We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Pine Breeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pine Breeze Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Kalaw B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The reception speaks very well english and very warm hearted.
A hotel very clean and has a very good view. And they prepare oranges for you. The bathroom is very big. The breakfast is so so, nothing special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

The location at a small hill but not far to market (about 5 mins walking). The rooms are very clean and comfortable and there are have a nice town view from the top floor. The reception could speak well English and offer good service for any things. We take a night bus from Bagan and arrive at Kalaw at 02:00AM, they arrange a boy to pick us up and lead us to hotel that avoided us to lost direction at dark. We just booking one night but they give us early check-in when we arrive hotel, that was so great, but I think it dependent on the rooms are available situation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra_Shen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Comfortable rooms with hot water and views over town and hills . Very nice breakfast served in restaurant on top floor with all round views
Staff friendly and very helpful. Good value and enjoyed our stay

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AMD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were having a wonderful time in Myanmar, with the only down-side being the cold nights and, up until now, cold hotel rooms. At the Pine Breeze, on top of everything else - the fabulous staff (with great English) the plentiful breakfasts accompanied by amazing views, the comfortable bed and super bathroom - the room heaters kept us cosy!

So thank you Pine Breeze, you thoroughly deserve your excellent ratings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sunny side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We arrived on the overnight bus from Yangon at 3.30am and it was such a lovely surprise to be greeted by a smile at reception at that time in the morning! Even though we hadn't booked for that night, they quickly found us a room for free so that we could get some sleep after the long bus ride. This made such a difference and we immediately loved the place. The only downside was that this room was on the front of the building, facing onto the main road, which was freezing.

In the morning, we switched rooms to one on the other side which was so much better as it got the sun for most of the day which made it much, much warmer and brighter. This really matters in Kalaw where temperatures plummet at night. The room, bathroom and the hotel in general were spotless.

The breakfast was plentiful but not the tastiest that we've ever had but the view from the dining room made up for this. The hotel is up a hill, 5 minutes walk to the centre of town and and this means that you get great views over the mountains.

Pine Breeze was a great place to rest up before our 3 day trek to Inle Lake, with comfortable beds, good tv and a hot shower. We found it hard to get good recommendations on a trekking company to go with as it seems that every man and his dog will walk with you if you want although this means that guides can be pretty hit and miss. We went with A1 Trekking (near the Pagoda) as lots of people had told us good things about their guides. They're not the cheapest that we found but the extra money was worth it - our guide was called Sam Ghimire who spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable about the area, the plants and the tribes along the way but most importantly, was a good laugh! All meals and snacks were included and there was plenty of food so we were never hungry!

We would definitely recommend Pine Breeze for the clean rooms and friendly service. If you are confused about the plethora of trekking options, head down to A1 Trekking and they will help you out!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the building, on the opposite side to the main road as these get the sun f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Kakaw after a long bus ride and after a short walk up the hill we were greeted by the loveliest staff at Pine Breeze Hotel. Our room had a great balcony that overlooked the town, and we enjoyed a beer as the sun went dien from the top floor wrap-around balcony. Breakfast was plentiful in the sunlit room - toast, fruit, eggs, pancakes, tea and coffee. Couldn't recommend the hotel anymore. Such value for money and wonderful staff.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mad_act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in December 2013 and loved it. The rooms were great. The hotel has wonderful views, very helpful staff (with amazing english language skills!), convenient location, and more. This was one of our favorite places in Myanmar and the price was very reasonable. Our only regret was that we did not schedule more time to explore the Kalaw region (and stay more nights at the Pine Breeze!) We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kalaw
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
1 mi away
Thitaw Lay House B&B
Thitaw Lay House B&B
#1 of 14 in Kalaw
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kalaw
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
360 Kalaw Hotel
360 Kalaw Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kalaw
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Haven Hotel
Green Haven Hotel
#13 of 25 in Kalaw
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Breeze Hotel

Address: No.174 , 7Quarter,Thittaw Street, Kalaw,Shan State | Kalaw,Shan State,Myanmar, Kalaw, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaw
Price Range: £22 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Breeze Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Mountain Resort offer high standard hotel facilities, friendly services and good quality of foods with reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Pine Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing