We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some hotels are growing old....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sensimar Palazzo del Mare
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Some hotels are growing old....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

...but it is not definitelly the case of Palazzo. We came there for the 4th time this year being courious how the hotel grew old. And we saw no impact of ageing. Everything in a good shape and perfectly clean.
Room was again clean on the "laboratory level" during the whole stay.
Staff was extremelly willing and supportive - we have to be carefull to forget, however:
Chef de cuisine - trying to do the best for guests, listening to feedbacks. Quality and variety of food fantastic generally. Anybody is able to choose anything each time.
Manager of the bar(s) - always with smile, positive and being able to manage complex situations.
Chief waiter and manager of pool nad Bacco restaurant - quality of service challenging Micheline restaurant levels.
Front desk chief manager - smiling, willing, supportive.
Special Oscar goes to - "omelete lady" during breakfast spreading positive atmosfere, challenging bad mood of guests, remembering anybody´s preference after 2 days.

Generally - we cannot imagine better place for the EU sea coast relaxing stay.

Minor message for the management: Peanut investment into internet quality can bring huge improvement of customers satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    121
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
157
365
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just came back from 1 week holiday at palazzo del mare with our 2 Kids (4years and 1 Year). A wonderful Place to relax - great Pool and rooms, great service (thanks to George on the beach) and a nice Beach (windy but as a positive factor). A Special thank to the kitchen Chef Antonis and his team. My husband and my smaller daughter have several food allergies - the kitchen team served every Day Special thigs for them and they were really very Service oriented. W'll come back and hope that then there are more organic products.
The only "negative" thing for us was the fact that there was not enough Entertainment for our 4 Year Old daughter - a small Kids Club where we could leave the Kids for one Hour or so would be great. There is a playground but without shadow and bad located. For the smaller daughter there was a Baby Pool this was nice but only for the really small ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmichael2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Palazzo for a week in June 2014. Our daughter who is a travel agent found this hotel and I wouldn't have picked it but she said it has great reviews. She was so right, it is a fantastic hotel, really beautiful and clean. From the moment we arrived everyone made us feel truly welcome. The food was great - loved the egg chef (lady) who was so nice. I found everyone spoke really good English. Must mention martina in the lounge who looked after us. Pool is out of this world, beach close clean and great. Beach staff brought round watermelon everyday - how I miss it!! Room lovely, cleaned well everyday, quiet and great air con. Location is quiet but that is just what we wanted. If there is a negative it was that the tv channels were nearly all in german so maybe a DVD player would be great but who should be watching tv on holiday anyway. Everything was just perfect. The management should be proud of their team. Must say as well we book with Thomson and they were very efficient, taxis were there as promised and the rep came to see us to make us welcome. I would have no hesitation in rebooking this hotel and hopefully will for next year.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a swim up pool then do as it is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a lovely holiday in Kos no thanks to Thomas Cooks terrible delays. The Palazzo del Mare is in a lovely spot one of the best in Kos after seeing the island. The rooms and complex are fantastic, all perfectly clean and very pleasant to be situated in. Especially if you have access to a pool like we did.

The food was some of the best I've had in Greece with theme nights. We didn't have one bad meal at all.

In my opinion what let's the hotel down is its lack of entertainment which quite frankly is dull and pretty boring each evening which is why most people seem to not bother staying up for it. Another problem is that the staff are all very polite and helpful but don't speak good English at all which makes it quite frustrating when your orders get mixed up most of the time.

The only other annoying point was that we waited for a transfer to the airport for an hour only find it was delayed by four hours but no one at the hotel had passed on the message to us meaning we had wasted a lot of our time and then were not offered at least a drink or something.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank leojanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the Palazzo and have to say that it was truly fantastic!

Hotel is better than it looks on the pictures and the pool is something to be seen to be believed. Hotel is spotless and the staff always seem to be busy keeping it that way.

Staff - all of the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. They all spoke very good English and were able to answer any queries that we had. We found Anastasia who worked in the lobby bar and pool bar to be really friendly, as was the bar manager.

Room - we stayed in a swim up room and would definitely recommend paying for the upgrade!

Food - different buffet selection every night with wide variety of food, even for someone who doesn't eat meat! A la carte restaurant was fantastic as well. We were half board and ate in the pool restaurant most lunchtimes. We did not find the food to be unreasonably priced - €8 for a huge salad - and competitive in relation to the restaurants in marmari.

Beach - is just over the road from the hotel, about 2 minute walk from centre of hotel. Clean and always plenty of sunbeds. Beach volley ball played daily.

Drinks - high quality alcoholic drinks are served. You are paying about €8 for a cocktail, €4 for a glass of wine and about €6 for premium bottled beers. We didn't think drinks were overly pricey as, at the end of the day you are in a 5 star hotel and it is what you would pay at home. The bar/terrace is such a lovely setting as well that you want to sit and enjoy a drink while taking in the stunning views.

Entertainment - day time activities centred around yoga/Pilates and beach volley ball. There are 2 tennis courts and they provide all the stuff you need. There is also a very good football pitch but this does not seem to get used. Nighttime entertainment was a duo of singers. While they were very good (multi-lingual as well), we would have liked a bit of variation.

Pool - this really is the highlight of the hotel. 100m long on one side and 150m on the other. Plenty of sunbeds about and generally a peaceful place. Spotless clean.

Overall - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Palazzo. The staff, attention to detail and quality of this hotel make it am extra special experience. We had read reviews before we went that this was a German orientated hotel and there were probably majority German guests but this did not detract from our holiday at all. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be going back

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank J12HEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I spent two glorious weeks in this outstanding hotel in June 2014. We arrived late in the evening and we're greeted by friendly, helpful and smiling reception staff who were quick and efficient and got us to our room without delay where we found a plate of cold cuts and a complimentary bottle of wine, as we had missed the dinner meal. Throughout our stay the staff, from top to bottom, carried on where the reception staff left off, cheerful, friendly, helpful and smiling. The hotel, in all areas, was spotless and the gardens would have made "Kew" proud. Restaurant comfortable and airy, buffet style with a varied choice of excellent, well cooked and we'll presented food. Swim-up rooms nice, but a bit of a waste if you like the beach, which was close, clean, quiet and a treat. Slightly disappointed with the wi-fi speed and the lack of English channels on the tv (news only), but who goes on holiday to watch tv and surf the Internet? Overall an excellent hotel for a quiet peaceful holiday treat, we recommend it.
One warning note BEWARE THE MOZZIES!!!

Room Tip: If you like the pool, a pool view room in block 200 is the place to be, sun on the deck most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omartheturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Find it interesting to read reviews by Brit's, thought we were the only ones there! reckon the hotel was about 90% occupied by German guests whilst we were there.
That said we wanted a peaceful relaxing break and got just that, staff were extremely courteous and polite without being over the top.The food was varied enough to cater for most tastes in the evening but a bit repetitive at breakfast.
Having obviously looked at the resort before travelling it was as expected, the beach was lovely, and not many bars with a bit of a walk to the few in Marmari.Car hire is cheap, we got one for 20 euro's a day (Kombos) just to get a look around the island for future reference, only Tingaki appealed. Agree totally with a previous post, the evening entertainment is very poor, a repetitive duo. this led us to try and sit on the patio with a glass of wine, again don't bother, we both had bites well into double figures each, we believe this is less of a problem when the weather settles down, apparently it had been a bit damp the previous two weeks before we went.
Overall we enjoyed a very relaxing quality break, would we go back? probably not although the pool is one of the best we've ever been in especially late afternoon when it has warmed up a bit.

Room Tip: We requested a bath and a patio that got afternoon sun - didn't get either and was told we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rovers95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
8.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
5.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 14 in Marmari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Palazzo del Mare

Property: Sensimar Palazzo del Mare
Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
#1 Family Hotel in Marmari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star adults only hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the Culinarium a' la carte restaurant (dinner only). For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the "harmony" of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest's comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
Sensimar Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing