We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean -wholesome”
Review of IKEA Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
IKEA Hotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Almhult
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very welcoming - good food - meatballs to die for - everyone drives a Volvo - ok most people !!!, they sure do like Elk out here, and lots of herring etc - please don't mention the Swedish chef from the muppets, I think it's like the Egyptian street pedlars trying to do a Del Boy impression to get your attention " lovely jubbly "

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night only. The staff was friendly and courteous and offered a little bit of insight on the surrounding area and things to do in Almhult.
The hotel itself feels more like a hostel/university dorm. I am not sure what I was expecting, but after learning more about the history of IKEA company, it makes more sense now.
The room was completely utilitarian. It had just enough space for the two of us. The bed was comfortable enough and the bathroom had a working shower/toilet with soap/shampoo dispensers.
The hotel overall was very clean and easy to find. The internet was adequate and free of charge.
We tried both dinner and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and both were delicious with generous options to try.

I would recommend this hotel to people who are passing by or hiking the nearby areas. As the hotel does not have any other amenities (other than free parking) there is not much to do if you decide to stay in. Expect rooms with basic but well maintained furniture and small but comfortable spaces.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Big room with furnishings in pleasant simple IKEA style. Decent on-site restaurant. Had forgotten to put a towel in the bathroom. Big free parking lot. Good morning buffet, decent restaurant. Situated in same building as IKEA museum.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gerth6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

In the heart of Älmhult, where the first IKEA store was established. The bar and restaurant is casual, the rooms are pretty basic (no frills) but clean. Three things are disappointing: the tv in the room has very few channels, mostly in swedish; when you shower there in no glass door only a shower curtain, meaning you can expect the bathroom to be quite wet by the time you've finished; and the restaurant has a quite short and never changing menu. If you stay a few nights you are basically forced to find an alternative in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hectortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Let me start by saying I am an IKEA fan and I have huge respect for their values, so I was looking forward to staying here. But oh dear, my proverbial heart sank when I walked into my room.

It felt to me as if the company was trying to exaggerate its principles about saving cost etc. to the greatest degree to make a point - right down to the cheap white shower curtain and the unframed mirror pinned to the wall. My room looked straight out onto a car park, so I spent much of the time with the nets drawn to get some privacy. I didn't sleep at all, which is totally unlike me. It was just a functional room with the pure necessities. As someone said on an older review, it felt more like a hostel than a hotel.

On the plus side, it's very near to the railway station, the food at lunch and dinner is very good, and the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant.

But overall, I'm afraid I was very relieved to leave this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor if you're facing the car park - otherwise people look straigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is just distilled spirit of IKEA - best value for money. One could claim for "no-fun" furnishing and absence of bathtube - come on! It has free WIFI, good TV and breakfast! And it is located in 7 minutes walk from train station! I vote for it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexxxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I arrived at Almhult Station got to the hotel and checked in easy peasy spot on could not have been simpler.
Sorted out the room found i had left Apple charger at home, not a worry hotel had one
Needed some ironing sorted IKEA had an Ironing room.

Food was excellent and the restrurant is made for conversation with nice chairs and quite areas for relaxed chat.

The meal was very nice indeed lots of people eating chatting and having a great time

Breakfast as you would expect lots of tasty food to eat with again great surounding

Tyhe IKEA hotel is great first time not the last great value and what you would expect

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isobelsdad1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almhult hotels
0 mi away
Mockelsnas Herrgard
Mockelsnas Herrgard
#2 of 2 in Almhult
69 reviews
0 mi away
Sjostugans Camping & Vandrarhem
0 mi away
Pensionat Bjorkelund
Pensionat Bjorkelund
#1 of 4 in Almhult
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Be.hotel
Be.hotel
#2 of 4 in Almhult
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to IKEA Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IKEA Hotell

Address: Ikeagatan 1, Almhult 343 36, Sweden (Formerly Vardshuset)
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Almhult
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Almhult
Price Range: £97 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IKEA Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In many ways, IKEA Hotell is just like any other hotel. We have comfortable beds, we tidy up your room and we offer a tasty breakfast buffet, like everybody else. But we have added a little extra something that we here in Älmhult are rather good at: a feeling of home. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your IKEA Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikea Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing