We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like-home stay in White Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley Brook Cottages
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We took our two little kids to White Mountain for a short vacation this fall. As all hotels seemed full during the Labor Day weekend, we decided to try the cottaege so kids can experience a different way for vacation. It turned out the 2-night stay was wonderful and relaxing. The owner Don was very kind and friendly. The cottage was clean and cozy, and you got everything you need for cooking. The view from the porch was also spectacular in the morning. Kids loved swimming in the heated pool and playing balls on the lawn. The location is good as well. A short drive to Route 112 and all attractions around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drdanreis R, Owner at Valley Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

thank you for your review that was our goal make guest feel like they are at home it is your home for the days you spent here. I believe it was your 7/ year old son that said it like a home, That comment in the guest book makes my job all worth it. I use my own personal experiences from my travels and apply them as much as possible and it's a good feeling when you feel comfortable with your choice in lodging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our home away from home, everything we needed. Clean, cosy, and warm loved the view of the mountains. Went out everyday to check out the beautiful area. Highly recommended, thankyou Dan. :) Rob and Wendy Brisbane Queensland Australia

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyH883L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Having stayed at the Valley Brook Cottages extensively in the 1990s, we know the view and the surroundings. Under the new ownership of Dan Reis, the quaint, comfortable cottages have blossomed into a charming, cozy home away from home with full amenities. The view is still spectacular, the premises are neat and accommodating. Dan is responsive to all of your requests- friendly, helpful and fun. If you like privacy and the special touch of well-appointed rooms, it's all there. Stay once and you'll just want to come back as soon as you are able. Amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drdanreis R, Owner at Valley Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

thank your for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, it's great that you recognizes what we are about and the effort we put in the property. Hope to see both of you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a cabin and it was great. The owner Dan was superb. He couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating. He even asked if we needed any washing that needed doing. Talk about going the extra mile. The view we had of the mountaind changed as the sun moved across the sky and in the morning watching the mist slowly melt away was beautiful.
On Saturday evening Dan lit a fire so some of us just sat aroud with a beer and exchaged stories and enjoyed the stars.
Would I go back? Most definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drdanreis R, Owner at Valley Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

One of the reasons we purchased this property was for the view never the same view as you mentioned, according to the sun, clouds, colors, etc the mountains peeks take on different character. Like most guest I enjoy my morning coffee on the porch looking at the multiple mountain ranges, it a pleasure to share this special property with guest. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Cute, very unique and totally spotless cottages. Each one different style inside. Owner very friendly and helpful. Dog and kid friendly. Perfect view from our cabin#4 of the white mountains. Relaxing time, no issues, no problems. Just wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The cabins are very clean and cozy, the beds comfortable and it's quiet at night.There is plenty of room for the kids to run around, a couple of swings, a heated pool, a hot tub, and a tennis court.
The owner Dan makes you feel at home. The place has a laid back relax atmosphere, we met some wonderful people staying there, just having a big camp fire and roasted marshmallows at night.
It looks out of the way, but actually I 93 is literally 2 minutes from there, and it takes 10 minutes to be at the heart of Franconia notch with all the attractions in Lincoln and around.
If you need anything,- after all there is a fully equipped kitchen with microwave!- Hannaford super store is 10 minutes away from there, on exit 26, and Walmart 12 minutes away, same exit.
Unbeatable price for a real 2 bedroom stay. I forgot to mention free wifi and flat screen TV.
I highly recommend this place.
Check the reviews on booking.com, people go crazy for this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldineGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We decided to stay here because it was cheaper than any hotels in the mountain area. At first it's a little hard to find...our gps couldn't locate it, but the people who work there are very helpful. The cottage was small and cute. Kitchen, living room, bedroom, bathroom. So it was very easy to save money on food cause you can just eat breakfast there. The bed is so comfortable, the sheets are amazing! I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kk3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Valley Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Brook Cottages

Address: 2901 US Route 3, Thornton, NH 03285-6169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Thornton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Thornton
Price Range: £109 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly updated cabins, choose between either a one room, one bedroom or two bedroom cottages and cabin.Conveniently located from route 93 on exit 29, in the heart of the white mountains. Open year round with panoramic mountain views. The white mountains are peculiar and your stay should be too, why stay in a generic hotel room, when you can stay in newly renovated, but still rustic cabin with all the modern conveniences. Sit and enjoy your morning coffee on the porch, breathing in the crisp mountain air, overlooking the white mountains. During the day, soak up the sun in the heated pool. After a long hike, spend the evening under the stars in the jetted jacuzzi. Inside each Cabin you will find fully equipped kitchen/kitchenettes, full bathes, and plasma TVs. Each cabin has its own control over heat and air conditioning. At Valleybrook you will feel you are away from it all, yet you are close to all white mountain attractions including hiking, kayaking,canoing,rock climbing. We strive to maintain clean cabins with quality bedding and towels. Our goal is to satisfying our guests. Share your romantic getaway, or bring the kids, it will be a vacation you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Valley Brook Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing