We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly helpful staff”
Review of Baia Taormina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baia Taormina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 10 day stay at Baia Taormina and we would highly recommend it. Such a lovely staff group. Really impressive multilingual receptionists (particularly Carmen and Davide) always helpful, charming and honest. Great facilities including two pools, one ideal for children and the other bigger and deeper for experienced swimmers which made us feel comfortable with our small children (5, 3 and 1) who had the freedom to have some fun without disturbing the other guests, under the watchful eye of Pepe at all times. We really enjoyed it.

This hotel is perfect for a quiet getaway with fantastic views from everywhere and big terraces outside the rooms. The free shuttle bus enables you to pop into to Taormina for some great food and shopping when you want and to completely relax and unwind. The grounds are big enough to allow plenty individual space for the guests and interesting enough to not require a change of scenery too often either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    237
    104
    48
    25
See reviews for
217
357
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The hotel itself was beautiful - stunning views and our room overlooked the sea. Not many amenities in the area directly surrounding the hotel, however a free shuttle bus service was provided by the hotel to transport guests into the 'centre' of Taormina. Staff were always most accommodating. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 520CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was our first Sicily trip and I liked more Catania area. That was a great choice that we have been stayed in this hotel and Taormina area. Hotel was perfect with its view and great stuff. It's on the hill so all the rooms have fantastic view but our's the best! :) Breakfast are so fresh and have lots of types, typical sicilian sweets and also delicious bacons and sausages. The balcony is so nice in summer time, you can really enjoy your trip. Beach and pools are nice also. Everything was perfect you should try it also.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneFeGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very large and grand hotel, most rooms (but not all) have unobstructed sea views and large balconies with chairs. Sadly one of our friends ended up with a room that had a view of a large rock - the staff did manage to move them to a better room the next night. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very plentiful and quite tasty. We ate outside every morning over looking the sea. The hotel has two pools; one fresh water and one salt water. The room itself was not especially large, and the bathroom was very clean but dated - the shower was simply a curtained off area of the bathroom with a drain and sloping floor. It worked well but water does splash a bit around the rest of the bathroom floor. The only real drawback to this hotel is that there is simply no way to reach any of the cities in the area - Taormina etc without using a car. The hotel has a small shuttle bus but you have to sign up in advance to guarantee a seat. A taxi to Taormina is 25 Euros - a party of four makes this not much more than using the shuttle which costs you 4 euros per person.
I think if you are there to visit Taormina and the smaller villages in the area you would do better to stay in Taormina so you could walk around this wonderful city without having to resort to a taxi or shuttle to get there.

Room Tip: make sure you insist on a room with a complete sea view - entirely unobstructed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Fair size room was clean and tidy. Odd piece of string attaching the bed to the wall (?) . Balcony with view of the sea. Our room 101 was next to a car park,with an open firedoor next to our door. Breakfast was great. Mainly cold choices but also scrambled, boiled eggs, smoked sausages and bacon. Also basket of oranges next to an orange presser. Coffee pots brought to the table, which was excellent. Evening meal was a selection of antipasta, then the excellent pasta counter with a variety of sauces etc. The barbeque outside where you chose your meat/fish was not so good. Fish was cooked OK, but two days running our table had almost raw chicken in the kebab and very undercooked sausage. We kept away from the barbecued meat after that. They need a better system if barbequing, to avoid guests waiting around for food to be cooked properly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MargaretE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent hotel with excellent facilities. Our room on level 6 had great views over the sea and coast in the right hand quadrant, though the views in the left hand quadrant were obstructed by the outside lift shaft and connecting passage. The room, being a corner room, also had a large balcony with two sun loungers as well as a table and chairs.

Both breakfast and dinner were buffet meals but there was an excellent range of food. Breakfast also included a fresh orange juice machine and made to order omelettes. For dinner, one chef made pasta dishes to order and another, on a outdoor terrace, grilled to order the evening's choice of fish and meat.

Drink prices were slightly on the high side but one tip is to buy a glass of wine from the bar rather than at the dinner table. They were the same price but the bar wine generally seemed a better quality and came in a bigger glass (but not necessarily a larger amount of wine!).

The staff were also excellent and helpful, always with a pleasant smile and disposition. Their plate clearing during dinner was incredibly efficient without being intrusive.

The hotel had a number of terraces for snacking and drinking and two swimming pools. The lowest one was warmer (when we went) but fairly shallow (3 - 4 ft) but the upper one was very deep (10 ft?) and quite cold. There was also free use of a laptop in the reception area.

My only adverse comment is the isolated location. The hotel is built into a rock face adjacent to the busy coast road, below which is a beach. The road has no side walks and there are no local places which would be safe and easy to walk to. The local town of Taormina is a lovely town (said to be the best resort in Sicily) but is practically inaccessible by foot from the hotel. The hotel does run mini buses to both the town (about 15 - 20 mins journey) and their beach further along the coast road but booking is required which mitigates against flexibility and spontaneity.

Room Tip: Room 601 for a large balcony and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Selby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We just spent 6 nights here and, thanks to TripAdvisor, booked a de luxe room in grand palace block. Room was clean and comfortable with fabulous view. Arrived late in evening, thanks to BA loosing our luggage, so just went into the dining room. Perhaps because we were late there was little choice and staff weren't very interested. Disappointed that roof terrace not open for dinner and breakfast was ok. Barman was very good and nightly live music was a bit like eurovision from well known Italian numbers to Pink Floyd! So, comfortable, not special but had some great meals in Taormina.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank simonwilsonjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forza d'Agro
5.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
4.4 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
4.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
5.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Taormina

Property: Baia Taormina
Address: Via Nazionale Km 39.00, 98030 Forza d'Agro, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Forza d'Agro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Taormina 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms of Baia Taormina have a balcony or a terrace with superb views on the sea and overlooking the incomparable bay from Taormina to Giardini Naxos. Internet Wi-Fi connection is free of charge and guests can reach Taormina in 10 minutes with a private and free shuttle granted by the hotel. Two swimming pools are available for all guests and one of them is filled with natural sea water. The hotel has two restaurants with breathtaking views and offering either traditional Sicilian and international food. It is also possible to book beauty treatments or massages through the Exclusive Spa Centre of the hotel. Other amenities include a bar and pool bar, 24-hour Reception and one meeting room with audiovisual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baia Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel And Spa
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel Santa Teresa Di Riva
Baia Taormina Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing