We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Anniversary, 2nd Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elysia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“1st Anniversary, 2nd Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My hardworking wife decided that we should take advantage of our first anniversary to get away and spend some quality time together. I was peripherally involved in the planning of this, although my input was limited to answering questions about what sort of place I wanted to go and what I wanted to do when we got there.
I have to confess that the drive all the way from Santa Rosa to Donsol was quite tiring, but I would do it again since the welcome we received upon arrival made up for the tired and aching back and shoulders. The front of house is a simple desk fronting the car park, but this means that no guests are missed even if arriving in the dark. We were checked in most efficiently and shown to our room, which was a simple affair comprising a large bed in a simply decorated room and a bathroom, but this was more than adequate for our needs.
The hotel is set a few metres back from the beach, with a small expanse of grass separating the hotel from the beach proper, this has a few chairs and hammocks for the guests to use. The rooms themselves are arranged in an open rectangle around the pool, the open side being the sea view, elegantly simple, no fuss.
We met the restaurant staff on the night of our arrival, all were most excellent and attentive to our desires, the food is good, I would recommend the Bicol Express, nice and spicy. Throughout our stay everyone was friendly and helpful, arranging our whale shark trip and my scuba diving through the hotel's associated dive and tour shop, which is located a short walk back towards town.
We only saw the one whale shark, despite there having been 9 sightings the day before, but this is the luck of the draw, I was happy that I got to see one, so was Kat. I also managed 3 dives the next day and so left a very happy person.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be very similar, there is no real advantage in any one or another. Furniture i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garybyrne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    91
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
100
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went for the Whale Sharks, too late in he season so only saw one but that's better than none. Rooms were very good, clean and comfy, but the staff are what makes this place great. The Manager Janice is fantastic, others were Edna, Dexter, Lilibeth, etc, all were awesome. I have not met better staff anywhere than these guys, they make your stay like being with family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

staff is very accomodating among the resorts along the area we choose this one definitely classy. Simple and elegant i love the rooms the hammocks along the beach the huts. the staff is accomodating all smiles food was great bicol express,pasta,shrimps we did make a dip in the pool and walked along the beach, lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant three stay at the resort with transport arranged through the resort from the airport.

The room was very basic, almost bare actually but clean. It had a nice flat screen tv, air con and a fridge. I would suggest some additional furniture, even a chair perhaps. There was only a rail to hang clothing.

The area around the pool was nice and clean, although i did feel the pool and water itself looked quite grubby.The wooden loungers while look nice really need some proper cushions, not leather pillows. The staff came around the afternoon with pineapple and biscuits which was a nice touch.

The food was ok. While the music in the restaurant was boring and repetitive (please liven it up!)the staff were certainly very friendly and attentive. However my biggest bugbear was the speed of service, in particular the breakfast service, you are looking at 40/45 min wait for food even when the restaurant wasn't busy. This needs to be improved on as people are visiting to see the whale sharks with which they need to be at the centre for 7/7:15 and the restaurant opens at 6am! Also more variety on the breakfast menu please.

The resort were efficient and organised transport for us, It is a little pricey at 2000P each way especially when other guests informed us they'd secured a taxi outside the airport for 1300. The only plus side is it's a big people carrier so if they are more than four in your group with luggage it might be worthwhile then. Also it might be worth enquiring with other guests if they are travelling to airport etc and if they wished to share the journey. While we were there the resort were organising three taxis, all at 2k each for three groups all catching the same flight!

More information about other tours etc in the area might be useful. We made an enquiry about the ATV trip to Mayon but the lady on reception was unable to tell us anything, very disappointing.

Something we noticed about donsol is that they seem to offer you the opportunity for "private" trips all the time! While that may be ideal for some we like the idea of sharing for both cost saving and meeting others. We were unable to go island hopping and also the enquiry about the ATV tour also looked like it would have been a private trip too. Just worth noting if you're planning to do these trips and you want to share as in our case they wasn't other groups or so we were told on that day or bring enough cash to do all these trips privately!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imsoanirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This really is a great little find - cheap, clean, right on the beach, good pool to laze around, decent restaurant to eat & gave a drink from (although it does close early).
The rooms were simple, clean and all that you need for sleeping.
Donsol is a great little place to visit for whale shark viewing (we saw them three times on one outing and then none the next say) and the firefly cruise is also a must do - amazing!
Highly recommended for an easy, cheap & relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbyRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Very clean, great location, nice food and staff. Relaxing view and the pool was clean and inviting. My wife and i will be back soon. Enjoyed the beach front view and the water was lovely. Highly Recommended!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean hotel. Restaurant served good food, though choice is limited. Restful, calm and simple. Staff are helpful and pleasant. Only criticism is smoking should not be allowed in the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank REDhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donsol
61.0 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.0 mi away
Giddy's Place PADI Dive Resort
18.2 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.1 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vitton & Woodland Beach Resorts
31.2 mi away
Misibis Bay Resort
Misibis Bay Resort
#1 of 2 in Cagraray Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysia Beach Resort

Property: Elysia Beach Resort
Address: Pangpang, Donsol, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Donsol
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysia Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing