We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thitaw II(Kalaw)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Railroad Hotel(Kalaw)(Great Value!)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
33
84
66
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
84
66
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated poolsmall balconydressing tablelarge woodtraditional colonial stylepretty locationroyal suitewet towelssingle bedextra blanketsvery nice hotelcouple of nightsthree roomsair conten minute walkelephant campsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The room was a bit damp, but it was rainy season. I used the anti-bedbug spray to be on the safe side. There was not a safe in the room, although boxes in the lobby. Although tea/coffee supplied there was not a kettle but a thermos flask, so one had to go to the main building for hot/boiling water. Laundry was cheap here.
It was about a mile walk to the nearby town, where there seemed to be a permanent market, from walking shoes to exotic fruits.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreySuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Pine Hill Resort has long been the top hotel in this small town popular with trekkers, but obviously feels the sudden pressure of competition. When we stayed here, there was a lot of construction and improvements going on (a/c in the rooms!) as two other high-end competitors have sprung up in the outskirts of town.

The lodge-like rooms are simple, with relatively large bathrooms and a funky shower. The beds were very hard. The staff is sweet and hard-working. The breakfast is mediocre. Though the hotel is an easy ten-minute walk out of town, the hotel provides a car service for 3,000 kyats ($3). But avoid having your laundry done here; it came back with a strong chemical smell.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geldolphMcLeanVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I was in Myanmar on a tour. I’m not quite sure why a tour goes to Kalaw. It seems more like a mountain town for locals who need a cool break during the hot weather.

Assuming you are looking for a rustic cabin to just enjoy doing nothing, the Pine Hill Resort is a good choice. There is a golf course near-by. The walk into town is about 20 minutes. Right now there is not much for tourists (beyond restaurants) but one can see that in years to come there will be cute shops and galleries.

My big complaint is that the cabin walls are thin. I was getting TV coming from rooms on both side of me.

Your breakfast choice consists of (1) coffee or tea and (2) how do you want your eggs cooked. Some of my travel mates were not feeling well (unrelated to Kalaw) and the kitchen was great in helping with soup, tea, etc.

I can report that the shower water at night was very hot.

The wifi was choices were spotty and non-existent.

In town we enjoyed dinner at the Seven Sisters restaurant.

I wish TA allowed for 1/2 votes because it is really a 3 1/2-star property. But this hotel will need some enhancements to keep up. I saw several new places underway that will probably offer superior choices so check around to see what is new in Kalaw.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We just spent one night here after leaving Bagan and heading out to Inle lake. It has a very pretty location, attractive landscaping and reminded us of locations in the rocky mountains in North America.It was cool at night and in the morning but our cabin was warm and we had appropriate clothing. Breakfast was good,ate our eve meal here and it was adequate but not special.the cabin was cosy and clean and there were chairs in front to sit and enjoy the view and the sunset.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraMay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is out of town but is in nice surroundings. It depends depends upon the weather. If it is cold outside, it is going to be cold in the rooms but they offer extra blankets and a small space heater to knock off the chill. We were there during late Jan and it got down into the 30's Fahrenheit which is a little above freezing. Getting out of bed in the mornings was a little tough and the restaurant likewise was not heated so a hot breakfast soon becomes cold. The days however were quite pleasant. While no heating or air conditioning the rooms are nice and roomy, clean and more than adequate. The staff was excellent.

Room Tip: These are attached cabins nicely placed so one is not necessarily better than another.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper1967vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews