We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelnuovo Magra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Monteverde
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in "Ginestra" apartment. it was very authentic and spacious. The property had a lovely feel and was surrounded with olive and fruit trees . We often spent evenings on the terrace overlooking the coast.

The owners were a very kind older couple. The wife did not speak English , but her husband did and made great effort to help us . He was very kind and we will always remember him for his love of eating fish.

We visited Carrara quarry , Lucca and Cinque Terre while we stayed at Monteverde.

While you are in the area you MUST eat at Armanda restaurant ( in the old town of Castelnuovo ) , food is simply fab and reasonably priced with a lovely view ( if the weather allows outside seating )

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonnensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We've stayed for a week and enjoyed this place. I admit that restaurants are few around here, but the views from the agriturismo and Castelnuovo Magra itself make up for this. We didn't think the swimmingpool was too crowded and liked it very much, as well as the small gym. Our apartment was nice, quite clean, but unfortunately with some cockroaches in the bathroom. The owner told us he would take action directly after we left. Despite of these animals, we liked this place a lot. The sea is within ten, fifteen minutes drive and Cinque Terre is easily reachable by train.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gea_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Do not book thismplace via a booking agency or website, the very friendly owner can be contacted through the phone numbers on his website for reservations. Don't do email as this doesn't seem to always work well. This being said, the free wifi while we were staying here worked very welll.

Nice place in the middle of olive trees and grapes. Not luxureous but clean, nicely decorated, authentic. Everything you need is there and if you need something, the owner is happy to help out.

Easy to find with GPS (contrary to what other contributor wrote).

Maybe a bit further away from good restaurants although pizzeria Napoli is at walking distance and defenitely worth a visit (see my other review).

If I ever come back to this area, I see myself staying here again. For now, at least I would recommend it to friends who are looking for something in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We carefully selected this agriturismo: close to cinque terre, close to Lucca and close to the sea… the pictures looked wonderful and although the price was pretty high (700,-E for the smallest apartment) we booked.

Finding the agriturismo is slightly difficult because it is situated in the middle of an modern suburb and the are two gates (one with no name and one you won’t find because your car's navigation does not find it).
The place is actually not 1 building but 4 buildings: the house of the owner (the very friendly Francesco, good for small talk but he’s not up to date with his tips on what to do); second close to the owners house an loge with 4 apartments (including ours), behind the pool there is a new building with at least 5 apartments and up to the second gate there’s the fourth apartment complex with at least 6 more apartments. Sounds busy? It is! We only stayed one afternoon at the pool, we felt it was way too crowded and no view, no wind, hot!
We booked a small apartment (Iris) which looked nice and indeed the furniture was very charming, the kitchen very tiny but clean and the living-sleeping room was ok. Drawbacks were the shared terrace with our neighbours (not to be seen on the pictures) and the noise from the apartments was not stopped by the very thin walls...
The surrounding area is modern!You see an airfield with helicopters landing on and off and the highway and in the distance the harbor of Carrara. A nice restaurant is Napoli (pizza), but for everything else the driving time is at least 20-30 minutes.
The region is very nice: We visited cinque terre by boat (from la spezia), Lerici and Portovenere (from Lerici by boat), Montemarcello, Bocca di Magre and the beaches near Massa.

Conclusion probably this agriturismo is one of the best in the region, but be ware of your apartment and watch out for high season... If we go back, we’ll probably stay more close to Lerici or Montemarcello…

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wLeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was a very nice agriturismo with beautifil surroundings. It's excellently located to visit Pisa and Lucca (close to the highway). We also visited Portovenere (just before the cinque terre). The agriturismo has very good appartments and a nice swimming pool. They decorated the appartments with feeling for taste and everything was there (airco, a dishwasher, television, ...). You can also use washing machines. The owner is a very kind man who is always prepared to answer questions or just wants to have a little conversation. There is also an information map in your appartment with al the restaurants and places you can visit. They also have a friendly girl that will come to welcome you and explain some things from the infomap and will help you with every question you have. They produce their own olive oil which is very tasteful. There is also a supermarket closeby. The only setback for us was that there was no restaurant in the immediate surrounding. You always needed your car if you wanted to go to a restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gertanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PHILIPPE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Marnix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Magra
0.5 mi away
Ippotur Medieval Resort Castelnuovo Magra
Ippotur Medieval Resort Castelnu...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo Magra
149 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gli Ulivi di Montalbano - Agriturismo
11.7 mi away
Agriturismo Locanda del Papa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Agriturismo Cerrolungo
Agriturismo Cerrolungo
#5 of 76 in La Spezia
160 reviews
24.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Filo Di Paglia
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Il Borgo della Colomba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Monteverde

Address: Via Molino del Piano 65, 19033 Castelnuovo Magra, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Castelnuovo Magra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Castelnuovo Magra
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo MONTEVERDE occupies three old Ligurian farmsteads, restored respecting local architectural tradition. Within the estate of 7 hectares, beyond 3 restored farm houses, there's an XIX century's villa, where the owners live and another villa with 2 apartments for rental. The XIX century's villa is sorrounded by a 6000 mq. park with a small orchard. Large internal and external spaces are dedicated to our guests, all apartments have a bathroom, heat, air-conditioning and are on the ground floor, with the exception of the Edera, Iris and Ginestra apartments. Included in the prices of our apartments are: weekly cleaning, bed and bath linens, heat, air-conditioning, guided tours of the farm, fenced-in parking, barbeque grill, use of the swimming pool and gym. Restaurant service is not available. Upon request: daily cleaning, baby sitting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Monteverde Castelnuovo Magra, Province Of La Spezia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing