We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utilitarian hotel”
Review of IKEA Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IKEA Hotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Almhult
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Utilitarian hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night only. The staff was friendly and courteous and offered a little bit of insight on the surrounding area and things to do in Almhult.
The hotel itself feels more like a hostel/university dorm. I am not sure what I was expecting, but after learning more about the history of IKEA company, it makes more sense now.
The room was completely utilitarian. It had just enough space for the two of us. The bed was comfortable enough and the bathroom had a working shower/toilet with soap/shampoo dispensers.
The hotel overall was very clean and easy to find. The internet was adequate and free of charge.
We tried both dinner and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and both were delicious with generous options to try.

I would recommend this hotel to people who are passing by or hiking the nearby areas. As the hotel does not have any other amenities (other than free parking) there is not much to do if you decide to stay in. Expect rooms with basic but well maintained furniture and small but comfortable spaces.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    43
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
8
22
7
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Big room with furnishings in pleasant simple IKEA style. Decent on-site restaurant. Had forgotten to put a towel in the bathroom. Big free parking lot. Good morning buffet, decent restaurant. Situated in same building as IKEA museum.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerth6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

In the heart of Älmhult, where the first IKEA store was established. The bar and restaurant is casual, the rooms are pretty basic (no frills) but clean. Three things are disappointing: the tv in the room has very few channels, mostly in swedish; when you shower there in no glass door only a shower curtain, meaning you can expect the bathroom to be quite wet by the time you've finished; and the restaurant has a quite short and never changing menu. If you stay a few nights you are basically forced to find an alternative in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Let me start by saying I am an IKEA fan and I have huge respect for their values, so I was looking forward to staying here. But oh dear, my proverbial heart sank when I walked into my room.

It felt to me as if the company was trying to exaggerate its principles about saving cost etc. to the greatest degree to make a point - right down to the cheap white shower curtain and the unframed mirror pinned to the wall. My room looked straight out onto a car park, so I spent much of the time with the nets drawn to get some privacy. I didn't sleep at all, which is totally unlike me. It was just a functional room with the pure necessities. As someone said on an older review, it felt more like a hostel than a hotel.

On the plus side, it's very near to the railway station, the food at lunch and dinner is very good, and the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant.

But overall, I'm afraid I was very relieved to leave this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor if you're facing the car park - otherwise people look straigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Almhult hotels

Veliky Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is just distilled spirit of IKEA - best value for money. One could claim for "no-fun" furnishing and absence of bathtube - come on! It has free WIFI, good TV and breakfast! And it is located in 7 minutes walk from train station! I vote for it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexxxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bretherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I arrived at Almhult Station got to the hotel and checked in easy peasy spot on could not have been simpler.
Sorted out the room found i had left Apple charger at home, not a worry hotel had one
Needed some ironing sorted IKEA had an Ironing room.

Food was excellent and the restrurant is made for conversation with nice chairs and quite areas for relaxed chat.

The meal was very nice indeed lots of people eating chatting and having a great time

Breakfast as you would expect lots of tasty food to eat with again great surounding

Tyhe IKEA hotel is great first time not the last great value and what you would expect

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobelsdad1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have stayed in this hotel during the business trip. In general the hotel is nice. The room is more like a hostel room. Very small shower. The window is facing the town cemetery. The temperature in the room is not warm enough in spite of its manual regulation. But the food in the canteen ( restaurant :)) was very good and tasty to my surprise. We tried lunch and breakfast. The variety is ok.

Room Tip: There is no choice for those who is staying in elmhult for business trip. It is better to hove rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxy_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almhult
4.3 mi away
Mockelsnas Herrgard
Mockelsnas Herrgard
#2 of 2 in Almhult
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
21.9 mi away
Ekebacken Hotell & Konferens
21.5 mi away
Stora Hotellet Markaryd
Stora Hotellet Markaryd
#2 of 2 in Markaryd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sjostugans Camping & Vandrarhem
4.4 mi away
Pensionat Bjorkelund
Pensionat Bjorkelund
#1 of 3 in Almhult
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Luna - Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IKEA Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IKEA Hotell

Property: IKEA Hotell
Address: 1 Ikeagatan, Almhult 343 36, Sweden (Formerly Vardshuset)
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Almhult
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Almhult
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — IKEA Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In many ways, IKEA Hotell is just like any other hotel. We have comfortable beds, we tidy up your room and we offer a tasty breakfast buffet, like everybody else. But we have added a little extra something that we here in Älmhult are rather good at: a feeling of home. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your IKEA Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikea Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing