torch for guests.
Beautiful walks round Kalaw, and as far as I could see, the best place to stay in the area.
Don't forget warm clothes if you are there in the cooler months. Pyjamas are definitely in order...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

It is not an accredited 5* glamorous hotel resort as it provides only simple and basic amenities but the service they offer may well be worth 5* standard. The resort is located near the Shan mountains hence it is a good choice for a simple and comfortable stopover rest point before embarking on the trekking route in Kalaw towards Inle. We had two lovely meals at the hotel's own dining hall. The dinner was one of the best dining experience we havehad in Myanmar. The food was decently prepared and served with a touch of happiness by the friendly and happy staff. We actually heard them singing and laughing heartily while working in the kitchen. The breakfast was surprisingly hearty and heartwarming as the staff went an extra mile to prepare special orders for us. On the whole, Pine Hills offers pleasant and hospitable service at a reasonable price !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicted_2_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalaw
0.4 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
1.0 mi away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kalaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
24.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#11 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw

Property: Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Address: 151 Oo Min Road, Kalaw 11181 , Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JovagoAsia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw Hotel Kalaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing