We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quaint, quiet, lovely, amenities basic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gilcrest Cottages and Motel
Certificate of Excellence
PA
1 review
“Clean, quaint, quiet, lovely, amenities basic.”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Motel rooms inexpensive and *very* clean--spotless. Has TV, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee-maker w/ cups and complimentary coffee. Be forewarned, though: motel provides only soap, towels, toilet paper and plastic cup in bathroom--no iron/ironing board, and no hair-dryer, facial tissue, shampoo/conditioner, or lotion. No internet connection and no radio or alarm clock.

The cottages are nestled in pine trees--very fragrant in the spring, and the Pemi River flows behind--gorgeous. The owners a very nice, very helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfesoraPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
70
108
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Wow! I reserved one of their cottages based on the website, so I wasn't sure of exactly what I'd get. I was pleasantly surprised. The place is sparkling, I would totally eat off their floor. It's really cute, they recently redid the interiors, so it had a great homey feeling. You can actually cook in the kitchenette!! They've stocked it with dishes, silverware, cooking utensils, decent pots and pans. We used it to make quick breakfasts and a salade nicoise one evening, and I had everything I needed. The location is great, right on the Pemi river and close to the highway. It was really quiet. There were TWO, count em, TWO fireplaces. The master bed had what my trained eye says is a really nice quilt on it. I would not be surprised to find out that the owner's grandma made it for her.

The last thing I want to say is a huge shout-out to the owners. They are so nice. They helped us with recommendations for places to eat and called for us to find out about kayaking on the river, and just were really great people overall and made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mass1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2009

I have been a guest at Gilcrest on more than one occasion. I have stayed at both the motel and the lovely two-bedroom winter cottage. There is no better place when you're up in the mountains. It is easily accessible from the highway, it is lovely to look at, the rooms are the tops in cleanliness and comfort. You will not find more pleasant hosts than Julie and Gary - they are my friends for life! If you like the simple nostalgia of old New England, with the upgrade of very comfortable beds and other "living necessities" of this day and age, you will have every reason to love Gilcrest. And I guarantee you, if you stay there once, you will seek it out again!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soleil545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn,CT
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Quiet/restful/convenient for easy access to scenic driving or on/off hwy Perfect for a romantic sneak away or family vacation swtchks33@earthlink.net

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassAMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
124 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

My wife and I were enjoying some late spring XC skiing at Waterville and in the National Forest. On the spur of the moment, we decided to stay an extra day. We called Gilcrest Cottages and Motel after viewing their brochure at the Campton Information Center. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Location: Thornton at exit 29, just west of I93, on the banks of the Pemigawasset River. Easy on / easy off. The property is reasonably close to both Waterville and Loon, with basic shopping and most restaurants a good drive south in Plymouth or north in Lincoln. One mile north of Campton, with river running and shuttle services available in spring and summer at Ski Fanatics.

Room: During the winter, only the Motel is open. The room was clean, small and well equipped, with a working fireplace, a view of the river from the rear window, a comfortable bed and easy chairs near the fireplace, microwave and fridge, and fine local photographs taken by the owner. No desk if you need to get work done. The simple bathroom was very clean, with a shower and decent towels. The heater worked quite well -- not a trivial point in the White Mountains in winter. The Cottages appeared to be a bit larger, probably a better bet for families in the summer. To economize and save time, one could skip eating out and use the microwave and fridge.

Service: The owners were cordial and informative, with excellent advice on restaurants, shopping and photography. We took their advice on dinner (Italian Farmhouse in Plymouth) and breakfast (Sugar Shack in Thornton) and enjoyed both meals. The owners keep costs down with some sensible economizing -- linen changes and towel changes are not every day.

Facilities: Swimming pool in season. I do not know if there is wireless via motel or through Verizon -- I left the laptop behind for onece.

Price and Booking: The winter rate for a motel room to be very reasonable. We booked by phoning [-]. There is also a good website at [-]

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton
14.4 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
602 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
91 reviews
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
4.7 mi away
Pine Valley Cabins
Pine Valley Cabins
#2 of 7 in Thornton
33 reviews
2.2 mi away
Valley Brook Cottages
Valley Brook Cottages
#3 of 7 in Thornton
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilcrest Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilcrest Cottages and Motel

Property: Gilcrest Cottages and Motel
Address: 2378 US Route 3, Thornton, NH 03285-6150
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Thornton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Thornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilcrest Cottages and Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nostalgic escape from everyday living, our "Storybook Cottages and Motel" are close to White Mountain attractions, skiing, and snowmobiling, Gilcrest offers one and two bedroom cottages, and a small eight unit motel often referred to as "connected cottages." Ambient Fireplaces, 2 kitchenettes units available, 1 full apartment available, all units have mini refrigerators, microwaves and coffeepots. Outdoor pool, horseshoes, corn hole, play area. River access right on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gilcrest Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing