We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great place for families travelling with children or babies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Marmari
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Great place for families travelling with children or babies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from a week here (17th - 24th May 14)
. Myself my partner and our 2 girls, aged 10m and 2 & 1/2.
We travelled with First choice and had a family room with sliding partition.

Overall we had a brilliant holiday. If i wanted to find fault i could probably moan about quite a few things BUT in the scheme of things, we had an amazing family holiday and this holiday village ticked all the boxes, of why we chose here in the first place.

THE ROOM. (635, downstairs, by the volley ball pitch, and the closest room on site to the pool bar... would request this exact room if we were to return)
LOVELY! Has been recently refurbished to a VERY high standard.
Queen size bed (comfiest i have ever slept on, even better than mine at home)
Loads of storage space
a plug socket by every bed. (if travelling with todller pack a plug adapter with socket guard if you dont want them to fiddle) and an extra socket under the main TV
2 large Samsung flat screen TVs, which include pop and tiny pop for children
The shower room / wet room is lovely. A large rain shower as well as a normal shower for a great "shower experiance" (Baby baths avaliable, just ask at reception, my 2 year old fitted in though she preferred the novelty of the rain shower!)
(a large space under the sick area was a perfect space where we kept our 2 folded buggys)
(Not allowed to put loo roll down the toilet)
Large light and spacous rooms, with very effective air con (we had to turn it off as even when set to 20C the room got too cold!)
The travel cot that we were provided with was extreamly large (about the size of our cot bed at home) and while the room is advertised with 1 cot space you could have fitted 2 cots in, as a cot fitted at the end of both single beds.

THE STAFF
Every single member of staff was brilliant. All happy and cheerful and very pleasant. All working hard and giving it there all 100% of the time. What ever they are paid is not enough im sure!!!!
The kids club staff were especially amazing and im amazed at how well they remembered names!

THE SWIMMING POOLS
Very clean.
Its a shame the the slide pool is unheated, as it really was VERY cold. Even once "in and under" it was still cold (though towards the end of the week as the temp was rising it wasnt quite as cold as the beginning of the week) My 2 year old was violently shivering after a few mins on day 1, but was still desperate to play. I was greatful to have packed her wet suit.
We had read previouse reviews and took pool shoes. I recommend packing pool shoes and wetsuits for small children.

The little pools in the relax pool and the family pool, despite being deeper (60cm compared to 38cm) were warmer than the slide pool, and comfortable once "in and under"

There are loads of sunbeds... during the morning / lunch time often most were covered in towels, but we typically went to the pools for mid afternoon and always got a sunbed (or 2 or 3) by then

THE BEACH
The beach was perfect for us......
just a bit of sand (ideal for sandcastles) before the shallow sea. Perfect for toddlers as you can just watch them potter in and out the sea to their sandcastles, and still be "just there"
There is a nice shallow bit then a slope over stones down to the next level... about adult waist deep and its like that for ages and ages (we never got to it getting deeper!)
The sea was warmer than the swimming pools!

There are lots of sunbeds and sunshades. (we got 3 or 4 together and a sunshade every day around 10.30am, on the front row... there were loads more further back but we preferred to front row to watch our toddler playing in the sand and sea.

Some days the beach was really windy (a bit too windy), other days it wasnt.
The first day there were loads of little stones by the edge (so beach shoes NEEDed) but that night we had a storm, and the next day they were gone, just sand again :)
One day there seemed to be loads and loads of sea weed, but again only the once!

The beach bar was just across the road, the main complex, and was where you exchanged your towels (as often as you like) Very well thought out, that, as it meant we swapped our towels every day on the way back for nice clean un-sandy ones!

THE FOOD / RESTAURANT
With 2 small children who were starving by 6.30 we never waited until 7pm to try any of the other restaurants and ate all our meals in the main buffet restaurant.

The Food served was delicious. The meats and meat dishes especially were amazing. Every bite cooked to perfection. Lots of english stuff and some amazing greek specials.
There was a huge choice of savoury food.... everything was lovely.
Absolutely loads for "fussy children"... as wells as the main buffet with loads of "child friendly" food, there was also a seperate childrens area, which ALWAYS had plain pasta, plain veg, plain rice, plain salad, and "kids" ham and cheese.
also things like baked beans, mash potatoe, potatoe smiles, fish fingers, sausages etc etc.
and ice cream and ice cream cones
sometimes an extra pudding too, one day chocolate cake pops which my 2 year old loved.
They also have child size cutlary in this area (which is all we used, as my children are good eaters who are used to eating the same food as us)

There is NO REASON at all why ANY person could or should be hungry eating here.... every meal there were at least 2 of "english" carrots, broccollu, peas, sweetcorn, or green beans (as well as numerous proper vegetable dishes)
Bread and butter is always avaliable, as are chips. And self assembly burgers at every lunch time.
Spag bol was served 4 times in the 7 days we were there, and shepheards pie, lasagne (ikea style) meatballs sausages were often on the menu.
at dinner time there was almost always a carvery so you could have simple plain roast meat of the day too.

I wasnt as impressed with the puddings. All the puddings were very tastey, but the selection wasnt huge, and it seemed to be the same things every day with just a different colour sauce on top. Other AI resorts i have visited have had a larger selection of puddings.
But there was ALWAYS ice cream and the ice cream they served was really very nice.

Also always fruit at every meal (apple, banana, pear, banana)

Breakfast (no kids section here as they can eat all the normal stuff) was typical buffet style.
full english, omlettes, pan cakes, crossiants and pastrys, bread and jams (& nutella!), tinned fruit, dried fruit, cereal (including cheerios) breakfast cake and breakfast biscuits. The tea was nice and they even had earl grey which pleased me, as well as "english normal" tea (which i didnt try)
I was slightly disappointed that the fresh prepared fruit was only orange and grapefruit. I would have loved some melon or pineapple, but all in all the choice was good enough and the quality was fine

THE BARS
drinks are mostly served in paper cups, but at the main sunset bar (open from 6pm) if you ask you can get your coffee (or hot chocolate, not on the menu but IS served) in a mug, or your drink in a glass. You do have to ASK.
The wine was actually very nice (i drank rose, it was good enough for me!)

THE ACTIVITIES
Amazing!
ALWAYS something going on! (but still plenty of space to relax and peace and quiet if you choose)
Loads for children, and every member of staff is amazing, workin hard ALL the time.
My children were too young for the free kids clubs, but we made use of the parent and toddler session in the creche from 12-12.30 so they could play with normal toys in the air con before lunch.
There were then parent and toddler activites by the activity pool from 12.30 - 1.30 such as bumber boats!
we also joined in the family activites of circus skills and family olympics

The playground was great, nice and shadey, and my girls loved it there, and was ideal for the children to watch and play while we adults did the high ropes.

THE HOLIDAY VILLAGE
The whole place is lovely and clean, and being cleaned ALL the time
Overall it was great... really well designed and thought out.
Baby changing and kids (small) loos by the kids club, and park, and theatre
Towels by the beach
Never too far to walk to get to anywhere
Ice cream and snacks and slush puppies avaliable all day

FREE Wifi everywhere, including IN our bedroom

Its great that the SAFE IS FREE and that the pool towels are also free, so you dont have to pay a huge amount of Euros as a deposit like in so many other hotels

Make sure you take INSECT REPELLANT as after sunset the mozzis are out to get you!
even with repellant AND mozi bands we still got a few bites, but the plug in thing in our room that we used each night insured my children were not bitten at all (they were always in bed before the mozzi's came)
You cant buy it in the (very expensive) shop on site. Much better to buy it for a fraction of the cost in the UK. We also bought buckets and spades etc from poundland for £1 (not 10 Euros for the same thing!)

And although this has nothing to do with the hotel i will just review KOS AIRPORT.
The Airport is not great at all.

On our flight in (we landed at 10pm) it took over AN HOUR for the pushchairs to come. So all the cases came (not too long) then everyone with babys and toddlers was forced to just stand there holding their over tired children and wait for ages.

When you are leaving the island this is the procedure:
1) get off the coach and join the longest queue (outside) you have ever seen
2) get to the front of the queue and be directed to an actual queue inside (its boiling inside), to WEIGH your cases
3) Join the next queue to CHECK IN your cases
4) Join a queue for passport control / security

5) now you are in the departure lounge... This has a few chairs (not many) then its standing room only (I had to breastfeed my baby sat on the floor) . Its hot and unpleasant. The toilets are smelly. Yoy are crammed in like sardines.... there isnt really any room to stand, its just not good at all! (think busy london underground train!)
There is a duty free shop, and a cafe that sells water and ice lollies and coffee etc (1 euro for a big bottle, bargain!). We were in here at 11pm in May and it was so hot. I dread to think what it must be like to be in here during the day time or in the hotter months.

So just be aware of this, and if you were debating taking a buggy for a slightly older child bear in mind this airport part, and even if you dont use it in the uk or for the whole of the holiday, it would be worth having for this part of your holiday, so at least your child has somewhere to sit

And when travelling back make sure you take loads of bottles of water to get you through the hot queues. (the hotel as loads out by reception for you anyway as well as snacks etc)

Room Tip: Family rooms with sliding door, in the 600 block are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank lcp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, General Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words we are very pleased that make you happy and had a great holidays to our hotel. Our target is to offer the best that we can so our guests to leave the hotel with the best memories and with the feeling that they spend their time happily.

Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    421
    136
    48
    29
See reviews for
838
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

After reading some of the recent reviews on here I felt I needed to write a review of the Holiday Village Kos. We booked this as it sounded ideal for us on our first foreign holiday as a family with a 3 year old child.
We stayed here 13th - 20th May and our check in at the hotel went smoothly, the first choice rep gave us a hand with our cases and helped us find our room and the restaurant was still open on our arrival.

The hotel itself is spotless, very clean and set in immaculate grounds. We had a double room set in the gardens in a small block of 12 rooms. It was clean, with comfy beds and located in a nice quiet area.

The sandy beach is just across the road and there were plenty of sunbeds available although I suspect it would be a different story peak season . At the hotel there were sunbeds available at the largest of the 4 pools every day but if you want a sunbed by the childrens splash pool or the activity pool then you had better prepare yourself for early starts as sunbed reserving was in full flow the week we were there. This wasn't helped by the residents of the rooms nearest the splash pool dragging the sunbeds up to the terrace outside of their rooms further limiting the amount available by the actual pool. Outdoor pools will always be cold so I cannot understand the complaints on this site regarding the pool temperatures.

The restaurants and food here has come under fire in some recent reviews, some of the criticism I feel is justified, some not. The hotel tries to please all of its guests with the selection of foods available. I felt that the food was a little too British in style and the themed Greek night was probably the highlight of the evening meals for me. Some of the food could have been a little warmer but it was all ok. With mass catering you are never going to get that just cooked to order, totally piping hot food you may get in a restaurant. There was always a good selection of salads and cooked items available and our 3 year old always found something she liked (and she won't eat chips!).

The entertainment is held in an Ampitheatre, seats all around the sides, steps down to the stage area, daunting at first but you soon get used them. There are seats around the top level if you don't fancy negotiating the steps
We only saw the entertainment team in action up until 9.15pm at night which is mainly aimed at children but we found that we quite enjoyed it too. I felt that the entertainment team did a great job, our 3 year was mesmerised by Stevie G and Russell the Brussell! You will have the i5live songs ingrained in your head by the end of the week.

The village of Marmaris is a nice 15 minute walk away and for us provided a welcome break from the hotel (same faces on the same sunbeds, and the most tattoos I have ever seen in one place!) We didn't go on any of the trips as we had already been to Kos and been on the trips before.

The hotel was busy the week we were there and it will be much, much busier peak season. We didn't have to queue in the restaurants or at the bars. Just a couple of other things, tea and coffee provided in the rooms at the start of your holiday are not refilled unless you pay for them. I enquired about late check out room rates (check out time is midday) and was quoted 50e until 3pm, 100e until 6pm.

If you are looking for a holiday where everything is on tap and you don't want to leave the complex then you will be happy here. If you're looking for the real Greece you won't find it here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Greekbirdy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, General Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we will try to offer more Greek theme nights and Greek food for our guests so they can taste more of Greece.

Thank you very much.

Hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

"PONTINS IN THE SUN"

Activities for kids = 8
Food = 0
Accommodation = 6

Clean tidy accommodation, kids clubs for kids are great. Food is AWFUL. Wouldn't recommend as an all inclusive at all. Staff are really friendly and fun. Alcohol is poor. Won't be visiting again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen-Swift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, General Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Stephen,

I am deeply sorry and I feel sad that we dissapointing you and we didn't give you what you expect. We will increase our efforts to improve anything that will make us better.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here during the peak 2 weeks in Aug '13 with our children aged 7, 4 & 1. We have stayed in HV's before & know what to expect.....Kos did not disappoint, something to do from dawn to dusk for the kids if they wanted to, from the high ropes to the swim and football academy I couldn't fault the offering and friendly staff. The rooms were modern and bright, with ample space for five of us and much better than most Greek accommodation we've ever stayed in. In the main there was a good food offering with a good selection of breads, fruit, salads and main choices for lunch & dinner (and the pancakes at breakfast went down very well with our children!). The only slight disappointment for us was the American diner....huge over facing portions and slow service. Evening entertainment followed the same format as other villages we stayed in; a kids disco followed by more adult appropriate content - the shows were very good and the staff worked tirelessly to please (Russell the Brussell was a favourite!). The amphitheatre wasn't great with our children being the age they are but it wasn't a showstopper for us, we just worked around it. The pools were good and clean, but the sunbed situation was a bit of a chore (think some people had "German" like mentality of being up at 5am to put the towels out?!?)

The beach is directly across the road and we ventured over there a couple of times for obligatory sandcastle building, perfectly clean and safe albeit a little shingly. The village of Marmari was a gentle 15 minute stroll away but there wasn't much going on there - a few bars, shops and restaurants.....to be honest with so much going on in the complex we had a struggle to get the kids to want to venture out - quite unusual for us as we are the type to enjoy exploring.

This review is a little late but I felt compelled to write it after seeing some of the recent reviews.......I can't believe some of the complaints?!? Cold pools - don't travel in May to a destination that doesn't benefit from good all year round weather - the season only starts in May and the weather and pools will only start to warm up during this month! I can't comment on the food this year but the offering was perfectly adequate last year during peak season and the management and first choice teams were friendly accommodating with any issues - go talk to them instead of venting frustration after your holiday!

Go with an open mind, enjoy beautiful Kos.....make your own memories and remember if you want 5* luxury, go to Sensatori or Sandals - enjoy ;). X

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank foxywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, General Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your support and I can say that this year we make many improvments in all sections of the hotel, we try every for the best. Your review give us the strength to work harder.

I would be horoned to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a holiday village for Families first n foremost put this in your mind, there have been reviews that are not true to the hotel, accommodation, excellent, beds very comfy, pools yes, could be heated, but everyone knows the hotter outside even a heated pool will seem cold. The complex, is really not for adults or young couples, it's for Families, here kids are the forefront of everything, from kids clubs who can take the kids of your hands so mum n dad can have some personal time, yes I have seen comments on the dinning room but please, understand, that they are trying their best to serve 1000/1500 at most sittings, food sometimes a little cool, but there is a microwave , so go use it, the staff on all levels are very friendly, they are not there for your use , they are there to tidy your plates etc away, treat them as you would like to be treated, kids have ice cream on tap from 11 am to 5 pm pool bar, sports bar, constantly clearing away . We went for our sons wedding, which if there are any brides looking to see how it goes, put your faith in the wedding co- ordinators nothing and I mean nothing is too much trouble, anything little detail you have/ want ask, that's all it takes, we had a fabulous day, I.e. We had the Italian restaurant for the after party, the tables were not sociable for our gathering, this was put right within 30 mins allowing us to put our bits and place cards in place.....so if you are going her to get married, you will be very well looked after, those going for a Family Holiday, please remember, all the staff, are lovely, and treat them well, they will look after you..... Xxxxx

Room Tip: If your in a wedding party, and booked together, before you go contact by email, so you can be near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, General Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for your nice words, all the staff here are happy that we make you feel happy and enjoy the wedding. We will continue our efforts to offer the best service and make our guests happy.

I wish all the best and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASHFORD, MIDDLESEX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here with as a couple with a 3 year old plus grand parents

Bad points
Pools - none heated and very cold.
Food - Luke warm, two other restaurants just average
Amphitheatre - lots of steps, difficult with a pushchair and no bar
Entertainments - be nice to have seen some variety of different acts

Good points

Entertainment team- brilliant very good singers and very friendly
Beach - very nice and easy to get too, sea very cold though
Kids - cater well for kids clubs and a nice splash pool
Hotel grounds - kept very nice
Aegean boat trip very goods all day trip book with first choice

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOLLY60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippos S, General Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this review, 4 April 2015
Thank you for taking the time out to review your holiday on Trip Advisor.

It was great to read your review and I am sure many readers will find this useful when deciding on their next holiday. It is extremely pleasing for me and my team to read about our guests holiday and we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay.

I will make sure your comments are passed on to the team and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Visited 13-20 May 2014 with husband, 3 year old son and 7 month baby bump. Everything really smooth from the flight with Thomson to pick up and check in. Lovely touch of drinks and sandwiches on arrival. Loved our family room with separate kids room. Really clean, modern and comfortable although the mattresses are much softer than we have at home. Slept really well all night as asked for quiet area. Even asked for extra pillows and on the way back we bumped into the maids delivering!
The hotel is in beautifully landscaped grounds with gorgeous flowers and in all very very well kept and clean. We could not fault the cleaning or upkeep of our room and the hotel itself! Pools were cold and lots of children shivering daily as the sun just isn't out long enough or hot enough to heat them at this time of year but we got in and out and just braved it. On the hotter days, by mid afternoon, they were much more bearable! On cloudy days we headed out for a walk into Marmari or into Kos Town. Tip - get to the bus stop early as otherwise you will not get a seat.
Never had an issue with sunbeds either but that could be because we went in early season before main school holidays.
Working for hotels all my life and Tour Operators most of my career, I feel First Choice really need to get into this lovely little hotel and give them some support. Please make it better! Its nearly there I think! The staff at all meal times were very friendly and never once did we feel like we needed to complain about anything - the same cannot be said for other guests unfortunately which was sad to hear.
Many other guests said that the other Holiday Villages in the First Choice portfolio were streets ahead of this resort in terms of food, drink and entertainment. To be fair, these were the 3 areas we also felt needed improving.
We were mostly happy with the food - we enjoyed greek salads every meal and used the the american snack bar most lunch times for ease. Being pregnant, I had cravings for lots of fruit and had fond memories of big fat juicy grapes and melon. I was very sad to see that some of the fruit was from a tin and the fresh fruit was 'ok' - many times i had a selection of bruised fruit and some mornings no bananas. Very unhappy son! I did enjoy the greek yoghurts though! The other meals were healthy and there was enough variety (we would have loved more greek dishes such as stifado, klefitco and moussaka as standards) however the italian and mexican theme night were slightly disappointing as none of the traditional food for those themed evenings were that appealing - i.e. the chilli con carne was not a thick sauce and the tortitlla wraps had a cheesy mix in? The lasagne on italian night was cold and felt like it had just been brought out to warm up under the food lamps - very thick with cold cheese and plain mince.
Breakfast sausages were not the best and the toaster situation is really silly. Each morning I dreaded the queue for the archaic toaster machines. I would think a resort this size and mostly full of brits, a more substantial toaster would be better! We did love the souvlaki, paella, dolmades and roast lamb. More pitta, hummus and Halloumi would have definitely been welcome in my tummy! :)
Kids food was good, my son liked the pasta, spaghetti bol and fish fingers and beans. Typical fussy toddler! He was happy enough. I think it would be fantastic if First Choice worked with a kids food company like Heinz/Ellas Kitchen to provide cereals and baby foods - many parents were bringing in their own cereals in the morning as the ones at the hotel didnt seem to go down well with the kids. No idea why as I loved the multigrain hoops and choco crispies but even my son turned them away....very odd.
Drinks really reallt need to be looked at - paper cups and somewhat grouchy service at the bar was not great. The cocktails were just awful (apart from the adult bar i heard!) and we heard this from other people too as were the kids 'mocktails'; were very syrupy and sweet. At breakfast the choice of 'fruit juices' was terrible. No orange juice, just watered down orange squash and same for grapefruit. The apple juice was ok when diluted with water. Even a cheap supermarket orange juice from concentrate would have been nice. Also Lipton tea? Surely First Choice can influence the tea bags...sorry to be British about this but tea needs to taste like tea! We had a nightmare with the beer - mostly froth coming out of the pumps and the staff knew it - kept apologising. Because the cups are solid white, the bar staff are just basically pulling froth pints. My husband resorted to buying a pint glass and using that in the day and evening and even the staff said it was helpful so they could see it. The local beer is ok, not as nice as Mythos and the red wine was pretty good as I had the odd glass.
Entertainment - great young team of reps but poor things had to do the same show nearly every night. Toddler show at 7.30-/8.00 then i5live kids till 9.00 and then games shows. We really loved Dick Whittington - a great change! The amphitheater is terribly uncomfortable, slightly unsafe for all the kids climbing up and a tad smelly (old school gyms come to mind) but that team were so fun and lovely the kids didn't care. Not having the drinks station kept on at the pumps outside the entertainment area was a pain...waddling over to the main bar for a lemonade was a nuisance. What a shame there were no shows or acts that came in - really felt for them as there never seemed to be a senior rep around. My son loved it but it was repetitive - by 9.30 we were heading back to our room as we didn't have anything else to really do.
On that note, a few more channels in the room that work past 6pm would be great as many families with young babies or kids had no choice but to get back to the room and watching Bloomberg Africa each night was hardly thrilling. Not e- take a USB key or download some things onto your ipad!
In summary - Atlantica were great but I really think this Holiday Village needs some input financially from First Choice. It could be soooo much better!
We prob wouldn't return mainly due to the fact we would like to be close to a busy resort so can get out a few nights to eat locally but if these little points improved, this resort would be a real gem :)
We DID have a fantastic week away and most importantly our son loved the pools, the swimming lessons (thanks Phoebe!), the kids club and the playground. We loved the ease of being on a smaller site with good service and next to a lovely little beach
Keep working on this resort First Choice, its too good to leave as it is.

Room Tip: We went for a family room - paid extra for our own space and I did also ask for a quiet area. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, General Manager at Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at the Holiday Village Kos, in such detail. We value all our Guests' comments and we take them under serious consideration in order to improve the services we provide and achieve nothing less than 100% Guest Satisfaction.

Please rest assured that we will address all the points of your dissatisfaction with our hotel team, so that no similar issues arise again.
I also wish to express our appreciation for the positive comments you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
8.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Summer Village Hotel
Summer Village Hotel
#5 of 14 in Marmari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 14 in Marmari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites
10.9 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica

Property: Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica
Address: | Marmari Beach, Marmari 85 300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marmari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Village Kos piles on a whole host of fun and games, with things like kids' clubs and an activity pool. On top of that, it's grabbed a top spot right by the beach. Holiday Village Kos is a real all-rounder. As well as a hat-trick of pools, it throws up a huge list of sports and activities, and restaurants that tick off Italian, Greek and American food. This place gets top marks for its location - there's a sandy beach footsteps away, and a 15-minute walk will put you in the centre of Marmari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Village Kos by Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Life Kos Marmari
Holiday Village Kos By Atlantica Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing