We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view but little more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice view but little more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The spartan rooms were cold and uninviting. The bathroom was huge but out-of-date and was unable to be heated enough to take a shower which I did not do for the one night there.
The breakfast buffet was inadequate - the hot foods were cold as was the temp on the open veranda where it was served. Consequently, I settled for toast with butter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twincopagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    52
    53
    18
    3
See reviews for
17
60
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Cabins in a hill top area which requires a steep drive up. The rooms are very basic. Very cold at night and early morning. the only heating is a inefficient fan heater. The bathrooms desperately need updating. The breakfast was limited and being in an open veranda it was very uncomfortably cold. An unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FullTime_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalaw hotels

Yangon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have stayed 2 times in this hotel. Location is a bit far from city area about 20 min walk and it was on top of the hill therefore going up and down is not so convenient. However, the view from the hotel is deserved to check in. Very beautiful scenes and hotel itself is relaxing. Car or bike rental can be arranged easily through Hotel reception, $4 per trip for car, $2 per trip for bike and Tuk Tuk charged around $4.

My first stay was in October with family and the weather was not so cold, probably 20-25 degree but sleeping was fine as temperature decreased at night. Second stay was in February with my friend, the temperature at night is 2-3 degree and 8-15 degree at day time. Hotel supplied portable heater and extra blanket in winter. Bedding, bathroom facilities are average but it was acceptable for me as Kalaw is just a small city.

Hotel has a restaurant, clean, spacious, beautiful scenic and very charming staffs but only available for breakfast, lunch and dinner not all day service. Food is average and serve only local wine.

Overall, I have satisfied with Hill Top Resort for both of my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Fairly modest hotel but fine for one night..Kalaw has interesting Colonial buildings
Food was adequate and rooms were clean and tidy.However,it has stunning views over Kalaw and beautiful at Sunset.reasonably priced.

Room Tip: All seemed similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Since Kalaw is the quiet city which is a place to relax and sit back and enjoy the cold weather. Stayed there for 2 night at the family room which is huge with 2 storey building, fully constructed with timber which is amazing. Average facility and service and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonTI-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
251 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

In January, it is cold in them thar hills. And a tiny space heater without a fan is not enough to heat up a large cold room. Rustic, yes. Comfortable, not. Additionally, the bathroom is separate and unheated. The breakfast room is unheated and "hot" food served on the veranda is (surprise) cold. They advertise internet access in the lobby only, but that is only a claim. Never worked. Yes, the view is nice, but the steps to climb to get down (or up) to your room, make it a place worth skipping. Unfortunately, it may be the best in Kalaw at the moment.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs, ask for a room on the reception level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed one night during a tour of Myanmar. We had a chalet (114) at the front of the hotel with a great view over the valley below. The room was a good size and had mosquito nets on the windows and a coil to burn. However there was a huge gap under the door leading out on to the verandah, which we blocked up using the narrow bed-throws! It was quite cool at night, so the extra blankets were welcome. Toiletries provided and the bathroom was just adequate. The garden setting is delightful and it was very pleasant to sit outside and watch the sunset, but don't forget the mosquito spray and a plug with tablets as back-up. Dinner was good but wine is expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.5 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.5 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
0.7 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kalaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
360 Kalaw Hotel
360 Kalaw Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kalaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw

Property: Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Address: Ward 3, Bo gone Southern Shan State, Kalaw, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw Hotel Kalaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing