We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marmari
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

couldn't shower properly as you had to hold shower in your hand,bath was half size. we were told all rooms were the same.not good.we were in a minority mostly german and russian.food was ok.the sun beds were very uncomfortable.in my opinion this is not a 4* hotel but a good 3*

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slade56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    65
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Excellent place and very good food. Above all the staff was friendly and helpful. I had the chance to talk to many of them. I have to thank especially some of them whose names I recorded and made our vacations great such as: Giouli always ready to explain about the food and serving fresh one in 0 time, Alexandros @ the pool bar ready to drop another cold beer, Mixalis & Sandry, the waiters so gentle and smiling, Sokol with his fried food, Albana our room lady keeping it cleaner than our house, the two bar tenders at the lobby ( sorry for their names)... many thanks to all the team making it one of the best vacations ever.

Room Tip: Try to use the outside part of the main restaurant, especially in the evening, is fresh and amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hektor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Spend 3 weeks in july 2011 in this hotel. It was our 2nd stay and we will come back for sure ! The weather in Kos is always nice , every day clear sky. On top of that the hotel offers you all facilities necessary in an (restricted) all-in formule. This allows you to enjoy every moment of the day...... Sun, pool(s), friendly staff, drinks, food, nice beach just in front of the hotel, free towels and so on....... In short a fantastic price-quality ratio. Our room was as requested quiet and had a view on the pool. Our son and his girl friend came over also for 1 week and were placed for the first night in a somewhat lower quality room with no view at all. However having talked to the reception they were moved without any discussion and with a smile to a room next door to ours .....they loved it and also extremely enjoyed their 1 week stay in the hotel. Defenitely will go back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2005

I've stayed in Sandy Beach hotel for 2 weeks with 2 friends (aged on average 18) and it was terrible!
1. All Inclusive included 3 meals (sadly no midnight supper :( ) and only basic drinks
2. The nearest city - Marmari is EXTREMLY boring! Despite there are 2 discos, we haven't seen anybody there for the whole stay. If you want to have fun - go to Kos city! We've been there few times by bus (and returned by taxi, since last bus to Marmari leaves at 11pm) and it was great!
3. No hot water in the shower in the late afternoon.
4. Terrible food. Despite big choice of dishes only few (3-4) were eatable.
5. Not a best beach. Yes, it was sandy, but water was full of seaweeds and garbage. We've seen much better beaches on the southern coast of the island.
6. Small and ugly rooms with old furniture.
7. No light on our corridor.
8. Animation program only in German.

To be honest, there are some positives:
1. Large and nice pool.
2. Nice and friendly staff.

To sum up I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
0.8 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 14 in Marmari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#10 of 15 in Mastichari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Summer Village Hotel
Summer Village Hotel
#5 of 14 in Marmari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
5.3 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites

Property: Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites
Address: Marmari 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marmari
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel & Family Suites Kos/Marmari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing