We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MsVKrz
Brussels, Belgium

Green, lush, friendly & comfortable

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2017via mobile
We felt immediately welcome in this beautiful place. Very green and calm. It is worth to book 2 nights. The staff and owner are extremely friendly and make sure your stay is comfortable. Breakfast (pancakes & banana bread, welcome alternative to fried rice) is heavenly!
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£68
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £68
0.6 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£44
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.5 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£36
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£13
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free parking
Restaurant
£37
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    £37
0.9 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£167
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    £167
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free parking
Restaurant
£91
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £91
1.1 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£19
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.9 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£44
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
£46
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kalaw
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
200
18
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
200
18
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We originally booked to the stay for one night, but we enjoyed our stay so much, that we extended our stay to three nights. As others have commented, a real draw of Thitaw is the breakfast spread; homemade crepes, banana bread, bread, jams and yoghurt, washed down with good coffee and fresh fruit. The owner Marc, is very friendly and helpful, offering hiking suggestions with such detailed instructions that a day's hike is possible without the need of a guide. Thitaw is a charming B&B located about 2km from Kalaw centre, and is ideally situated to explore the town and the surrounding countryside and tribal villages. It is also a great base to start a 2-3 day hike to Inle lake. The rooms themselves are basic but clean and comfortable. There is also a laundry service available at an extremely reasonable rate. Our stay was as good as we had anticipated, having read other reviews on tripadvisor, don't delay, book today!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthewclarke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

everything is homemade at breakfast, absolutely friendly owner, very nice and familiar place, perfect banana bread, served warm fresh from the oven,
beautiful garden, cosy living room where you can stay in the evening, delivery service for local food

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FiktivF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Thitaw lay house is a delightful, quirky and charming B&B in Kalaw. The perfect place to stay if you are hiking from Kalaw to Inle lake. Our host could not have been more helpful and the breakfast was the best breakfast we have had in Myanmar.

Room tip: The rooms can be cold at night so make sure you have enough blankets.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gillymead51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We really enjoyed our short stay in this B&B located in Kalaw hills, great place to relax and enjoy nature. Marc, the owner, gave us a free upgrade! We booked thitaw two and we stayed at thitaw house which i really recommend. Thitaw house breakfast ( which is not the same as thitaw two) was amazing, the bread made there and the banada cake taste incredible, we even had crepes! definitely recommended!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 203martaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We booked two nights here after travelling from Bagan. We were met by the host, Mike, who is so accomodating, patient, and made us feel very special.
The breakfast is outstanding - better than that provided in some top hotels we stayed in whilst visiting Myanmar.
We were given excellent advice, assisted with taxis, bookings, and even delivered takeaway meals to save going into town. Nothing is too much of a problem, and we certainly loved our stay in these beautiful surroundings, very clean facilities, and most hospitable staff.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KayS822
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews