We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very busy place with only 1 menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Padrino

Il Padrino
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Forza d'Agro
Price range: US$28 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very busy place with only 1 menu”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

but really good food and quite quick service.
I and my wife choose just appetizer menu for 1 person, well, we were both full and didn't mind we didn't order main course as well.

You had better to make a reservation, cause you have to be extremely lucky to get a table. Place was full when we were there. And quite noisy, feeling like a canteen not a proper restaurant.

I'd go there again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    193
    101
    51
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent food! The restaurant serves only seafood. One may choose from a wide range of appetizers, first dish, second dish, etc. at predetermined prices no matter which plate you select from each category. The food is really, really tasteful. The portions are very big. Specific tables at the balcony have amazing view. The service is exceptional, very quick and with little "surprises" before and after the meal. Particularly the polite girl from Ukraine who speaks English has helped us a lot whith the order. Considering how much you eat and how well you eat in reasonable prices, the place offers a great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dvog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing wiev”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

If you go there for the wiev, you are in the right place. But if you are there for the food, rethink your option. Less is more, but not here. To much food, mediun quality, nothing special.
The price reflects the quality of the food. So for 2, we payed 60 E, this is ok.
If this restaurant is your choice, try to order just one menu, the food is way to much.

Helpful?
Thank iuliax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quantity, not quality”
Reviewed 2 July 2014


The stunning location, relatively high number of reviews and the fact that this was an all seafood restaurant helped me choose it. I chose to ignore the few reviews that mentioned frozen or even packed food, a mistake that i now regret.
We arrived at 21, after making a reservation. Highly recommended, the place was full by 22. We ordered antipasti for 2, one primi piatti and one secondi piatti, as most reviews mentioned a continuous flow of food during the antipasti. Indeed, they bring more than 10 cold and warm appetizers, but i had the feeling that i was fed leftovers from yesterdays dinner. Tuna salad made with canned tuna, octopus salad soiled in vinegar, warm octopus in tomato sauce that i can swear was just a canned octopus in tomato sauce, warmed up. By the time we finished the appetizers we were full, so we asked them to cancel the secondi piatti. Smart move. The primi piatti were a combination of horrible mussel risotto and pasta. Most probably the mussels left over from the antipasti.
We received a bottle of house wine, not bad. We also received at the end the ugliest 3 apricots i have ever seen, 2 nice lemon sorbets, a choice of limoncello or amaretto and 2 small low quality cannolli.
The price was small compared to most Taormina establishments, only 56 euros, so the bitter taste was not that bitter. So if you like to eat, but don't really care what you eat, Il Padrino is the real thing!




Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrei2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Il Padrino is the best!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

There was 5 of us. We ate on a Sunday night and made a reservation (recommended) for 8 PM. That is the time they open for dinner. We were early by 10 minutes, but they let us sit down. The restaurant staff was friendly and accommodating. There was 2 in our party that didn't like fish, so the server tried to give us more shrimp and clam type dishes. The 12 starters that we had were excellent. A mixture of hot and cold sea food appetizers were awesome. The very thin smoked salmon app was one of the best. It melted in your mouth. We also opted to get the pasta dishes that came after the starters. But by the time we were served the pasta dishes, we were just about to burst due to the quantity and quality of the starters. Every dish was very good. You also get wine (red or white or both) with your meal. As well as water, a grapefruit type of drink at the beginning of the meal, a lemon sorbet drink, little custard mini pies, coffee, and a great view of the Sicilian coast. If you ever make it to Sicily, this is a restaurant that you have to visit. I will recommend this place to anyone that loves seafood. It cost each of us 30 euros a piece. Well worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Padrino also viewed

Forza d'Agro, Province of Messina
 
Forza d'Agro, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Il Padrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing