We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish for an excellent price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Padrino

Il Padrino
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Forza d'Agro
Price range: US$28 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bucharest
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fish for an excellent price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went around 7,30 p.m. They open at 8 p.m. but friendly let us in. They have no menu, which made us a little scared for the prices. We ordered fish grill for two! The waiter - speaking little if any English - brought us 5 plates with fish / seafood ! We could barely finish eating and expected a bill of abut 70-80 Euro ! He came with a 40 Euro bill, a desert for 2 - very tasty! - and a calendar as a gift for us! If you like fish, don't miss the place !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MirellaIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    192
    99
    50
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but served too fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

The sea food is excellent and abundant. A very limited choice of non-sea food is also offered. The house wine is good.

The downside is that the food is served too quickly, allowing little or no time between one meal and another.

Also, do not request to take away any remaining food if you go to this restaurant as they do not seem to appreciate such a request! I tried to take away the entire main course; they said yes but stated that they do not have take away bags and said that I would have to make do with plastic plates or whatever (fair enough) ... but the request was eventually ignored anyway!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanPaulFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Restaurant from Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I cannot praise this restaurant too highly. From the lovely and friendly welcome, the table with the most stunning view to the exquisite food, dish after dish of seafood 'starters', all beautifully prepared. We really must mention the so helpful waitress who spoke excellent English and who went out of her way to help us. Thankyou so much. I hope one day we can return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smellywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outrageous feast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Taken here by Sicilian friends for lunch. In essence, a set menu, you can just pay for starters or starters and mains. To be honest, just have the starters. We were staggered at the amount of food that kept being delivered, simply unbelievable, and to be honest a bit over the top. Great quality though with lashings of local wine included in the price, as well as liqueurs afterwards. You might think I'm exaggerating, but trust me I'm not. If you want a huge meal on a relative budget this is the place for you. Probably best not to eat for a week before you go. Awesome view up the NE coast as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I don't believe I have ever eaten so much in one sitting in my life! 14 different dishes for starters! I didn't even know what half of them were - but the food was excellent. Our language skills weren't really up to the job, but they were very patient with us. Loved the 'all inclusive' tarrif with all courses, wine, water, liqueurs etc & fantastic value - just €50 total for the two of us - and I could barely stand up to walk back to the car! And that's all before you consider the incredible setting of this restaurant. Beautiful little town, amazing views - scariest drive ever to get there ... Oh, well - it was worth it! Recommended to us by the locals - always a good sign.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Padrino also viewed

Forza d'Agro, Province of Messina
 
Forza d'Agro, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 
Forza d'Agro, Province of Messina
Forza d'Agro, Province of Messina
 

Been to Il Padrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing