We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food, worth the trip.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BARacuda

BARacuda
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Donsol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Pedro, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food, worth the trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

How do start? After a whole afternoon of trying to search for whale sharks which was a total failure we were dissapointed and decided to stroll around the place and look for a seafood resto before we head back to our hotel in Legazpi we chance upon a signage along the street.

We were first hesitant to enter, the place looks deserted still we walked in and we were greeted by huge dogs, cats and the owner.

Place was not really okay at first glance but we decided to have our late lunch there because we were starving. We tried the Shrimps, squid salad, and pesto. I could say this is the best meal i've had since forever. The owner knows what shes doing.

Owner is a little feisty as she was arguing with some of the tourist who fed her pet cat with leftovers hahaha. The owner was nice to us, sat down and chatted with us. If you can read this We were not lying, you cooked the best common dishes found in the metro and made it taste so awesome that me and my girlfriend was talking about it for hours.

Will definitely come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TulogBoyExtraRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    35
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“My best seafood experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is one of the "do not miss" in Donsol. It is a small restaurant with a bar and accommodation on the beach. The place is run by a really friendly Philippine lady and the food is mainly seafood but there is also vegetarian alternatives. The food is a combination between western and Philippine cousin and is made with only freshly catched fish and locally grown vegetables. It is the most expensive restaurants in Donsol but the food and the atmosphere is definitely worth it. A meal is around 400 PhP to 800 PhP and more with if you want cocktail and starters. Even though I'm one a tight budget i ended up eating lunch and dinner there for three days. I can really recommend the prawns with pasta and red sauce, freshly grilled sweetlips and the tuna sashimi they were one of my best seafood experiences anywhere. Even if you are on a tight budget, go there at least once, I can promise you that its worth it. You get the feeling of being invited into her home and get treated as if you were the only guest there, there are not many restaurants that can achieve that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Not too many dining options in Donsol but this one is not to be missed. The sea food is brought in everyday fresh. Cooked to perfection by the extremely friendly staff. Definitely try the prawns and the fresh pesto pasta. The drinks are pretty good too! Say hello to Max the German Shepherd too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gronks84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Somewhat overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The options for eating out in Donsol are limited. One goes to Barracuda with high expectations due to the excellent reviews, yet leaves questioning whether it was all worth it. Yes, the food and drinks are generally good. We ate the most giant prawns, which were tasty, yet the fish was undercooked and rather forgettable. The biggest challenge was dealing with the one-woman show. The hostess/cook/owner lady is a unique character. But she is also quite pushy. Once you're in there, she makes it clear that it's her way or the highway. Also, it was by far the most expensive meal we've had in the Philippines.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Papulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siam Reap
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only if don't count money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

We came because of local references. Place is poorly decorated, but it not a main goal of any resto. We with my boyfriend ordered squid salad and tuna salad, both were perfect, I liked a lot. Then one fish and prawns, fish was perfect, prawns overcooked. Cocktails are strong. So food is really good, but price for that was EXTREMELY expensive. In total for us was around 55$ and for our round planet journey was the most expensive dinner. The thing I decided to leave a review is a feeling you have after all this performance of owner self importance. That is the way of rude money making in business, we felt just used ATM machines, victims of fake friendliness and cold counting. After all we had to go back to our hotel and asked her for transport. She asked someone at the bar (also staff, probably) to drive us and said with sour face "but give him some money for bensin, yesterday he drove one and he gave only 20 pesos" but the point is that it is an average rate for whole village. We are here for 4 days and it is kinda fixed rate for everybody. We felt so weird. So, in summary: food is good, if you don't count money-go. If you are long time traveller, and prefer really( not fake for money) open and friendly service with resonable price-don't go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anasta_c_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BARacuda also viewed

Donsol, Camarines Sur Province
Legazpi, Albay Province
 
Legazpi, Albay Province
Donsol, Camarines Sur Province
 

Been to BARacuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing