We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, will definatley come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks from the end of August 2013, and couldn’t really fault the hotel. We can definitely recommend this hotel and if we come to Kos again we will stay here. It’s clean, peaceful, well equipped and the staff very friendly.

Let me try and clarify the accommodation: None of the rooms are sea view, and to describe the rooms as side sea view is stretching it a bit: the blocks are all end-on to the sea, and separated from the hotel beach, and sea, by a largish grass lawn and a quiet coastal road.

The rooms are spread over 5 blocks numbered 100 to 500. Blocks 100, 200 and 500 contain the standard and superior swim up and balcony rooms. The ones you see in all the publicity photos round the main pool are 200 and 500 blocks. There is a 100 block which is on the east side of the hotel which you don’t see in the brochures. We were in a swim up room in this block (See photos). The pools for the 100 block are smaller, and the terraces are smaller. In truth the 100 block should be at a discount to the 200 & 500 blocks, since the terraces and pools are smaller, but they aren’t. I asked how it would be possible to make a booking and guarantee to get a 200/500 block room. I was told that you could make the request at time of booking but this wasn’t guaranteed. “It depends on what is available on the day you arrive”. We were happy with our 100 block room and pool and it didn’t detract from our holiday. In fact the 100 block rooms are quieter than the others.

Block 400 contains the junior suites (see photo) they didn’t seem to have a lot of privacy, the path to the beach runs past their sun terrace.

Block 300 contains the executive suites. These are on the way to the beach and are surrounded by high hedging giving complete privacy.

A thing to note is that the hotel is aligned north-south, slightly tilted to the west. This means that the swim up terraces for the 100, 400 and 500 blocks loose the sun from around 2:30pm onwards. So the ideal is to try for a room in the 200 block, which gets the sun from around 11am until sundown. Also the 500 and 400 rooms back onto a holiday park which is close by and can be noisy sometimes in the evening.

The hotel is 1km from Marmari village, which can be reached by walking along the beach road that runs between the hotel and the sea. There are a number of bars, shops and supermarkets in Marmari. The best supermarket is Konstandinos, which is further down the main road in Marmari. You can get to Konstandinos on foot in 20 minutes from the hotel.

As regards the weather we didn’t see a single cloud for the whole two weeks and the temp was in the range 28C to 32C. But it was windy. The hotel’s private beach is north facing and the prevailing wind is from the north. We only had 4 calm days out of 14, the wind speed was 25mph plus the rest of the time, so we hired a car and drove over to Paradise Beach on the south coast where it was calm. (Thomsons do a day trip to Paradise beach). Some of the other beaches next to the hotel beach hire out wind breaks, so windy weather must be a common occurrence!

I’ve done a review of Paradise Beach with photos, which should be in place by now.

We lazed by the main pools, which are sheltered from the worst of the wind, but you’d get sand blasted on the beach when it’s windy. The pool water is cooler than the sea, and the indoor pool is cooler still, so we only used the indoor pool once! There are plenty of sun loungers at the pools and beach, so no need to play the towel game, unless you want a prime spot.

Is it child friendly? There is a kids playground (see photo) which got used a fair bit, and a kids pool next to the pool bar (see photo). All the other pools are 4 foot deep and deeper with no ‘shallow end’. I did see a notice for children’s activities on the beach, and there were a fair number of children staying there. There wasn’t much for teenagers in the hotel or in Marmari.

Is it wheelchair friendly? Yes. There were a handful of wheelchair users staying there, and there are ramps and lifts.

The food was fine. Plenty of choice and good quality. Every Monday it’s Greek night with Greek dancing, and err, a Turkish (?) belly dancer. She was quite good and encouraged the kids to join in. There seemed to be themed nights in the restaurant, e.g. Mexican and Chinese, but there was no announcement of this. One comment: the waiters whip your plate away as soon as you have finished. It would be nice if they waited until my wife had finished too! I even had my bread roll plate removed while I was putting the roll in my mouth! They can detect cutlery hitting an empty plate at 20 paces! Also people were smoking in the restaurant, albeit in the open air bit. Even so we could smell it.

We were half board and so you get one free meal per stay in the a la carte Italian restaurant ‘Bacco’, but we wouldn’t use it again. The mushroom soup didn’t taste of mushrooms, and it looked like the chicken wasn’t fully cooked, but difficult to tell in the dark…

The pool bar is good for a snack. They do a mean Greek Salad!

The pair of us spent around 750 euros over the two weeks on drinks and snacks at the hotel.

There was live music outside the main bar every night. The main bar is quite large and has a large screen TV in one corner.

There is free WiFi, the password changes every Monday and you get the details from reception. I couldn’t pick it up in my room, and reception is a bit patchy. Bizarrely I got the best reception in the pool bar! Wifi reception is OK next to the, err, Reception :-)

You can get a bus to Kos Town from the beach road gate at the hotel. It runs every hour and costs 2 euros each way. (Timetable from reception). Kos centre is the last stop, and you catch the bus back from the same stand, so can’t go wrong. The 10:25am bus we caught to Kos was packed to the gills. We also drove into Kos. If you follow the main road into the town there are two free car parks on the right in the archaeological area, a minute’s walk from the centre and harbour.

Kos Island is around 30 miles end to end and the driving quite laid back. (On the main road east of the airport the police have left a badly wrecked car and motorbike prominently displayed at the side of the road to encourage better driving!) There’s a main road running from Kos town in the east to Kefalos in the west, with roads running off this to the resorts and mountain villages.

There’s a gym at the hotel that my wife used with all the usual equipment with controls in English. It was empty when she used it. There also seemed to be pilates sessions each day in the grounds. There’s a table tennis table in the grounds, a bit of a challenge in the windy conditions!

You can hire pedal-bikes and cars from reception.

In summary we really enjoyed the stay and wished we’d booked for a 3rd week! There are more sites, villages and beaches on the island we’d like to visit. We did an Island coach tour covering Hippocrates ‘hospital’ at Asklepion (great views), a couple of mountain villages Zia and Pyli (more great views) and Kefalos in the south west, and a honey farm. All of which gave us a taste of what the island has to offer.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the 200 block. (Unless you are staying in the Executive suites :-)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank nitroSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed 2,5 weeks in Palazzo Del Mare (Executive Suite with private pool).

Check-in: was excellent. We filled in the pre-registration form on the website. We were in our room in 5 minutes including the check-in procedure.

Room: we had room 301. The room was very good. During our last week we had neighbours who found in necessary to listen to loud music at their pool.

Food: we were on halfboard. Breakfast and dinner were very good. Good quality. There was one evening with chinese and japanese food. To be honest: that was not their best evening.

Service: very good. No complaints about the maid service and the waiters in the restaurant and the waitresses in the bar. Very friendly and always in for a little talk.

Atmosphere: Relaxed and luxurious. Didn't feel Greek. No people who are claiming sunbeds.

Location: quiet. Bus to Kos-town for 2 euro per person one way. There is a good tavern (Artemis) in walking distance in Marmari.

Maintenance: very good. Main building, room and gardens are well maintained.

Internet: Internet Access is free. WiFi in our room was unusable, wired connection in the room is good.

Guests: Mainly from Germany, Austria, Switzerland and UK, few from Belgium and The Netherlands.

Why no 5* rating? During our stay there were too much families with children.Make it Adults Only!

Room Tip: Don't accept room 134. It has paper walls. Room 301 is okay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EdHouweling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Returned for our third visit in June/July 2013 - and from the moment we got there, it was like coming home!

Arrival
We arrive at lunchtime and were greeted warmly by the check-in staff and reservations Manager (Rolando). All are extremely welcoming, friendly and really puts you in a great mood for a relaxing holiday. We had filled in the reservation details directly with the hotel so no need to fill in detail on arrival, instead, we sat back with a glass of fizz and started to unwind. Before going to our room, the new hotel manager (Mr. Panagiotis) came to introduce himself. This was a nice touch as he recognised we were repeat guests. A nice touch.

Rooms
There are several rooms to choose from, we always opt for a swim-up room. In all honesty, whatever room you choose, I am sure you will be happy with. I have seen some reviews reference Block 1 - and although we have never stayed there, the rooms still look nice.

Pools
The pools are great and huge! They are most refreshing to cool off after some time in the Kos sunshine. They never get busy and are always a good temperature. There is a small children's pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi area. There is also a small pool inside (near the gym/spa).

Staff
The staff are what really make this place special - many of the staff that we met in 2011 were still here. This is great as they remembered us and shows they enjoy working there. All the staff work incredibly hard - especially in the intense heat. Keep an eye out for some of our key stars - Vasilis - you will find him working hard from 10am until 1am. He is usually in the Pool bar by day and the main bar at night. I hope he replaces all the Jack Daniels i drank before we return! As long as he is there, we will always return. He is great!
Nicolina / Marlena / Lenka / Barbie - these girls work in the evening in the main bar. They provide excellent service and all round smiles. Stop by and have a drink in the evening - you are on holiday so enjoy yourself. The number of people who just went to bed after dinner was strange!
Nick / Nick / Klaudia/ Anna-Maria - these guys always served to perfection at breakfast and dinner.
Lenka / Alex / Anastasia - these guys work in the pool bar with a smile on their face everyday
Vicky - Guest Relations. She works long hours keeping guests happy. If you need ANYTHING, she can make it happen.
Manos - Food and Beverage manager. A great manager who is always on hand to support his staff. Very professional and approachable.

Food
Breakfast is served in the main restaurant. Lots of choice for even the fussiest of eaters! Make sure you try one of their omelettes. Yum!
Lunch - head to the pool bar where you get generous portions of great food. Our favourites included the Greek sales, Gyros and the homemade burger.
Dinner - served in the main restaurant and often themed nights. Again, huge selection and head chef is always on-hand.

The only issue with the food is that it is so good! I put on over half a stone in two weeks (and I am a very fussy eater)

Location
Set on a private beach 15 minutes from the airport, this is a great spot. Not many people from the UK come here though, and nightlife is low-key at best.

Airport
This is such an experience. The airport is about the size of an average semi detached house! Seriously, it is small and chaos is the best word for it. You are not there long though so don't worry about it.

Overall, another fantastic holiday so much so we have already booked again for 2014. We are also looking at this for the venue of our wedding (thanks to Vicky and Rolando for details). I hope to see Mr. Panagiotis and all his staff in June 2014, alongside a lot of he repeat guests we met. This place is great and we couldn't think of a better place to spend our holiday. We wanted to go back in September 2013 but it had already sold out in June so early booking is advised.

Happy to answer any questions you may have

Room Tip: Upgrade to a swim up room!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lilbear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first visit to the island of Kos having visited Corfu, Crete and Rhodes in previous years and indeed our first stay in the 'Blue Lagoon' chain of hotels.

We stayed at the Palazzo del Mare, just on the outskirts of Marmari for 11 nights during September. The hotel has a modern feel and the pool areas are beautiful and the layout lends itself to a very relaxing environment.

My husband and I only booked a standard room, as they did not have any 'swim up rooms' available, however the room which we had (556) was on the first floor and overlooked the pool area, was close to reception and the main building - ideal for us! The room was pretty standard layout, however clean and had everything that we needed (Fridge, kettle, tea/coffee, hairdryer, dressing gown/slippers etc.) We were not concerned about the choice of TV channels, as we both access our iPad as the hotel provides complimentary wireless throughout the hotel.

We were celebrating a belated anniversary and we found sparkling wine and a fruit platter waiting for us in our room - this was a nice touch!

If we were to stay at the hotel again in the future I would book a 'swim up room' in the 200's, as these rooms have the sun in the afternoon. The swim up rooms in the 500's only have the sun until approx. midday.

The restaurant was lovely and the food offers a great choice - something for everyone! We especially found Dimitri to be especially courteous during our stay and we always requested a table in his section for breakfast and dinner (we were prepared to wait if one was not available) Having said that, all the staff we encountered in the restaurant definitely tried their best to provide excellent service and made us feel really welcome.

Breakfast and dinner were more than adequate for us, however on occasion we did have a lunchtime snack at the pool bar and for a change we ventured down to Marmari (10 minute walk) and found a restaurant/café called 'Artemas'. This was a traditional Greek taverna which overlooked the sea, three other Islands and also Bodrum in Turkey. The staff were friendly and recognised us each time we returned which was nice.

Half way during our stay, I was unfortunately ill with a bug which completely wiped me out for the best part of 3 days. Vicki (Guest Relations) was very helpful, concerned and made sure I was okay. This is more than can be said for Thomson!

We both used the fitness and spa facilities, which were very good and in line with any other hotel we have stayed at - would definitely recommend a 'couples aromatherapy massage', this was a nice treat towards the end of our holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the 100's as they are away from the main par of the hotel and overlook a barr...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIZ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

my wife and i went to this wonderful hotel for a week in sept. my wife can pick the bones out of any hotel , but not this one. the service, food and room were all exeptional. we had a swim up room which was great.marmari is a typical greek village .you can walk along the beach for miles.how ever you decide to spend your days you will be returning to the best hotel on the island.
we stayed at the minos beach art hotel in crete owned by the same group in june and although better located was not in the same class as pdm.
book it and enjoy we did .any questions just ask

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank motty14562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our 2nd visit having stayed three years ago. The hotel is still as lovely. Repeat guests receive a fresh fruit platter, sparkling wine and flowers (a nice touch without being prompted). The hotel has a huge pool with plenty of sun-loungers never a problem finding one and it always seemed quite. A slice of watermelon is given out each day around midday around the pool and the beach. We had a room directly onto the pool. Having had one or two minor maintenance problems with the bathroom this was sorted out super quickly and with no inconvenience to ourselves. Please note that the rooms in the 200s although they get the sun all day have no bath and the bathroom is open plan which is not for everyone. All staff work exceptionally hard and are friendly. The hotel and its grounds are very clean and tidy throughout. Our room however on this occasion was possibly not cleaned and tidied as we would have expected but did not spoil anything. Turndown service seems to have stopped since our last visit too but that seemed to be the only change. The beach is sandy with a good amount of sun-loungers/shade and we were always able to get a spot every afternoon. Breakfast and dinner both had an excellent choice of dishes and were very tasty. We also tried the Bacco restaurant which made a change from the buffet dinner which was also very good with a set menu. The walk to the nearest village takes about 15-20 mins for provisions, several mini marts and tavernas to choose from. Would definitely consider staying again at some point in the future. Ideal for a relaxing beach holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a swim up room, Rooms in the 200s are sunny all day and are on the main pool. Rooms in the 1...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeddytravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very good hotel. Beautiful "green" surroundings with a lot of plants. Excellent idea to have a long central pool passing in front of all the rooms. Helpful staff. Very clean rooms.
Beautiful beach just outside and they bring you slices of watermelon for free :)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank maraki12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
8.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
5.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,438 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
1.0 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 15 in Marmari
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare

Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmari
#1 Family Hotel in Marmari
Price Range: £121 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
TUI SENSIMAR Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing