We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant three stay at the resort with transport arranged through the resort from the airport.

The room was very basic, almost bare actually but clean. It had a nice flat screen tv, air con and a fridge. I would suggest some additional furniture, even a chair perhaps. There was only a rail to hang clothing.

The area around the pool was nice and clean, although i did feel the pool and water itself looked quite grubby.The wooden loungers while look nice really need some proper cushions, not leather pillows. The staff came around the afternoon with pineapple and biscuits which was a nice touch.

The food was ok. While the music in the restaurant was boring and repetitive (please liven it up!)the staff were certainly very friendly and attentive. However my biggest bugbear was the speed of service, in particular the breakfast service, you are looking at 40/45 min wait for food even when the restaurant wasn't busy. This needs to be improved on as people are visiting to see the whale sharks with which they need to be at the centre for 7/7:15 and the restaurant opens at 6am! Also more variety on the breakfast menu please.

The resort were efficient and organised transport for us, It is a little pricey at 2000P each way especially when other guests informed us they'd secured a taxi outside the airport for 1300. The only plus side is it's a big people carrier so if they are more than four in your group with luggage it might be worthwhile then. Also it might be worth enquiring with other guests if they are travelling to airport etc and if they wished to share the journey. While we were there the resort were organising three taxis, all at 2k each for three groups all catching the same flight!

More information about other tours etc in the area might be useful. We made an enquiry about the ATV trip to Mayon but the lady on reception was unable to tell us anything, very disappointing.

Something we noticed about donsol is that they seem to offer you the opportunity for "private" trips all the time! While that may be ideal for some we like the idea of sharing for both cost saving and meeting others. We were unable to go island hopping and also the enquiry about the ATV tour also looked like it would have been a private trip too. Just worth noting if you're planning to do these trips and you want to share as in our case they wasn't other groups or so we were told on that day or bring enough cash to do all these trips privately!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank imsoanirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

This really is a great little find - cheap, clean, right on the beach, good pool to laze around, decent restaurant to eat & gave a drink from (although it does close early).
The rooms were simple, clean and all that you need for sleeping.
Donsol is a great little place to visit for whale shark viewing (we saw them three times on one outing and then none the next say) and the firefly cruise is also a must do - amazing!
Highly recommended for an easy, cheap & relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbyRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very clean, great location, nice food and staff. Relaxing view and the pool was clean and inviting. My wife and i will be back soon. Enjoyed the beach front view and the water was lovely. Highly Recommended!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Restaurant served good food, though choice is limited. Restful, calm and simple. Staff are helpful and pleasant. Only criticism is smoking should not be allowed in the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank REDhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Back to Elysia Beach Resort a year on, still same clean rooms and friendly polite and smiley staff, great grounds, pools and views of the beach. This year think a new chef maybe as food is better the Bicol Express and the Squid stuffed with vegetables very nice. So quiet and peaceful a lovely spot

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KojoMenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our second stay at Elysia, and we are in love with the place! The rooms are very basic, but it is clean and you got what you need. It is the place itself that we really like.. Beautiful gardens, very friendly staff, peaceful and quiet. After spending the morning out on the ocean searching for the Whale Sharks, we could not think of a better place to come back to. Having a nice lunch in beautiful surroundings, reading a book outside your room - Listening to the waves of the ocean. Elysia is simply the best choice in Donsol if you would like some time off, not worrying about anything - just enjoy :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KjerstiJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a nice little resort right on the beach and walking distance to the whaleshark interaction office. It was very relativity modern and extremely clean. All rooms face a nice pool opening onto the beach. There are hammocks and gazebos on the beach to relax in.

The restaurant served good meals, so we didn’t try anywhere else.

Good complimentary WiFi access was available from the restaurant. Rooms included TV which showed complimentary whaleshark documentaries and movies including Blackfish.

Excellent massages were available a couple of minutes away from at Vitton Resort Spa which is right on the beach.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. When staying in Donsol make sure you do a Firefly tour as well as the whalesharks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AusFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donsol
61 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
248 reviews
31.6 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 4 in Tabaco City
56 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#5 of 14 in Legazpi
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
170 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#6 of 14 in Legazpi
172 reviews
0 mi away
Vitton & Woodland Beach Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysia Beach Resort

Address: Pangpang, Donsol, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Donsol
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Price Range: £44 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysia Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Elysia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing