We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Baia Taormina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baia Taormina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and really enjoyed it.

Staff were really friendly and helpful and our room was gorgeous!
We both had treatments at the hotel spa which were highly recommended and the surrounding areas of Taormina were truly stunning. The food at the poolside restaurant was really nice and fresh but it was a bit too expensive to eat there every night, this was fine because we liked to get in the car and go exploring the local restaurants and trattorias/pizzerias of which we found were really good too!

Beware it gets VERY hot in summer- our car read 45 degrees celcius on many days whilst we were there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alishia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    241
    109
    50
    25
See reviews for
222
362
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

In July 2014 my wife and I spent four nights at the Hotel Baia, being the second part of a two centre Riviera Holiday. This was undoubtedly a far superior hotel to the Discouri Bay Palace where we had spent our first three nights (see separate review). Our room was clean and comfortable, with a very well appointed bathroom, and we had a stunning view from our balcony!
We found all the staff to be pleasant and attentive and the hotel overall was well maintained.
Breakfast was ample and varied and (provided you were not making too early a start), there was a 'breakfast chef' who made fresh omelettes to order.
Although we were with a 'party', dinner was also far superior to what we had encountered at our first hotel. First course comprised a highly varied and tasty cold table with a wide selection of salad, meat, cheese etc. This was followed (if you chose to indulge), with a freshly prepared spaghetti course with sardines, muscles, etc.
Main course, on each of our four nights, was a BBQ with a choice of meat or fish to which one could add all of the options from the cold buffet table, or some of the hot dishes such as potatoes, baked aubergine etc.
Desert comprised of a selection of ice creams with a variety of cakes or pastries (easy to over indulge)! and the wine list was fairly varied with wines at a reasonable price.
All in all, we were impressed by this hotel, the staff, and the food (although four nights of BBQ's were enough). However, being built on the side of the mountain the rooms were spread over many floors and although we only needed to use one lift to reach our 6th floor room, other guests had to take up to three lifts to reach the dizzy heights of theirs.
Both pools were kept clean and towels were provided although be aware that one pool is 3 meters throughout and the other 1.5 meters. The only other drawback to the Hotel Baia is that it is quite isolated. There is nowhere to stroll to in the evening and although there is a shuttle bus, it is a 20 minute journey into Taormina.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view! However, during our stay only one lift to the sixth floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Occasional_Travel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at Baia Taormina! The staff was wonderful and completely helpful to all our needs. Very responsive and attentive to all their guests. Pool area and lunch bar was great, no complaints and very relaxing. We had a junior suite overlooking the sea with a magnificent terrace, room 2703. The only negative...it is a 10 to 15 minute drive to Taormina, However, the hotel provided free shuttle service which was perfect, you just need to be a bit more on a schedule if you want to take advantage of the shuttle. It cannot be walked (if you think you can walk it as I did). However, the prices in Taormina are much higher and not necessarily worth it. Since nothing was walkable, I wish they had a on site shop to buy necessaties, snacks, water , but that certainly did not spoil our stay. Loved it and would return.
A special Thank You to JULIA and DAVIDE, they were amazing, super attentive and Julia provided us with lots of information to help us with our itinerary!

Room Tip: If you are interested in a junior suite 2703 and 2704 beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisBarr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is comfortable, without being grand. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the views are wonderful. The bedroom we had was in the upper part of the hotel, and is quiet a trek, but the room was comfortable, with two good twin beds, free wifi and good air con. The bathroom was large and the shower was great. The mini bar was checked and filled if anything was used.
The breakfast was superb, and catered for the many different nationalities at the hotel. The evening meal is a good quality buffet, without being startling. The shuttle bus service to the beach and Taormina are both regular, very good, and very necessary, as the hotel is quite isolated.
On the down side, out room was in the highest part of the hotel, which is cleverly built into the mountain in three sections. It is either 253 steps to the room, or you can take 3 separate lifts. However, during our week long visit, only one of the lifts from the ground floor was working, which meant at busy times, such as breakfast, you could have a long wait, or a brisk climb if you were feeling athletic. It worked up a great appetite.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for quietness, but a bit of a climb or wait for the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Starting with what I didnt like first - the hotel is really quite a way from Taormina (its a 15 minute drive) and you will want to go there quite a bit as its a great place - still there is a limited shuttle service from the hotel or you can drive. Other stuff, the hotel needs some maintenance, we had a deluxe room (very nice) but the shower wasnt working properly, there was a picture missing but the hook left, a door handle missing from the wardrobe - all unnecessary.
The hotel has been built in at least three phases working up the hill - our room was right at the top so thats about a 7 min walk and three separate elevators - but the view from the room was great.
On the plus side the staff were great and the pools were nice - we didnt visit the beach as again you needed to use the shuttle its about a km away. Food was classic buffet, nicely done but nothing exceptional. WE also stayed in a 5* Resort down the road in Syracuse which was a lot better but was about 40% more money - so as ever you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: most have sea views and I am not sure the higher up is better as its so far away - also wi-fi didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bikerian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 10 day stay at Baia Taormina and we would highly recommend it. Such a lovely staff group. Really impressive multilingual receptionists (particularly Carmen and Davide) always helpful, charming and honest. Great facilities including two pools, one ideal for children and the other bigger and deeper for experienced swimmers which made us feel comfortable with our small children (5, 3 and 1) who had the freedom to have some fun without disturbing the other guests, under the watchful eye of Pepe at all times. We really enjoyed it.

This hotel is perfect for a quiet getaway with fantastic views from everywhere and big terraces outside the rooms. The free shuttle bus enables you to pop into to Taormina for some great food and shopping when you want and to completely relax and unwind. The grounds are big enough to allow plenty individual space for the guests and interesting enough to not require a change of scenery too often either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The hotel itself was beautiful - stunning views and our room overlooked the sea. Not many amenities in the area directly surrounding the hotel, however a free shuttle bus service was provided by the hotel to transport guests into the 'centre' of Taormina. Staff were always most accommodating. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 520CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forza d'Agro
5.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
4.4 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
4.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#29 of 88 in Taormina
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Sea
Crystal Sea
#3 of 4 in Forza d'Agro
209 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#3 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Taormina

Property: Baia Taormina
Address: Via Nazionale Km 39.00, 98030 Forza d'Agro, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Forza d'Agro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Taormina 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms of Baia Taormina have a balcony or a terrace with superb views on the sea and overlooking the incomparable bay from Taormina to Giardini Naxos. Internet Wi-Fi connection is free of charge and guests can reach Taormina in 10 minutes with a private and free shuttle granted by the hotel. Two swimming pools are available for all guests and one of them is filled with natural sea water. The hotel has two restaurants with breathtaking views and offering either traditional Sicilian and international food. It is also possible to book beauty treatments or massages through the Exclusive Spa Centre of the hotel. Other amenities include a bar and pool bar, 24-hour Reception and one meeting room with audiovisual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Baia Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel Santa Teresa Di Riva
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel And Spa
Baia Taormina Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing